ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2016, 01:19 PM   #1
raging bull
Registered User
 
raging bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: north carolina
Posts: 356
motherboard diagnostic?

think i might have a motherboard problem with my asus z77. looks like some of the usb 3.0s dont work right. anyone have a suggestion for a motherboard diagnostic? thanks.
__________________
Asus Z97/i5-4690k/16GGSkillTrident1866/256GSamsung840SSD/WD1T/RX9-270X/Win8.1
MacAir/iMac
P8Z77-V/i7-2600k/16GCorsairVengeance/128GSamsung830SSD
P6Tdeluxe/i7-920(2.66)/3x2G-CorsairDominatorDDR3-1600/WD640CaviarBlack/SamsungF1-1T/Asus4870-1GDarkKnight/Corsair850TX/LianLiB25B/Samsung22xDVD/VistaUltimate64
Lenovo T500/Win7/
P5KdeluxeWiFi/E6750(2.66C)/2X1G-Mushkin DDR2-1066/T2x320GB SeagateBarracuda/Corsair520HX/LianLiA16B/Vista
P4P800e/2.4c@3.1/2x1G-OCZ5001024ELGEGXT/WD36/WD200/RadeonHD3850AGP512MB;Enermax 465
two T500s
T61
; Dell e1505; Dell Inspiron4000;Dell Dimension 4100

(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 01-08-2016, 05:57 PM   #2
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,117
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

It could be several things but it should be easy to troubleshoot. You can check Device Manager and see it the driver is present. I don't know what OS you are running but if the USB ports were working before and stopped working and you haven't went into BIOS and made any changes then I would go here and search for USB 3.0 Problems and your correct OS and look for the 'Fix It' app.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 06:24 PM   #3
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,428
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

See if they are the Intel ports or asmedia ports, the asmedia ports on my MB work on some things and not on others? Known problem!
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 09:38 PM   #4
raging bull
Registered User
 
raging bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: north carolina
Posts: 356
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

thanks! the usb 3.0 sockets dont work. best as i can tell, that means i need a new motherboard. oh well....
__________________
Asus Z97/i5-4690k/16GGSkillTrident1866/256GSamsung840SSD/WD1T/RX9-270X/Win8.1
MacAir/iMac
P8Z77-V/i7-2600k/16GCorsairVengeance/128GSamsung830SSD
P6Tdeluxe/i7-920(2.66)/3x2G-CorsairDominatorDDR3-1600/WD640CaviarBlack/SamsungF1-1T/Asus4870-1GDarkKnight/Corsair850TX/LianLiB25B/Samsung22xDVD/VistaUltimate64
Lenovo T500/Win7/
P5KdeluxeWiFi/E6750(2.66C)/2X1G-Mushkin DDR2-1066/T2x320GB SeagateBarracuda/Corsair520HX/LianLiA16B/Vista
P4P800e/2.4c@3.1/2x1G-OCZ5001024ELGEGXT/WD36/WD200/RadeonHD3850AGP512MB;Enermax 465
two T500s
T61
; Dell e1505; Dell Inspiron4000;Dell Dimension 4100

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 09:58 PM   #5
raging bull
Registered User
 
raging bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: north carolina
Posts: 356
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

i uninstall the 3.0s and let the device manager find the 'new' hardware, but i get a code 31 on the usb 3.0s. checking the 'net, looks like i'm not alone. but i dont know why this should be an issue after four years with this MB.
__________________
Asus Z97/i5-4690k/16GGSkillTrident1866/256GSamsung840SSD/WD1T/RX9-270X/Win8.1
MacAir/iMac
P8Z77-V/i7-2600k/16GCorsairVengeance/128GSamsung830SSD
P6Tdeluxe/i7-920(2.66)/3x2G-CorsairDominatorDDR3-1600/WD640CaviarBlack/SamsungF1-1T/Asus4870-1GDarkKnight/Corsair850TX/LianLiB25B/Samsung22xDVD/VistaUltimate64
Lenovo T500/Win7/
P5KdeluxeWiFi/E6750(2.66C)/2X1G-Mushkin DDR2-1066/T2x320GB SeagateBarracuda/Corsair520HX/LianLiA16B/Vista
P4P800e/2.4c@3.1/2x1G-OCZ5001024ELGEGXT/WD36/WD200/RadeonHD3850AGP512MB;Enermax 465
two T500s
T61
; Dell e1505; Dell Inspiron4000;Dell Dimension 4100

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 10:03 PM   #6
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,428
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by raging bull View Post
i uninstall the 3.0s and let the device manager find the 'new' hardware, but i get a code 31 on the usb 3.0s. checking the 'net, looks like i'm not alone. but i dont know why this should be an issue after four years with this MB.
Just get a $20 usb 3.o add in card ...easy way to go, I did that before and works great... lots cheaper than a new MB!
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 08:56 AM   #7
raging bull
Registered User
 
raging bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: north carolina
Posts: 356
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

i was just going to ask about a new z77; dont see 'em listed in stock anymore on newegg.
i've got enough 2.0 slots, and a couple of 3.0s that still work. just figuring if one thing goes, then something else is going next....
thanks.
__________________
Asus Z97/i5-4690k/16GGSkillTrident1866/256GSamsung840SSD/WD1T/RX9-270X/Win8.1
MacAir/iMac
P8Z77-V/i7-2600k/16GCorsairVengeance/128GSamsung830SSD
P6Tdeluxe/i7-920(2.66)/3x2G-CorsairDominatorDDR3-1600/WD640CaviarBlack/SamsungF1-1T/Asus4870-1GDarkKnight/Corsair850TX/LianLiB25B/Samsung22xDVD/VistaUltimate64
Lenovo T500/Win7/
P5KdeluxeWiFi/E6750(2.66C)/2X1G-Mushkin DDR2-1066/T2x320GB SeagateBarracuda/Corsair520HX/LianLiA16B/Vista
P4P800e/2.4c@3.1/2x1G-OCZ5001024ELGEGXT/WD36/WD200/RadeonHD3850AGP512MB;Enermax 465
two T500s
T61
; Dell e1505; Dell Inspiron4000;Dell Dimension 4100

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 10:20 AM   #8
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,117
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

You have 2 ASMedia blue USB 3.0 ports in the rear and 2 Intel blue USB 3.0 ports in the rear. There are also 2 internal Intel USB 3.0 ports on a header.

Sounds like you are having issues with only a couple of USB 3.0 ports so my guess would be the ASMedia ports in the rear. You should see the ASMedia USB device listed here if you have the driver installed properly.

Capture.JPG

If you see this then there is a chance the controller went bad.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 11:55 AM   #9
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,117
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

I can't stand to have any issues with my mobo or any part of my singular PC. I would replace something if it was not working even if I were not using it. Seeing how this is an older mobo and probably not easily replaced you might want to try and add-on USB 3.0 card like FVB said. Myself, I only have 2 USB 3.0 devices, a thumbdrive and a mechanical hard drive that does not benefit from USB 3.0 anyway. My rear USB 3.0 ports all have 2.0 devices plugged in. I guess that might be your dilemma, you just need the extra USB ports but they don't have to be USB 3.0. There is a bracket that you can get that will connect to your internal Intel USB 3.0 header give you two more USB 3.0 ports in the rear (if you are not already using the port for the front case).

50cm Two USB 3.0 Female Back panel to Motherboard 20pin cable with PCI bracket - Newegg.com
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 02:00 PM   #10
raging bull
Registered User
 
raging bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: north carolina
Posts: 356
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

thanks.
i've updated the 3.0s from the asus website....and they seem to work for a while...but the updates dont 'stick.' when i reboot, same problem.
not really a big deal, but i've had several bsod the past week too, which leads me to believe there's a bigger issue.
__________________
Asus Z97/i5-4690k/16GGSkillTrident1866/256GSamsung840SSD/WD1T/RX9-270X/Win8.1
MacAir/iMac
P8Z77-V/i7-2600k/16GCorsairVengeance/128GSamsung830SSD
P6Tdeluxe/i7-920(2.66)/3x2G-CorsairDominatorDDR3-1600/WD640CaviarBlack/SamsungF1-1T/Asus4870-1GDarkKnight/Corsair850TX/LianLiB25B/Samsung22xDVD/VistaUltimate64
Lenovo T500/Win7/
P5KdeluxeWiFi/E6750(2.66C)/2X1G-Mushkin DDR2-1066/T2x320GB SeagateBarracuda/Corsair520HX/LianLiA16B/Vista
P4P800e/2.4c@3.1/2x1G-OCZ5001024ELGEGXT/WD36/WD200/RadeonHD3850AGP512MB;Enermax 465
two T500s
T61
; Dell e1505; Dell Inspiron4000;Dell Dimension 4100

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 02:08 PM   #11
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,428
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by raging bull View Post
thanks.
i've updated the 3.0s from the asus website....and they seem to work for a while...but the updates dont 'stick.' when i reboot, same problem.
not really a big deal, but i've had several bsod the past week too, which leads me to believe there's a bigger issue.
Do you have the latest bios?
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 02:12 PM   #12
raging bull
Registered User
 
raging bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: north carolina
Posts: 356
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

havent updated bios since 2012. my philos has been if it aint broke, dont update. but maybe i should here....
__________________
Asus Z97/i5-4690k/16GGSkillTrident1866/256GSamsung840SSD/WD1T/RX9-270X/Win8.1
MacAir/iMac
P8Z77-V/i7-2600k/16GCorsairVengeance/128GSamsung830SSD
P6Tdeluxe/i7-920(2.66)/3x2G-CorsairDominatorDDR3-1600/WD640CaviarBlack/SamsungF1-1T/Asus4870-1GDarkKnight/Corsair850TX/LianLiB25B/Samsung22xDVD/VistaUltimate64
Lenovo T500/Win7/
P5KdeluxeWiFi/E6750(2.66C)/2X1G-Mushkin DDR2-1066/T2x320GB SeagateBarracuda/Corsair520HX/LianLiA16B/Vista
P4P800e/2.4c@3.1/2x1G-OCZ5001024ELGEGXT/WD36/WD200/RadeonHD3850AGP512MB;Enermax 465
two T500s
T61
; Dell e1505; Dell Inspiron4000;Dell Dimension 4100

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 02:25 PM   #13
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,428
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by raging bull View Post
havent updated bios since 2012. my philos has been if it aint broke, dont update. but maybe i should here....
Yes your right, seems like its broke so update the bios...really nothing to loose. back up first...lol
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2016, 03:36 PM   #14
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,117
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

That is an older system, I would try cleaning it for 10min. Blow it out, reconnect all the power connectors and reseat the CPU. Those are all free checks you should do after that long of a time. It will only help.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 07:58 PM   #15
raging bull
Registered User
 
raging bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: north carolina
Posts: 356
Re: motherboard diagnostic?

ok! i'm on it, wise one.
__________________
Asus Z97/i5-4690k/16GGSkillTrident1866/256GSamsung840SSD/WD1T/RX9-270X/Win8.1
MacAir/iMac
P8Z77-V/i7-2600k/16GCorsairVengeance/128GSamsung830SSD
P6Tdeluxe/i7-920(2.66)/3x2G-CorsairDominatorDDR3-1600/WD640CaviarBlack/SamsungF1-1T/Asus4870-1GDarkKnight/Corsair850TX/LianLiB25B/Samsung22xDVD/VistaUltimate64
Lenovo T500/Win7/
P5KdeluxeWiFi/E6750(2.66C)/2X1G-Mushkin DDR2-1066/T2x320GB SeagateBarracuda/Corsair520HX/LianLiA16B/Vista
P4P800e/2.4c@3.1/2x1G-OCZ5001024ELGEGXT/WD36/WD200/RadeonHD3850AGP512MB;Enermax 465
two T500s
T61
; Dell e1505; Dell Inspiron4000;Dell Dimension 4100

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community