ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2004, 09:15 PM   #46
Ronin_abx
Registered User
 
Ronin_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,504
For me, Gigabit is not worth the price.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz (8 x 400) | ASUS P5B Deluxe v1.03g | 2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 4-4-4-10 | eVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | 2 x 80GB Hitachi Deskstar SATA - RAID 0 | Corsair HX620W PSU | NEC 3540a DVD Writer | Antec P160 | Windows XP Pro SP2 | LG L194WT-SF Widescreen
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 03-19-2004, 02:29 AM   #47
ubiquityman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
I bought a Netgear GS105.
Works fine, but does NOT support Jumbo Frames.

I'd like to know if the Linksys EG008W/EG005W supports jumbo frames.

Anyone want to try?

So far, the only low cost switch that I've found that has jumbo frame support is the SMC8505T/SMC8508T which support up to 9K frames.

The speeds is definitely welcomed. It'll allow me to keep DV files on other computers, simplifying the HD storage problem.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 12:23 AM   #48
ubiquityman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Tests from other uses indicate the Linksys does not support Jumbo frames.

However, I got this response from their tech support which would suggest otherwise.

Quote:
Thank you again for contacting Linksys technical support.

The Gigabit workgroup switch supports jumbo frames.This provides more efficient throughput for large sequential data transfers by supporting jumbo frames up to 9000 bytes. Compared to standard Ethernet frames that run only up to 1.5 KB.To use jumbo frames, both the source and destination end nodes (such as a computer or server) must support this feature.You need to configure the advanced properties of your card to support this. Also, when the connection is operating at full duplex, all switches in the network between the two end nodes must be able to accept the extended frame size.There is no utility or configuration you can do on the switch to enable this support since its all in the hardware already.


Please feel free to get in touch with us again should you have other queries.
This one is still a mystery.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 12:33 AM   #49
S.SubZero
Vista x64 User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: California
Posts: 1,277
Quote:
Originally posted by T-800
For me, Gigabit is not worth the price.
The switches are about $150-$200 give or take, and an Intel NIC is $40, if gig-e isn't already on the motherboard, which with many Intel boards now, it is.

Seeing as I paid $150 for my 100mbit switch a couple of years ago, this is not bad at all. For people who do alot of heavy file transferring over their LAN (or want to but don't want the long copying times) this can definately be worth it.
__________________
-SSZ
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 12:48 AM   #50
ubiquityman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
I use mine for video so there are lots of huge files.

Having gigabit ethernet makes the storage solution easier. I don't have to try to cram all my HDs on one machine. For ~$200, I can get a Dell 400SC which makes a fantastic external gigabit network drive!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 01:26 AM   #51
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
Quote:
Originally posted by ubiquityman
I use mine for video so there are lots of huge files.
Same here, I can transfer a 450Meg file in under 20 seconds. Moving huge files are great with a GigE network.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2004, 11:11 PM   #52
ubiquityman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
I think the linksys Gigabit Switch issues is starting to clear up.
Tech support has finally confirmed that it most certainly does not support jumbo frames.

That leaves the SMC8505T and SMC8508T as the only sub $200 (probably more like sub $1000) switch that supports jumbo frames.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 12:51 PM   #53
UbiMea
Let Freedom Ring!
 
UbiMea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: D.C.
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally posted by ubiquityman
I think the linksys Gigabit Switch issues is starting to clear up.
Tech support has finally confirmed that it most certainly does not support jumbo frames.

That leaves the SMC8505T and SMC8508T as the only sub $200 (probably more like sub $1000) switch that supports jumbo frames.
Thanks for keeping up with this.

I have been unable to successfully use jumbo frames with my Linksys 8 Port Gigabit switch, so I was surpised when an earlier post indicated otherwise.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2004, 02:26 AM   #54
Mbilgrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 33
for what its worth - I have been in contact with D-Link support, who informs that thier desktop dgs1008 doesnt support JF eigther
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 03:20 PM   #55
graysky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by toccu View Post
I do some test with program which generates client-server connection and generates some traffic so harddisk dosent slow it. Best it got after tweaking net card driver's setting was about 55MB/s. And cpu wasen't 100% load.
Which program did you use? Also, is it only for windows or is there a LINUX version as well?

Thanks!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 03:23 PM   #56
SRTDodge05
Grab Life By The Balls
 
SRTDodge05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by graysky View Post
Which program did you use? Also, is it only for windows or is there a LINUX version as well?

Thanks!
i know sandra has a network test you can use to get an idea about speed. i can send 1.4gb over my network in 25sec.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 03:31 PM   #57
graysky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 106
I'd like something with a client-sever architecture that will run on both windows and LINUX. Anyone know of something?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
333417.png[/img][/url]
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 03:33 PM   #58
SRTDodge05
Grab Life By The Balls
 
SRTDodge05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,856
try this
Network benchmark - test your network speed
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 03:35 PM   #59
graysky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 106
Looks good but I would need software for windows and linux... anyone have ideas?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
333417.png[/img][/url]
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 08:57 AM   #60
BitBucket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Try netperf at netperf (dot) org - it's free, cross-platform, client-server, and tests only the network. And - source code available, no strings attached, no spyware, begware, etc.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2014 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community