ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2013, 09:27 AM   #16
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,447
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

Here's a link to put a shutdown button on the taskbar...

How to Shut Down Windows 8 or Windows 8.1 In Just One Click
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 11-25-2013, 07:10 PM   #17
Griff
Registered User
 
Griff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Smithers BC, Canada
Posts: 8,440
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
Here's a link to put a shutdown button on the taskbar...

How to Shut Down Windows 8 or Windows 8.1 In Just One Click

Also you can use Alt F4.
__________________
Obsidian 550 Corsair Case
Asus Motherboard P8Z77-V PRO
Intel i7-3770K Unlocked
Arctic Cooling Freezer 13
Mushkin Redline 4x8 32GB DDR 1600 CAS 8
Asus GeForce GTX 660 OC DirectCU 1020MHZ 2GB 6.0GHZ
Samsung 840 EVO SSD For O/S
SilverStone Strider 750W Modular
LG BlueRay Burner
Seagate1TB SATA for Photos
USB 3.0 Hitachi 350 GB for Data
USB 3.0 Seagate Free Go for Back up
Built in Card Read
Win10 Pro
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:16 PM   #18
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,127
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
Go to defrag and it will have a option to run trim....its called Optimize!
Ahh, thanks FVB, that is what I was looking for. Now Skully said it was automatically done no? Or did he just mean it was available in Windows but still manual?

There is so much to talk about with Win8 I don't know where to begin. I had some extra questions yesterday but forgot.

Start and the desktop are tied together, you can't access the charms unless you are using the Start screen so it looks like you will be going between the 2 screens often.

I saw your app but I don't want to have to add more money to this OS. For now, I use the Windows key, it goes between the 2 screens faster than the mouse can in the lower left corner.

I find closing apps annoying. You have to go to the top left and get the sidebar to open and then see which one it is you want to close from the picture and then left click, close. Seems silly.

I found one way to tell the computer to shutdown and I thought there has to be an easier way but nope, that is how you shut it down, reboot.

I have been using the Search bar top right in the right charm thingy, this finds all kinds of useful info. about the OS.

There is no Windows Experience Index in Win8.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:29 PM   #19
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,447
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

Sandog Modern Mix puts a X in the upper right hand corner of a Metro app just like any W7 program for closing or minimizing, plus it lets you use a Metro app on your desktop, you can try it for 30 days for free, give it a try. You can right click on the start button on the desktop to bring up a menu for shut down and a bunch of useful stuff, (this is way better than W7)...lots of stuff to learn...LOL
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:38 PM   #20
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,127
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
Me too, I like using the quick launch for my favorites and have no icons on the desktop except the trash can.
I searched in Win8 for quick launch and I think they took it out in Win8.1
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:45 PM   #21
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,447
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandog View Post
I searched in Win8 for quick launch and I think they took it out in Win8.1
Its there, I have all my most used programs on the taskbar for one click access on the desktop...
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:49 PM   #22
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,127
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

I am thinking now it is better to have one desktop. Why have 2? I know you need the second page of the Start menu for the app icons but the primary Start menu I don't see needing. I had to dig out Snipping Tool.

Also, Windows update is hard to get to and it auto does it even after I said I want to confirm and select downloads. I gave up on it and set it to auto since it already downloaded everything.

Is anybody using Bing?
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:51 PM   #23
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,447
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

No I just use Google? There are a few metro apps I like, the weather app is nice...I found a good Tide app in the MS store for free that I have pinned to the taskbar...
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 08:01 PM   #24
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,447
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

Here's a picture of my laptop desktop, the red icon on the taskbar next to the start icon on the left hand side is the shutdown button (thanks Jerry), there are a few metro apps on the taskbar for games, tides, weather....that way I don't have to go to the metro start screen...Modern Mix is what makes that happen.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg desktop2.jpg (265.6 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 10:24 PM   #25
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,127
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
Here's a picture of my laptop desktop, the red icon on the taskbar next to the start icon on the left hand side is the shutdown button (thanks Jerry), there are a few metro apps on the taskbar for games, tides, weather....that way I don't have to go to the metro start screen...Modern Mix is what makes that happen.
Nice screen FVB,

I am annoyed when opening an app but unable to close it. WMP is an example. Took 5min to close the darn thing. I might have to get that mix thingy.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 10:42 PM   #26
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,447
Re: Boot to Desktop on Windows 8!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandog View Post
Nice screen FVB,

I am annoyed when opening an app but unable to close it. WMP is an example. Took 5min to close the darn thing. I might have to get that mix thingy.
Go to the middle top of the screen left click and hold and drag down to the bottom to close, or better yet get Modern Mix, and click the x in the upper right like always!
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community