ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2008, 02:59 AM   #1
absurd_username
Make it so
 
absurd_username's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 242
Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

My brother wants me to reformat his computer for him. While I was checking out his motherboard and driver updates I believe that I can drop an Athlon64 X2 4600+ 2.4 ghz dual core cpu into it to replace the current AMD 3000+ cpu. Cost would be about $80cdn.

Universal abit > CPU Support List

Current specs are:

Abit AV8 - VIA KT800pro
AMD 3000+
1gb DDR3200
Sapphire Radeon 9600pro AGP
Win XP Home
120gb + 320gb Seagate hard drives

How much of a difference will the cpu change make in his WoW experience? He currently plays on an old 15 inch LCD monitor at 1024*768, but may be upgrading to a newer larger LCD soon.

I've been looking at upgrading his AGP card as well to a Sapphire Radeon HD 2600xt AGP.

He doesn't use the system for anything but internet, some video DVD burning from his camcorder and WoW. When he originally asked me to build him a system there was no intention of any gaming, but the WoW bug caught him.

Thanks.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 05-23-2008, 03:17 AM   #2
sammy2066
ABX Public Relations
 
sammy2066's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: ABXZone.com
Posts: 8,973
Re: Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

The newer CPU will definitely help ... but the bulk of the performance increase will be due to the newer video card.
__________________
Most users ever online was 1,377, 04-19-2006 at 10:31 PM.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 03:52 AM   #3
absurd_username
Make it so
 
absurd_username's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 242
Re: Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy2066 View Post
The newer CPU will definitely help ... but the bulk of the performance increase will be due to the newer video card.
So the AGP card upgrade will be worthwile as well...nice.

Alrighty...I think I will suggest the upgrades to him. My brother has no desire to get a new system any time soon. It took some convincing to get him to replace the Pentium II system he was previously running.

How much hotter or cooler would the newer CPU be compared to the 3000+ ?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 12:22 PM   #4
zsaz1029
Registered User
 
zsaz1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,205
Re: Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

To be honest, WoW is not exactly a powerhouse game. It has fairly minimal system demands. I made a similar CPU upgrade and a lesser video upgrade, and there's not a lot of difference.
__________________
Spaz
-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-----
"A scar is never the same as good flesh, but it stops the bleeding." -- FitzChivalry Farseer (Assassin's Quest by Robin Hobb)
"Only my pain is more silent than my anger." -- Amber (The Liveship Traders by Robin Hobb)
-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 11:18 PM   #5
absurd_username
Make it so
 
absurd_username's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 242
Re: Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsaz1029 View Post
To be honest, WoW is not exactly a powerhouse game. It has fairly minimal system demands. I made a similar CPU upgrade and a lesser video upgrade, and there's not a lot of difference.
Interesting.

I'll first go ahead and do the reformat. See how things run from there. My brother was not knowledgable about defragging, spyware and how to properly store files. When I first inspected his system and tried a defrag the entire C drives was almost a solid red. It was also loaded with spyware and registry errors.

I know the formatting will definitely make things better. Just the thought of upgrading him to a faster dual core for a mere $80 almost seems to be a no brainer.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 01:41 AM   #6
zsaz1029
Registered User
 
zsaz1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,205
Re: Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

If it were me, I'd still probably go with the update, just to bring my computer up to speed a bit (x2). It would make a difference, and a greater contribution, if you happened to talk him into folding with the machine too.
__________________
Spaz
-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-----
"A scar is never the same as good flesh, but it stops the bleeding." -- FitzChivalry Farseer (Assassin's Quest by Robin Hobb)
"Only my pain is more silent than my anger." -- Amber (The Liveship Traders by Robin Hobb)
-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 11:34 PM   #7
absurd_username
Make it so
 
absurd_username's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 242
Re: Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsaz1029 View Post
If it were me, I'd still probably go with the update, just to bring my computer up to speed a bit (x2). It would make a difference, and a greater contribution, if you happened to talk him into folding with the machine too.
Upgrade is a no go. I finally noticed that the CPU was socket AM2 and the mobo it's going into is a 939.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 11:56 PM   #8
zsaz1029
Registered User
 
zsaz1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,205
Re: Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

Well, he could still fold.
__________________
Spaz
-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-----
"A scar is never the same as good flesh, but it stops the bleeding." -- FitzChivalry Farseer (Assassin's Quest by Robin Hobb)
"Only my pain is more silent than my anger." -- Amber (The Liveship Traders by Robin Hobb)
-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 05:59 AM   #9
iceman88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Re: Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

I have almost the same specs as in the above. It's almost 3 years now and no problems. Still in dreams of up-grading this system. Nice specs and i believe the Raddeon will do it's thing. Thanks
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 12:45 AM   #10
Maria_David
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Re: Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

hi everyone..

Nice to find the great place with lots of shared information...

thanks for sharing information, ideas and useful links...


take care
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 12:48 AM   #11
zsaz1029
Registered User
 
zsaz1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,205
Re: Upgrade from 3000+ to X2 4600+ noticable in WoW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maria_David View Post
hi everyone..

Nice to find the great place with lots of shared information...

thanks for sharing information, ideas and useful links...


take care
Um, enjoy your Warcraft.
__________________
Spaz
-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-----
"A scar is never the same as good flesh, but it stops the bleeding." -- FitzChivalry Farseer (Assassin's Quest by Robin Hobb)
"Only my pain is more silent than my anger." -- Amber (The Liveship Traders by Robin Hobb)
-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community