ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2008, 01:06 AM   #1
spartacus_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 41
virtualize a physical computer?

Hi, i have a physical system that i'd like to keep as is and be able to access it as and when required. I was wondering if it would be possible to take a snapshot of some kind and then run this "system" as a virtual client on another computer and if so what software would be best to carry it out?
__________________
System;
ASUS A8N32-SLI | AMD A64 X2 4200+ | 2Gb OCZ PC4000 | ATI HD3870 | 2 x Western Digital Caviar 200Gb |2 x 250Gb Samsung HDD
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 08-12-2008, 08:46 PM   #2
S.SubZero
Vista x64 User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: California
Posts: 1,277
Re: virtualize a physical computer?

Virtualbox has a facility for accessing a disk partition (ie. an existing OS) as a virtual machine, but in the case of Windows it can be messy since Windows doesn't react well to being moved between drastically different hardware.
__________________
-SSZ
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 10:41 PM   #3
Briton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,778
Re: virtualize a physical computer?

I hate to think that the answer to this question would be remote desktop, but that's really what it sounds like your needs are. You have a second system that you need to access from your primary system from time to time--to me, this sounds like Remote Desktop would serve your purpose, though in your post you don't exactly say what you are attempting to do on the box when you do need to access it.

However, if you need to use a virtual software to remotely access the box, you can use VirtualBox--I actually prefer this over VMWare for several reasons, one of which is that is completely free and it has a few features that VMWare does not.
__________________
ASUS P5Q Pro || E8400 Wolfdale || 4GB G.Skill DDR2 1200 || MSI Radeon 4850 || AVerMedia PCIe Tuner || SB Audigy2 ZS Platinum || Zalman 750W PSU || LG GGW-H20L HD/BR Burner || Vista Ultimate 64 || Samsung 22" LCD (Desktop)

Lenovo T60p || T7600 Core 2 Duo || 3GB || 160GB || FireGL 5250 || Vista Ultimate / Backtrack (School)

Lenovo X61 || T8300 Centrino Pro || 3GB || 160GB || XP Pro (Work)
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 12:32 AM   #4
k0NG0
Remembering TQ
 
k0NG0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13,749
Re: virtualize a physical computer?

How about using a disk image program (Ghost or similar), making an image of the HDD, then restoring it on the virtual HDD. That should work.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Use
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Feeling multicore elation? Remember this correlation:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community