ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2015, 04:21 PM   #16
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,407
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Heres some lower timings... Yea I wish CM had some Kingston DDR 4 memory...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 13 14 14 cl.jpg (205.4 KB, 5 views)
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 03-18-2015, 04:42 PM   #17
Sandog
CLUB ROG VI APEX
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,622
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Yeah that is what I am looking for tomorrow when I get my new RAM, 13-14-14 1.35V. I doubt mine will be 1T though. Are you setting yours to 1T Skully?
__________________
Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i9-7900X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB 3200MHz C16 CMD32GX4M4C3200C16-ROG / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 Pro SATA 1TB / Ducky Shine 3 YOTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS OC Panel / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 04:46 PM   #18
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,407
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandog View Post
Yeah that is what I am looking for tomorrow when I get my new RAM, 13-14-14 1.35V. I doubt mine will be 1T though. Are you setting yours to 1T Skully?
I'll be interested in how your new memory works out. I did set it to 1T myself..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 05:08 PM   #19
Sandog
CLUB ROG VI APEX
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,622
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Skully View Post
I'll be interested in how your new memory works out. I did set it to 1T myself..
I don't manually set timings, I use the default. A long time ago it you needed 2T if you ran 4 sticks, 1T if you ran 2. That might be why you did not hit 3000. Also, the first thing I would do is flash your BIOS to the latest if you don't already have the latest BIOS.
__________________
Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i9-7900X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB 3200MHz C16 CMD32GX4M4C3200C16-ROG / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 Pro SATA 1TB / Ducky Shine 3 YOTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS OC Panel / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 05:43 PM   #20
GWillakers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,611
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandog View Post
Those sticks you've been showing are all 1.2V Mine are 1.35V.
Guys, please offer an opinion on this...
I've asked this before so bear with me...


All things being equal with regards to a memory stick...
Timings, speed, price....

except for the voltage...

Would you go for the higher voltage, or the lower if you were looking to fully populate at max density the board allows?

I'm thinking that the lower voltage are new fab processes, and thus run cooler.

But should I be looking at the sticks like the 1.5V sticks can do 1.5 volts and the 1.35 can't.
__________________
Internet/Gaming ASUS P9X79 WS/BIOS 4802/Intel XEON E5-1650 V2 3.5GHz (4.4 GHz O/C) 6 Core/12 Thread - 12MB L3/Intel Stock AC Cooler/Antec P180 case/Thermaltake Smart M 850W PSU/4x8GB Kingston KVR16E11/8I/PNY GTX 1070 8GB graphics card/System drive Samsung 850 Pro 512GB/Data drives Intel 520 series 240GB/Intel X25-M 80GB/Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)

WorkStation SuperMicro X9SRA BIOS 3.2/Intel XEON E5-2687W 8C/16T (3.1 GHz -3.8GHz) 20MB cache/Noctua NH-U12S/ASUS GTX 970 STRIX graphics card/Thermaltake core X5 EATX Case/Antec Earthwatts 650 PSU/4x8GB Kingston KVR16E11/8I/System drive Samsung 850 Pro 512GB /2x Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001/1 TB Seagate/Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 07:26 PM   #21
Sandog
CLUB ROG VI APEX
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,622
Re: * rampage v extreme *

I made a mistake above, I should have said if you populate all DIMM's you need 2T. On X99, if you populate 4 DIMM's that is only half the slots and you should be able to run at 1T. Each bank has 2 slots. On Z97 there are 2 banks, on X99 there are 4 banks. So if you populate half the bank you can run at 1T if both slots, then 2T.

Power provided for quad channel is no less than for dual channel. ASUS usually provides 2 phases for Z97 and they provide 4 phases for X99. It does take twice the power for X99 but ASUS delivers the power.

Normally when you max out all DIMM's or memory capacity, you are not looking for speed as much and should probably stick to DDR specs which are DDR3-1600 1.5V or DDR4-2133 1.2V. A good measure of this is find what is available. Look for 8-stick kits for DDR4 (X99) and see what flavors they come in. I looked in the memory QVL list for X99-A and all the 8 module kits were 1.2V except for GSkill who had a 8x4GB kit at DDR4-3000 1.35V.
__________________
Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i9-7900X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB 3200MHz C16 CMD32GX4M4C3200C16-ROG / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 Pro SATA 1TB / Ducky Shine 3 YOTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS OC Panel / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 08:02 PM   #22
GWillakers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,611
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandog View Post
Normally when you max out all DIMM's or memory capacity, you are not looking for speed as much and should probably stick to DDR specs which are DDR3-1600 1.5V or DDR4-2133 1.2V. A good measure of this is find what is available. Look for 8-stick kits for DDR4 (X99) and see what flavors they come in. I looked in the memory QVL list for X99-A and all the 8 module kits were 1.2V except for GSkill who had a 8x4GB kit at DDR4-3000 1.35V.
Thanks,

I'll interpret that as stay within norm for your board for reliability.
__________________
Internet/Gaming ASUS P9X79 WS/BIOS 4802/Intel XEON E5-1650 V2 3.5GHz (4.4 GHz O/C) 6 Core/12 Thread - 12MB L3/Intel Stock AC Cooler/Antec P180 case/Thermaltake Smart M 850W PSU/4x8GB Kingston KVR16E11/8I/PNY GTX 1070 8GB graphics card/System drive Samsung 850 Pro 512GB/Data drives Intel 520 series 240GB/Intel X25-M 80GB/Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)

WorkStation SuperMicro X9SRA BIOS 3.2/Intel XEON E5-2687W 8C/16T (3.1 GHz -3.8GHz) 20MB cache/Noctua NH-U12S/ASUS GTX 970 STRIX graphics card/Thermaltake core X5 EATX Case/Antec Earthwatts 650 PSU/4x8GB Kingston KVR16E11/8I/System drive Samsung 850 Pro 512GB /2x Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001/1 TB Seagate/Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 08:14 PM   #23
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,407
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandog View Post
I don't manually set timings, I use the default. A long time ago it you needed 2T if you ran 4 sticks, 1T if you ran 2. That might be why you did not hit 3000. Also, the first thing I would do is flash your BIOS to the latest if you don't already have the latest BIOS.
At first I let the memory sticks set themselves to 2T. I had the same problem @
2T, and 1T changed nothing. Thats the first thing I do, when installing a new mobo, is flash the bios with the latest bios.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 08:23 PM   #24
Sandog
CLUB ROG VI APEX
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,622
Re: * rampage v extreme *

I posted this somewhere I believe in the X99-A thread but couldn't find it but here it is again.

DDR2666 CL13 I am getting has a memory clock speed of 2666/2 = 1333MHz. It is called 2666 because it is dual channel but it runs at 1333MHz. So, if you have DDR2666 with a CAS timing of 13 clocks, latency for each read/write takes approximately:

13/(1333x10^6) = 9.75ns

If you had DDR3000 CL15 the delay would be:

15/(1500x10^6) = 10ns

If you had DDR2400 CL12 the delay would be:

12/(1200x10^6) = 10ns

The fastest memory above is DDR2666 CL13
__________________
Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i9-7900X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB 3200MHz C16 CMD32GX4M4C3200C16-ROG / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 Pro SATA 1TB / Ducky Shine 3 YOTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS OC Panel / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Sandog; 03-18-2015 at 08:44 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 08:29 PM   #25
Sandog
CLUB ROG VI APEX
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,622
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Skully View Post
At first I let the memory sticks set themselves to 2T. I had the same problem @
2T, and 1T changed nothing. Thats the first thing I do, when installing a new mobo, is flash the bios with the latest bios.
Try this, exit menu in BIOS and set to optimum defaults.

Boot, go to BIOS AI Tweaker, at the top set to Manual mode then scroll down and set 'OC Tuner' to 'Keep current settings'. Now reboot and go back into BIOS.

Go to BIOS AI Tweaker and scroll down to 'OC Tuner' and now set it to Ratio + BCLK. It will ask you to hit enter and it will reboot.

See what you get after that.
__________________
Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i9-7900X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB 3200MHz C16 CMD32GX4M4C3200C16-ROG / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 Pro SATA 1TB / Ducky Shine 3 YOTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS OC Panel / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 08:51 PM   #26
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,407
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Thanks Sandog for help with the info, will give it a try, and let ya know how goes...
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 09:28 PM   #27
Sandog
CLUB ROG VI APEX
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,622
Re: * rampage v extreme *

When you do that it should auto-tune to max OC from a clean slate. Before you do the last step, scroll down in AI Tweaker to VDDR AB
and VDDR CD and make sure your memory voltage is fixed to what it should be. If it says Auto, just type in 1.35V or whatever your XMP voltage is suppose to be and hit enter. I did that with mine and the voltage stayed there.

You should see an OC at your max DDR speed and a CPU freq. around 4.5GHz. Easy Peasy.
__________________
Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i9-7900X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB 3200MHz C16 CMD32GX4M4C3200C16-ROG / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 Pro SATA 1TB / Ducky Shine 3 YOTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS OC Panel / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 09:31 PM   #28
Griff
Registered User
 
Griff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Smithers BC, Canada
Posts: 8,720
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Skully View Post
Thanks guys, yea I've been a wee quiet on this upgrade. Reason lingering weakness from the upper respiratory infection. Along with chemo brain fog.
Also lost my memory stick for my camera. So no pic's until I can get new memory. I've been following Sandogs build though...

Congrats on the new build Skully. Results that you posted are awesome.
__________________
Obsidian 550 Corsair Case
Asus Motherboard P8Z77-V PRO
Intel i7-3770K Unlocked
Arctic Cooling Freezer 13
Mushkin Redline 4x8 32GB DDR 1600 CAS 8
Asus GeForce GTX 660 OC DirectCU 1020MHZ 2GB 6.0GHZ
Samsung 840 EVO SSD For O/S
SilverStone Strider 750W Modular
LG BlueRay Burner
Seagate1TB SATA for Photos
USB 3.0 Hitachi 350 GB for Data
USB 3.0 Seagate Free Go for Back up
Built in Card Read
Win10 Pro
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 09:50 PM   #29
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,407
Re: * rampage v extreme *

I don't find 'OC Tuner', tell me what comes right before OC Tuner...
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 10:56 PM   #30
GWillakers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,611
Re: * rampage v extreme *

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandog View Post
I posted this somewhere I believe in the X99-A thread but couldn't find it but here it is again.

DDR2666 CL13 I am getting has a memory clock speed of 2666/2 = 1333MHz. It is called 2666 because it is dual channel but it runs at 1333MHz. So, if you have DDR2666 with a CAS timing of 13 clocks, latency for each read/write takes approximately:

13/(1333x10^6) = 9.75ns

If you had DDR3000 CL15 the delay would be:

15/(1500x10^6) = 10ns

If you had DDR2400 CL12 the delay would be:

12/(1200x10^6) = 10ns

The fastest memory above is DDR2666 CL13
A better statement is that the shortest latency is CL13 DDR2666.

However, there is more to memory speed than just latency.
That is akin to saying that the fastest harddrive is the one with the
shortest seek time. Without taking into account platter density, rotational rate or number of platters under your head(s).

A lot depends on your programs access pattern, number, size and effectiveness of your cache.

Larger contiguous memory references should benefit from faster clocks. While you may incur quite the penalty for those first few bytes comming down the bus, the next line(s) should be available in one clock cycle each in burst mode. Of course those clock cyles will be of shorter duration the faster you are running.

In your case you may be best off running those sticks as DDR2666 CL13.
However if in comparing sticks I found very similar latencies like the one where you show
DDR3000 CL15 and DDR2400 CL12 (both 10ns), I would definitely side with running them as DDR3000.
__________________
Internet/Gaming ASUS P9X79 WS/BIOS 4802/Intel XEON E5-1650 V2 3.5GHz (4.4 GHz O/C) 6 Core/12 Thread - 12MB L3/Intel Stock AC Cooler/Antec P180 case/Thermaltake Smart M 850W PSU/4x8GB Kingston KVR16E11/8I/PNY GTX 1070 8GB graphics card/System drive Samsung 850 Pro 512GB/Data drives Intel 520 series 240GB/Intel X25-M 80GB/Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)

WorkStation SuperMicro X9SRA BIOS 3.2/Intel XEON E5-2687W 8C/16T (3.1 GHz -3.8GHz) 20MB cache/Noctua NH-U12S/ASUS GTX 970 STRIX graphics card/Thermaltake core X5 EATX Case/Antec Earthwatts 650 PSU/4x8GB Kingston KVR16E11/8I/System drive Samsung 850 Pro 512GB /2x Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001/1 TB Seagate/Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Last edited by GWillakers; 03-18-2015 at 11:45 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community