ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2017, 10:37 AM   #1
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

Hi Guys,

I have just ordered a 4TB drive online. The drive has been shipped to me. When it arrives i have 2 systems to test it on. A Win XP 32Bit system and a WIN 7 64Bit system. I also have a USB 3 ext HDD docking station. Which will be the best method to test that the Hard Disk is working correctly ?

I think the WinXP 32Bit system cant read disks larger than 4TB. Im sure Win 7 64Bit can , but will it be able to format and test a disk with HD Tune etc when hooked to it via USB dock ?

At worst can i plug it to internal SATA and format it as 1 complete 4TB disk using basic inbuilt WIN7 tools or would i need any special program to do the GPT formatting ?

Thanks in advance.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 07-10-2017, 11:15 AM   #2
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,403
Re: Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

I found this, it looks like you need to use GPT for a drive over 2.2TB....and this is on windows 7

"Intialize it as MBR. This format, which has been around since the DOS days, is good enough for any drive below 2.2 terabytes.

You need GPT for drives larger than that, Windows 7 or Vista (I think) to read a GPT disk, and a motherboard with UEFI instead of BIOS to boot from one. These motherboards are currently few and far between."

Here's some more info...

Whats the Difference Between GPT and MBR When Partitioning a Drive?
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 01:31 PM   #3
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

I should initialize it as MBR or GPT ? Will the GPT initialize menu be available within Win7 64Bit. I dont have a 4TB drive ready to see if that works. But when this 4TB drive arrives i wont have much time to test it due to return policy. Thats why im just trying to get to know how to do this.

Thanks
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 03:14 PM   #4
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,403
Re: Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

I would use GPT, like the link says, if you want the OS to see all 4 TB!
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 12:10 AM   #5
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

But is there a GPT format option available in Win7 64Bit itself or do i need some external program ?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 09:04 AM   #6
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,403
Re: Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

If you where to go with Windows 10 and MS Media creation tool it does it in GPT automaticly but if you are going to W7 you can use this tool to get GPT. If you have the .iso file for windows 7 you can use Rufus to load that file in GPT mode on a thumb drive to install W7 on a GPT partation.

Rufus - Create bootable USB drives the easy way
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 12:17 PM   #7
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

I will be installing Win7 64bit only on a 500gb separate drive. All my drives ae under 2TB. Except this new disk which will be 4TB so i intend to keep all other disks under MBR and only have the 4TB disk as GPT. Is that possible ?

On a side note will my older OUTLOOK 2017, Outlook Express, Office, Excel etc still install with the new 64Bit OS even though they are 32 bit programs.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 12:20 PM   #8
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,403
Re: Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by plainman007 View Post
I will be installing Win7 64bit only on a 500gb separate drive. All my drives ae under 2TB. Except this new disk which will be 4TB so i intend to keep all other disks under MBR and only have the 4TB disk as GPT. Is that possible ?

On a side note will my older OUTLOOK 2017, Outlook Express, Office, Excel etc still install with the new 64Bit OS even though they are 32 bit programs.
I'm using Quicken 2009 which is 32 bit with no problems on W7 or W10 64bit.
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 12:27 PM   #9
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,403
Re: Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

Maybe this tool will do the job....

What Is GPT | How to Partition GPT Disk - EaseUS
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 02:26 PM   #10
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

Thanks for the inputs.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 02:20 AM   #11
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: Will Windows 7 64Bit accept a new 4TB drive ?

Just for the record and for others having the same kind of question. You dont need any third party tools in Win 7 64 bit when installing a raw disk it asks if you want to use GPT partitioning. Just give ok and your done. You get the entire 4TB as one partition to use. Ofcourse you can divide it by smaller partitions if you needed it that way.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community