ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2011, 10:21 AM   #1
Finalheaven
Donnie Darko lives
 
Finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jamaica Plain, MA
Posts: 1,922
Experiencing Freezes...

Hi abxers,

I've started noticing an odd issue at times when pushing my system graphically (at least, that's what I suspect it is). I'll be playing a game or running a number of videos and all of a sudden everything will freeze. The screen will be held in suspension; no mouse movement, nothing. I have to reset my comp from the box.

Any ideas of what it could be or how I could start isolating the issue to a piece of hardware?

I've already updated all that I can, it's a relatively fresh install of Windows XP, and not much has been installed (although things like Microsoft Net 4.0 has and silverlight, etc.).

If I can pump out any reports to facilitate a diagnosis, ask away. I'm running XP with 4 Gigs (technically 3.25 gigs as XP can't handle more), E8500 @ 3.16 Ghz Duo, nVidia GTS 250. When I built the box, I memtested the RAM and it passed, but I could check it again, along with stress testing the CPU if necessary. The HDD has been error checked and defragged with no problems.

Thanks for the help.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 12-23-2011, 11:37 AM   #2
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 13,858
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

I wonder if its heat related, sounds like when your pushing the machine is when it freezes? Have you checked all your fans? How about cleaning out the dust Bunny's?
__________________
Asus Maximus VII Formula, Intel I7 4790K Cooled by Noctua NH-U12S, 16 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD16GX3M2A1866C9, Asus GTX570 DCII/2DIS/1280MD5, Samsung 840 EVO 500 Gig SSD W8.1 PRO, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 650D case with Corsair AX750 PS, 2X Dell UltraSharp U2412M, Corsair Vengeance K90 Mechanical keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, Corsair SP2500 2.1 Speaker System ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 11:54 AM   #3
Finalheaven
Donnie Darko lives
 
Finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jamaica Plain, MA
Posts: 1,922
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

I can hear all the fans running, but I'll do a visual double check soon. I could clean the box out as well. I need to get a new program to read my MOBO temps as well.

Also, the problem seems to happen every 20 to 40 minutes of game time. I'm playing the new Star Wars game.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 12:18 PM   #4
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 13,858
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

Here you go!

http://www.techpowerup.com/realtemp/
__________________
Asus Maximus VII Formula, Intel I7 4790K Cooled by Noctua NH-U12S, 16 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD16GX3M2A1866C9, Asus GTX570 DCII/2DIS/1280MD5, Samsung 840 EVO 500 Gig SSD W8.1 PRO, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 650D case with Corsair AX750 PS, 2X Dell UltraSharp U2412M, Corsair Vengeance K90 Mechanical keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, Corsair SP2500 2.1 Speaker System ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 12:59 PM   #5
Finalheaven
Donnie Darko lives
 
Finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jamaica Plain, MA
Posts: 1,922
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
Perfect. Thanks!

Ok, I just ran that. I froze up about 3 minutes ago after playing SWTOR for an hour. It seems the freezes are not coming at the same times. One happened in 20 minutes after the last. The latest one took an hour and 20.

My minimum temps are 48 and 44. Max is reading at 59 and 54. Too hot?

I could use the load tester as well that came with the program.

EDIT: GPU is at 63 min and 64 max.

Last edited by Finalheaven; 12-23-2011 at 01:01 PM.. Reason: Just found the GPU feature. :)
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 01:28 PM   #6
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 13,858
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finalheaven View Post
Perfect. Thanks!

Ok, I just ran that. I froze up about 3 minutes ago after playing SWTOR for an hour. It seems the freezes are not coming at the same times. One happened in 20 minutes after the last. The latest one took an hour and 20.

My minimum temps are 48 and 44. Max is reading at 59 and 54. Too hot?

I could use the load tester as well that came with the program.

EDIT: GPU is at 63 min and 64 max.
Those temps aren't the greatest but not bad, I wonder if its the power supply? it sure seems like its temps, but your temps are not that bad?
__________________
Asus Maximus VII Formula, Intel I7 4790K Cooled by Noctua NH-U12S, 16 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD16GX3M2A1866C9, Asus GTX570 DCII/2DIS/1280MD5, Samsung 840 EVO 500 Gig SSD W8.1 PRO, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 650D case with Corsair AX750 PS, 2X Dell UltraSharp U2412M, Corsair Vengeance K90 Mechanical keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, Corsair SP2500 2.1 Speaker System ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 10:26 AM   #7
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 13,858
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by chillmil2011 View Post
i can provide 5 gb free hosting .
No spamming..............
__________________
Asus Maximus VII Formula, Intel I7 4790K Cooled by Noctua NH-U12S, 16 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD16GX3M2A1866C9, Asus GTX570 DCII/2DIS/1280MD5, Samsung 840 EVO 500 Gig SSD W8.1 PRO, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 650D case with Corsair AX750 PS, 2X Dell UltraSharp U2412M, Corsair Vengeance K90 Mechanical keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, Corsair SP2500 2.1 Speaker System ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 11:51 AM   #8
radeonized2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,791
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

Thankyou fv., but I think they're what's called spam bots. Computer generated fake users that hit forums sites where everyone has to sign in to post. And yep they are trying to sell you something too. It's been a problem for a while and I do not know any thing about how to prevent these annoying attacks. I see them every day. I can tell when they are one because they are new and they always make an unusual amount of post on a lot of different topics. That's why I never post back anything to those.
__________________
GA-Z68Xp-UD3-issd(4,413MhzOC),i5-2500k,Cooler Master Hyper 212+CPU cooler,Gigabyte AMD-5850OC-X2(crossfire) VC, Patriot-G2 1600 2x4 DDR3 ram, 500g WD program HDD, PSU= 760w, Windows-7/64bit.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 05:43 PM   #9
Finalheaven
Donnie Darko lives
 
Finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jamaica Plain, MA
Posts: 1,922
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

Abxzone has always been very good about spambots and unruly users. One or two slipping through the cracks is par for the course, I feel.

The same issue occurred again recently, unfortunately. I had turned on my computer for later use. When I had returned, the monitor was off (typical power saving). I moved the mouse and the monitor turned on. An image from my screensaver was up. The screensaver cycles through the pictures in my pictures folder. One of those images was stuck on the screen. I tried moving the mouse, ESC, control alt delete, and control alt end (my own shortcut for a quick shutdown, to no avail. In short, the problem occurred again. The interesting part, it happened when the computer wasn't in use.

When I go out later, I will be running memtest for a good few hours. If that test runs smoothly, I guess I'll have to try reseating my heatsink fan and replying TIM to the video card. I'm dreading both of those operations. It's just meticulous work that I'm not up to for the moment (Christmas break and all).

I'll be back with an update.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 06:03 PM   #10
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 13,858
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

Are you using sleep or Hibernate mode? I know those two modes cause a lot of problems.
__________________
Asus Maximus VII Formula, Intel I7 4790K Cooled by Noctua NH-U12S, 16 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD16GX3M2A1866C9, Asus GTX570 DCII/2DIS/1280MD5, Samsung 840 EVO 500 Gig SSD W8.1 PRO, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 650D case with Corsair AX750 PS, 2X Dell UltraSharp U2412M, Corsair Vengeance K90 Mechanical keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, Corsair SP2500 2.1 Speaker System ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 06:41 PM   #11
Finalheaven
Donnie Darko lives
 
Finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jamaica Plain, MA
Posts: 1,922
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

naw, turning those off was like XP 101 lol.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:18 PM   #12
radeonized2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,791
Re: Experiencing Freezes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finalheaven View Post
Abxzone has always been very good about spambots and unruly users. One or two slipping through the cracks is par for the course, I feel.

The same issue occurred again recently, unfortunately. I had turned on my computer for later use. When I had returned, the monitor was off (typical power saving). I moved the mouse and the monitor turned on. An image from my screensaver was up. The screensaver cycles through the pictures in my pictures folder. One of those images was stuck on the screen. I tried moving the mouse, ESC, control alt delete, and control alt end (my own shortcut for a quick shutdown, to no avail. In short, the problem occurred again. The interesting part, it happened when the computer wasn't in use.

When I go out later, I will be running memtest for a good few hours. If that test runs smoothly, I guess I'll have to try reseating my heatsink fan and replying TIM to the video card. I'm dreading both of those operations. It's just meticulous work that I'm not up to for the moment (Christmas break and all).

I'll be back with an update.
The spambot problem seems to have gotten a lot worse here of late. One site I go to a lot had to stop new users from signing on till they could come up with a solution. Back on topic, I am leaning to a memory issue again. A minimum 4 hr run. This 1 pass 2 pass is not long enough. Here's a quote.. We have been forced to lock the forums to new registrations due to the violent increase in spambot registrations.
To protect the forums from these unwelcome intrusions, we have had to resort to temporarily locking out all new user registrations until the server can be insulated against these new vulnerabilities.
Please be patient while the server administrators work to fix the problem.
__________________
GA-Z68Xp-UD3-issd(4,413MhzOC),i5-2500k,Cooler Master Hyper 212+CPU cooler,Gigabyte AMD-5850OC-X2(crossfire) VC, Patriot-G2 1600 2x4 DDR3 ram, 500g WD program HDD, PSU= 760w, Windows-7/64bit.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by radeonized2; 12-27-2011 at 10:45 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2014 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community