ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2010, 08:04 PM   #1
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
How can I execute a program in Bash 3?

HP has issued a critical alert (Firmware CD Supplemental Update - HP ProLiant DL180 G6 Backplane - HP Business Support Center) to update the backplane of the HP ProLiant DL 180 G6 series server.

The installation instructions are added to the download. The downloaded file for the update has to be installed using a Bash 3 command (a Linux command line command).

Quote
1. From the GUI, type CTRL+ALT "d" "b" "x" to open a bash prompt.
2. To execute the component from the bash prompt, type ./CPXXXXXX.scexe
Unquote

The downloaded file is called CP012095.scexe, which I copied to the folder files on the USB Stick, as instructed.

I succeed in starting Bash without a problem. But when I enter the command (./CP012095.scexe) to execute the component, I always get the error "no such file or directory" (read: CP012095).

What am I doing wrong? Someone out there who knows Bash? Please advise.

Last edited by switch_abx; 02-13-2010 at 08:17 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 02-13-2010, 08:33 PM   #2
wonderwrench
ABXpert
 
wonderwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mpls MN
Posts: 2,159
Re: How can I execute a program in Bash 3?

Did you use these instructions?

To ensure the integrity of your download, HP recommends verifying your results with this MD5 Checksum value:
29583989f3f9c2d51e954d99edeae1ee CP012095.scexe Installation:

To install, do the following:
  • Download the Easy Set-Up CD and the HP USB Key Utility.
  • Follow the installation instructions for the HP USB Key Utility.
  • Place the desired firmware to be updated in the files directory on the USB key.
  • Boot from the newly created Easy Set-Up USB key.
  • From the GUI, type CTRL+ALT "d" "b" "x" to open a bash prompt.
  • To execute the component from the bash prompt, type ./CPXXXXXX.scexe
  • Log file name is Component.log and is located in /var/cpq directory.
__________________
Main Box*i7 930 @ 3.5 Ghz*Corsair H60*GA X58A-UD3R R2 FB bios*3x4 gig Patriot DDR3 1600 EL*EVGA GTX 460 1 gig*Intel X25-M G2 80 gig*WD Green WD20EARS 2 TB*ASUS DRW-24B3LT*Samsung SH-S223L*Corsair AX750 PSU*Rosewill Challenger case*Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

HTPC*Intel Q6600*MSI P35 Neo2-FR*4x2 gig Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800*AX5670 1GBD5-NS3H*WD Blue 320 gig*Samsung HD321KA 320 gig*Lite-On iHES208-08 BR combo drive* Corsair CMPSU-400CX*Win 7 pro 64 bit SP1

Good judgment comes from experience, and often experience comes from bad judgment.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 09:24 AM   #3
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
Re: How can I execute a program in Bash 3?

Yes, I exactly did, hence I did not mention all the steps which I already successfully executed. I only mentioned the step from where it goes wrong. I specifically included the link, so that the reader can conclude that I passed all other steps. And now you're just copying that text from the link and ask me if I carried out all the steps.

I just need help with the Bash command. Why does it return an error that it can't find the file. My guess is that there is something wrong or missing in the Bash command. But what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderwrench View Post
Did you use these instructions?

To ensure the integrity of your download, HP recommends verifying your results with this MD5 Checksum value:
29583989f3f9c2d51e954d99edeae1ee CP012095.scexe Installation:

To install, do the following:
  • Download the Easy Set-Up CD and the HP USB Key Utility.
  • Follow the installation instructions for the HP USB Key Utility.
  • Place the desired firmware to be updated in the files directory on the USB key.
  • Boot from the newly created Easy Set-Up USB key.
  • From the GUI, type CTRL+ALT "d" "b" "x" to open a bash prompt.
  • To execute the component from the bash prompt, type ./CPXXXXXX.scexe
  • Log file name is Component.log and is located in /var/cpq directory.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 08:39 PM   #4
cradom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South-East Texas
Posts: 2
Re: How can I execute a program in Bash 3?

It's giving that error because wherever the app is, it's not in your $PATH.
Try cd'ing to the directory where the app is and running the command again.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community