ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2001, 06:39 AM   #1
Tranced_abx
Who, me?
 
Tranced_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: N5134'01.5" E503'54.9"
Posts: 1,631
Thumbs down RedHat troubles

When booting there are some problems....

Bringing up the interface eth0 (PC "hangs" for about 2 mins) then displays Determing IP information on eth0 [FAILED]

Next thing:

I've added a user and if I log in using the user the screen goes bleu and nothing more, the moisepointer is a cross...
Logging in with root is ok, if I logout and reloging with user....bleu screen.

next:

If I try with the KDE or GNOME desktop to give some commands in the terminal nothing happens...

like the first thing in the Getting started manual is creating a user account:
1. Open Terminal emulation on the panel at the bottom of the desktop.

2. type su - at the cmmdline and press [enter] to log in as root. you will be asked to enter root pwd....

NOTHING HAPPENS after entering su -.... just next root is shown

if I try linuxconf then, something like unknown command...

what am I doing wrong?
__________________
Laptop:
P4 3.2/800 HT
1Gb DDR400
60gb 7200rpm

Server:
Asus S-Presso
P4 2.8/800 HT
512MB DDR400
250GB SATA
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 08-16-2001, 02:40 PM   #2
Tranced_abx
Who, me?
 
Tranced_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: N5134'01.5" E503'54.9"
Posts: 1,631
did some checking and the linuxconf wasn't installed... installed it and the eth0 booting problem is solved too, it even finds my eth1 now

I can ping my ADSL modem, the other PC thru LAN

but the ADSL connection is still a problem... anyone has some experience with that... ?
__________________
Laptop:
P4 3.2/800 HT
1Gb DDR400
60gb 7200rpm

Server:
Asus S-Presso
P4 2.8/800 HT
512MB DDR400
250GB SATA
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2001, 10:51 PM   #3
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
Never tried ADSL but here's something that might help ya: http://www.linuxdoc.org/LDP/LG/issue65/chan.html
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2001, 05:21 AM   #4
Tranced_abx
Who, me?
 
Tranced_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: N5134'01.5" E503'54.9"
Posts: 1,631
ADSL is up and running

I got my ADSL online yesterday... browsing w/ LINUX

Still got some troubles with my screen resolution... 1280x1024 is a little bit toooo much for a 17'' to be readable..
__________________
Laptop:
P4 3.2/800 HT
1Gb DDR400
60gb 7200rpm

Server:
Asus S-Presso
P4 2.8/800 HT
512MB DDR400
250GB SATA
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2001, 02:47 PM   #5
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
Which version of XFree are you using? If it is XFree 4.x.x then I have a solution for ya. But you will have to wait till I get home to get the facts down. The solution works for all versions of Linux that I have used and even for FreeBSD because you are dealing with the xf86config in /etc/ directory that XFree reads for display.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community