ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2012, 06:34 PM   #1
Falklan
Sing your death song!
 
Falklan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Collinston, LA
Posts: 618
Lightbulb Interesting


I suppose this would be applicable once you start hitting the 32GB + of RAM.

Anyway, I thought this was quite interesting and wanted to share.
__________________
Intel Core i5 4670K (4.5GHz), MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 650Ti 2GB Boost Twin Frozr III,
Corsair H100i, CM Silent Pro M2 720W, CM HAF 922,
Gskill 8GB (2133MHz)
Samsung 830 120GB SSD / Seagate
500GB/1TB HDDs / Crucial 240GB mSATA
Sony DVD+/-RW / Pioneer BD-R / Windows 7 Pro x64


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Pioneer SW-8 powered sub
woofer
PSB Center/Surround speakers
Samsung 32" HDTV (Smart) / Dell 21.5" LCD

(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 04-29-2012, 06:50 PM   #2
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 12,894
Re: Interesting

Thanks Spawn, now I might need new memory lol.
http://www.superspeed.com/desktop/ramdisk.php
__________________
ASUS Z97-WS
Intel Xeon E3-1276 v3
Corsair Hydro H75
Kingston KHX16C9P1K2/16
SeaSonic Platinum 660
ASUS STRIX GTX980
Samsung 840 EVO

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 07:02 PM   #3
Falklan
Sing your death song!
 
Falklan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Collinston, LA
Posts: 618
Re: Interesting

Yeah I was reading up on that memory earlier today, and then I ran across that video that provides a good demonstration of what that 2800MHz memory can do.
__________________
Intel Core i5 4670K (4.5GHz), MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 650Ti 2GB Boost Twin Frozr III,
Corsair H100i, CM Silent Pro M2 720W, CM HAF 922,
Gskill 8GB (2133MHz)
Samsung 830 120GB SSD / Seagate
500GB/1TB HDDs / Crucial 240GB mSATA
Sony DVD+/-RW / Pioneer BD-R / Windows 7 Pro x64


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Pioneer SW-8 powered sub
woofer
PSB Center/Surround speakers
Samsung 32" HDTV (Smart) / Dell 21.5" LCD

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 07:20 PM   #4
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 12,894
Re: Interesting

I wonder how you would get Windows to cache files to the RAM disk or games for that matter. I don't think DDR 2800 is necessary, He was getting 7800Mb/s and you would probably get around +5000 with DDR 1600. I am running at 2133MHz now but I only have 12GB of RAM. I plan to run at least at 2133MHz with the new Maximus V Formula (Z77 chipset) and I will have 16GB of RAM. I could make an 8GB RAM disk at that point.
__________________
ASUS Z97-WS
Intel Xeon E3-1276 v3
Corsair Hydro H75
Kingston KHX16C9P1K2/16
SeaSonic Platinum 660
ASUS STRIX GTX980
Samsung 840 EVO

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:51 PM   #5
Falklan
Sing your death song!
 
Falklan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Collinston, LA
Posts: 618
Re: Interesting

I've pondered that exact thought.

How does it hold information after shutdown, and do you install to it or simply copy files over or what...

I guess we need to get our hands on a copy of that software eh...
__________________
Intel Core i5 4670K (4.5GHz), MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 650Ti 2GB Boost Twin Frozr III,
Corsair H100i, CM Silent Pro M2 720W, CM HAF 922,
Gskill 8GB (2133MHz)
Samsung 830 120GB SSD / Seagate
500GB/1TB HDDs / Crucial 240GB mSATA
Sony DVD+/-RW / Pioneer BD-R / Windows 7 Pro x64


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Pioneer SW-8 powered sub
woofer
PSB Center/Surround speakers
Samsung 32" HDTV (Smart) / Dell 21.5" LCD

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:07 PM   #6
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 12,894
Re: Interesting

I actually found a copy of SuperSpeed RAM Disk 11 (Plus) but it would not install on my x64 system. I'm still working on it. There is a 32bit trial copy on their website. I remember back when I got my SSD that you had to disable RAM disk or something or other in Windows. It was that thing that would let you use a USB thumbdrive as cache I believe. I might be wrong but now it appears you can have a RAM disk cache and still have an SSD. Anyway, this might be useful speed wise. I don't think I've ever used all 12Gb of my RAM except in benchmarks. The thing about SuperSpeed RAM Disk software is it lets you save your RAM cache when your computer sleeps or is rebooted.
__________________
ASUS Z97-WS
Intel Xeon E3-1276 v3
Corsair Hydro H75
Kingston KHX16C9P1K2/16
SeaSonic Platinum 660
ASUS STRIX GTX980
Samsung 840 EVO

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:14 PM   #7
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 12,894
Re: Interesting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spawn_abx View Post
I've pondered that exact thought.

How does it hold information after shutdown, and do you install to it or simply copy files over or what...

I guess we need to get our hands on a copy of that software eh...

To answer your question, Superspeed RAM Disk Plus does it by saving the cache contents to a file and reloading it when you reboot. You can also load saved cache files.
__________________
ASUS Z97-WS
Intel Xeon E3-1276 v3
Corsair Hydro H75
Kingston KHX16C9P1K2/16
SeaSonic Platinum 660
ASUS STRIX GTX980
Samsung 840 EVO

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 11:07 PM   #8
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 12,894
Re: Interesting

Hey J/T you old land crab, I finally beat Skully (if only temporarily).

This is my 6GB DDR RAM disk running at 2133GHz. Roughly 10x faster than my RAIDED SATA II SSD's. I guess memory speed makes a difference and probably the Z77 chipset as well (I didn't reach the speeds in the video above). Now I need to find out how to use it.
Capture.JPG
__________________
ASUS Z97-WS
Intel Xeon E3-1276 v3
Corsair Hydro H75
Kingston KHX16C9P1K2/16
SeaSonic Platinum 660
ASUS STRIX GTX980
Samsung 840 EVO

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 11:32 PM   #9
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 12,894
Re: Interesting

Well I disabled my virtual page file on the SSD and added the max RAM disk. Don't know if I feel a difference with apps yet.
Capture2.JPG
__________________
ASUS Z97-WS
Intel Xeon E3-1276 v3
Corsair Hydro H75
Kingston KHX16C9P1K2/16
SeaSonic Platinum 660
ASUS STRIX GTX980
Samsung 840 EVO

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 11:39 PM   #10
Sir Skully
ABX KNIGHT EXEMPLAR
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 37,509
Re: Interesting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandog View Post
Hey J/T you old land crab, I finally beat Skully (if only temporarily).

This is my 6GB DDR RAM disk running at 2133GHz. Roughly 10x faster than my RAIDED SATA II SSD's. I guess memory speed makes a difference and probably the Z77 chipset as well (I didn't reach the speeds in the video above). Now I need to find out how to use it.
Attachment 27055
Dang nice score for the ram disk. I've put off using a ram disk.
The last few times of using, I'd run into system glitches after awhile.
But I may try again...
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 11:41 PM   #11
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 12,894
Re: Interesting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Skully View Post
Dang nice score for the ram disk. I've put off using a ram disk.
The last few times of using, I'd run into system glitches after awhile.
But I may try again...
It could be we don't have enough RAM for the paging file. Mine was +18GB on the Windows managed SSD. Now it is at 6GB. Also this type of cache I believe is used for specific apps like Photoshop and on servers. It may not work so nicely for caching Windows OS files.
__________________
ASUS Z97-WS
Intel Xeon E3-1276 v3
Corsair Hydro H75
Kingston KHX16C9P1K2/16
SeaSonic Platinum 660
ASUS STRIX GTX980
Samsung 840 EVO

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2014 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community