ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2003, 01:30 PM   #1
djt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 284
Updating PC800-E to 1014?

I want to update my P4C800-E Deluxe to the new BIOS 1014. I have always used the EZ Flash method in the past to do this but the notes for 1014 say not use this method? What are the exact procedures for updating to this BIOS? When I unzip the download from the Asus site I have two files, AFUDOS and P4CED14.ROM. What do I do with these files?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 12-02-2003, 01:39 PM   #2
JoeBar
Bite me if u can...
 
JoeBar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athens
Posts: 5,889
Look here.
__________________
Asus P5WDG2 Premium rev. 1.02G
Intel Pentium D 920 SL94S Malay @ 4.31GHz cooled by Thermaltake Big Water 745
GeCube Radeon X1900XT combined with LG 1980Q (8ms) 19' TFT monitor
2 x 1GB Transcend DDR2-533 @ 770mhz
2 x 36.7GB Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 | 300GB Western Digital Caviar SE SATA
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Xtrememusic combined with Cambridge Soundworks Megaworks 550 THX
Asus E616P3 DVD | Asus 1608-P DVD-RW
Thermaltake Kandalf black super tower with 4 x 120mm and 2 x 90mm blue led fans | Chieftec 550W Triple 12V rails - 120mm fan
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 01:51 PM   #3
DrRedD
Registered User
 
DrRedD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LONDON
Posts: 162
You do this....................

1)Copy those two files onto a floppy disc
2)Create a DOS boot disc - if using XP just insert another floppy and go to Format it and select "create an MS-DOS startup disc" - then hit start and it should take about a minute or so to complete.
3)leave the created startup disc in the floppy drive and reboot your machine.
4)while rebooting hit the delete key on the ASUS splash screen to enter the BIOS so that you can select in the BOOT Priority menu to start up using the floppy drive - save and exit: your machine will/should now start up using the floppy and will start up in DOS mode.
5)once you get the command line A:\ - take the startup disc out and replace it with the one you copied the 2 files onto.
6)type in "dir" then enter (just so that you can see the files are OK and on the disc.
7) the comand you need to type to update the bios is:

AFUDOS /iP4CED14.ROM

hit enter and it will run

once complete use Ctrl-Alt-Delete to reboot your machine

go back into the BIOS if you want to change the BOOT priority order back to what it was (best to select your hard drive for a faster boot time)

hope that helps..............

DrRedD
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 02:07 PM   #4
noell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 16
You can't use EZ Flash but you can use ASUS Update providing you download and install the latest version of ASUS Update. That's V5.22.02

Here's what I did. Went to the P4C800-E Deluxe website. Downloaded P4CED14A.ZIP. Unzip it to a temp folder to get P4CED14.ROM. Ran AUSU Update and selected "Update from File".
Quick, easy and worked great.

noell

System Info

Motherboard: ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 @ 3.2 Ghz
Memory: 2 X 512mb OCZ PC3200 EL DDR Dual Channel
Video: ASUS V9950 Ultra
Sound Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
Power Supply: Antec 380W
Case: Antec Sonata
Optical Drives: CD-RW 52X24X52 & Sony 16X DVD-ROM
BIOS Version: 1014
Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Pro
HDD: Western Digital Caviar SE 120GB SATA
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 02:30 PM   #5
djt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 284
I just used DrRedD's instructions and everything worked fine. Thanks for the help and quick responses to my problem guy's.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 02:49 PM   #6
Whammamoosha
Airborne Gadget Snatcher
 
Whammamoosha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 652
I'm willing to update to 1014 as well. In this case I'll use the AFUDOS that comes with the BIOS file.

Question: should I use the /PBNC flag as well or just the /I flag?

Does AFUDOS flash the boot block without the /PBNC flag?
__________________
Earthly by birth,
Watery by affinity,
Airborne by imagination,
Cosmic by goal.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 03:10 PM   #7
Atomic_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Coventry
Posts: 211
To ask a strange question, why bother updating the BIOS at all if all is working fine ?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Asus P5K Deluxe WiFi AP , Q6600 @ 3.4 Ghz
4xOCZ DDR2 6400 800 Mhz,BFG 8800 GTS OC 320 Mb, ,Antec 900 Gamers case,Hiper 580 Watt Modular PSU,
Maxtor 320 Gb 16mb cache HDD SATA II,
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 03:56 PM   #8
klamath
Registered User
 
klamath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally posted by Atomic
To ask a strange question, why bother updating the BIOS at all if all is working fine ?
Isn't the newer the better? I guess not .. Remember BIOS 1013?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 04:10 PM   #9
SLM crew chief
We Came We Saw We Folded
 
SLM crew chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NE Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,641
Quote:
Originally posted by Atomic
To ask a strange question, why bother updating the BIOS at all if all is working fine ?
Depending on what version you are running (I'm using the 1010) there are firmware updates for the Promise controller, just for example.
__________________
Folding on a CUSL2/TUSL2? Why not..........
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
The "Old-School Crew"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SLM crew chief, EJD3, SKI, Drufuss, PeterT Your name here


I walk a lonely road
The only one that I have ever known
Don't know where it goes
But it's home to me and I walk alone -- Greenday
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 04:19 PM   #10
SuperFanBoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally posted by Atomic
To ask a strange question, why bother updating the BIOS at all if all is working fine ?
i heard that if you don't update bios right after is out you will have 7 years of bad luck and you have to download bios from german ftp so you have it before it is on asus website.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 08:47 PM   #11
noell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 16
Silly as it may sound, I updated to 1014 get rid of those annoying beeps at boot-up that supposedly were telling me what USB devices were or were not connected.

noell

System Info
-------------
Mobo: ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 @ 3.2 Ghz
RAM: 2 X 512mb OCZ PC3200 EL DDR Dual Channel
Video: ASUS V9950 Ultra
Sound: Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
PS: Antec 380W
Case: Antec Sonata
Optical Drives: Sony CD-RW 52X24X52 & Sony 16X DVD-ROM
BIOS Version: 1014
OS: Microsoft Windows XP Pro (SP1)
HDD: WD Caviar SE 120GB SATA
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 11:13 PM   #12
adamw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Israel
Posts: 93
Can I upgrade directly from 1010 to 1014 or should I do it version by version.


Adam
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 07:53 AM   #13
noell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 16
Each version stands alone and doesn't depend on what came before. So you can ignore the versions between 1010 and 1014 if 1014 is what you want.

noell

System Info
-------------
Mobo: ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 @ 3.2 Ghz
RAM: 2 X 512mb OCZ PC3200 EL DDR Dual Channel
Video: ASUS V9950 Ultra
Sound: Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
PS: Antec 380W
Case: Antec Sonata
Optical Drives: Sony CD-RW 52X24X52 & Sony 16X DVD-ROM
BIOS Version: 1014
OS: Microsoft Windows XP Pro (SP1)
HDD: WD Caviar SE 120GB SATA
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 08:21 AM   #14
E_Phils
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 58
I have a Rev 1.02 board

I used Asus Update 5.22.02 from inside of Windows XP.

Went from Bios 1008 to 1011 and then loaded 1014 when it was released.

No issues at all using Asus Update.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 08:25 AM   #15
Whammamoosha
Airborne Gadget Snatcher
 
Whammamoosha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally posted by whammamoosha
I'm willing to update to 1014 as well. In this case I'll use the AFUDOS that comes with the BIOS file.

Question: should I use the /PBNC flag as well or just the /I flag?

Does AFUDOS flash the boot block without the /PBNC flag?
Can someone answer this one, pretty pleeeeeeeez?
__________________
Earthly by birth,
Watery by affinity,
Airborne by imagination,
Cosmic by goal.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community