ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2017, 09:59 AM   #1
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Sticks ?

The motherboard supports 2400mhz ram thats confirmed.
The Ram is 2400mhz CL15.
But the processor spec sheet says memory compatibility type is 1866/2133mhz.

Will putting these 3 elements together cause the memory controller to fail or something ?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 09-24-2017, 10:10 AM   #2
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,085
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

If your mobo supports it then that means it works with the processor. I haven't followed what you are trying to do but I would buy a new system instead of going up one speed bump on the same system, you are not going to notice it much and won't be getting any new features or extending the life of the system really. Modern parts are very cheap. You can game with the latest i3 processors and get RAM for a little over $50.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 10:36 AM   #3
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

Hi Sandog !

Im making a modest new system...
i3-6100 (Skylake) (Supports RAM 1866/2133).
Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-B250M-DS3H (DDR4-2400Mhz Slots).

I want to put in 2 RAM sticks of 8gb DDR4 each. Ironically im getting a Kingston FURY 2400mhz CL15 Ram at cheaper than the 2133mhz CL14 version. Should i just get them BECAUSE THEY ARE CHEAP or will they cause problems to the processor because it isnt supported ?

Else id have to get the 2133mhz CL14 version at roughly 10 usd costlier per stick. Thats a 20 usd difference. But if the 2400mhz one will do any damage then i shall just go with the slower one.

I dont game. Only recently i wanted to just try it out as a time-pass. I would mainly do some photoshop/lightroom/Some simple 3ds max renders/video editing. All this was being done on an i3-2100/ASUS H8P77M motherboard/16gb kingston DDR3 1866mhz ram. That entire set im going to take in for my office PC and use this new build for my creative work. I know there are better i5's etc but ive worked the same softwares on this latter rig and everything ran ok. So the new rig i think will be at least 25% better than my old rig. Moving from 2nd gen to 6th gen with .7 ghz more clock speed. From ddr3 to ddr4. Im sure there would be at least some small improvement.

Last edited by plainman007; 09-24-2017 at 11:23 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:33 PM   #4
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

The bank offer for discount finishes in one hour. So im hoping you see this and tell me its ok so i can buy it immediately.

Just want to know if the 2400mhz ram on the 2400mhz mobo slots with a processor which only supports upto 1866mhz ram is ok and will not damage the processor. I will not overclocking or anything like that.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:35 PM   #5
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,085
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

Yeah 2400 will do fine, I am running 2400 on my 2133MHz Haswell.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:46 PM   #6
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

Thanks for your support...
Your system specs show an i7 , thats a Haswell processor ?
And your board has 2400mhz dimm slots by default ?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:59 PM   #7
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,085
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

My i7-5960X supports DDR4 1333/1600/2133

My mobo supports:

8 x DIMM, Max. 128GB, DDR4 3333(O.C.)/3300(O.C.)/3200(O.C.)/3000(O.C.)/2800(O.C.)/2666(O.C.)/2400(O.C.)/2133(O.C.) MHz Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory

If your mobo is an ASUS you can go to the support page and look at the Memory Qualified Vendor List and search for your particular DRAM. If it is on the list get it is good, or you can find another 2400MHz one on the list and use it.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 01:12 PM   #8
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

My motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-B250M-DS3H Motherboard. Supports 2400mhz out-of-the-box on the ram dimm slots.

Just checked the QVL list on Gigabyte site for the motherboard and the ram module in question is listed there, so i guess im safe.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 01:02 AM   #9
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

I finally finished buying everything last night. The whole package came to $600. But that is with the processor/ram/mobo/bt headphones/some donges/wireless mouse etc.

When installing the processor should i put thermal paste like in the old days or nowadays thats not needed ?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 11:57 AM   #10
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,045
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

Congrats on your new PC parts, the processor will need thermal paste,
same as in the past...
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 12:00 PM   #11
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,389
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

Yeah congrats on the new parts...enjoy!
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 04:40 PM   #12
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

Thanks Guys !

(Processor is i3-6100 / Motherboard - GIGABYTE - GA-B250M-DS3H / 8GB DDR4, 2400mhz, Ram installed. )

I put the system together, but am facing some problem in loading the OS. The BIOS is able to see the optical drive but it wont load or read the OS install disk (Win7).

Tried doing a usb install, even after using Gigabyte's Windows install tool still the windows installation starts and then on the third stage where it says setup is preparing files it fails with an error saying "device drivers for your dvd cd/drive couldnt be found" not in exact words though.

I even unplugged the dvd drive completely and only tried the USB install method. Seems like this motherboard's USB3 drivers arent present in the windows. Each time the errors are different. Suddenly it cant read the dvd drive at all. Some times all drives are missing in BIOS override screen.

I dont know what to do now.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 04:44 PM   #13
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

Even though the DVD drive is chosen as first boot device still there just a flashing cursor on a blank screen showing up. No typical...press any key to boot from CD option.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 05:02 PM   #14
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,045
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

Have you had your DVD drive for awhile? If so it may of gone bad...
Reads like a bad DVD drive, the thumb drive seems to be working,
Windows 7 is asking for drivers it doesn't have... Make sure when
using the usb drive, that the DVD drive is totally disconnected...
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 05:12 PM   #15
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,389
Re: My new i3-6100 processor supports ony 2133mhz ram, can i install 2400mhz RAM Stic

Quote:
Originally Posted by plainman007 View Post
Even though the DVD drive is chosen as first boot device still there just a flashing cursor on a blank screen showing up. No typical...press any key to boot from CD option.
When you see the flashing cursor hit the space key!
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community