ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2009, 05:44 AM   #1
Kedas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 648
First impressions New PC 955BE(4GB DDR3), Old AMD 1700+ (384MB DDR1)

Hi,

I build myself a new Desktop PC (specs below)
I kept prosponing it but since my AGP GF4 started doing funcky I had to act now since buying a new AGP card for this system would be a waste of money.

Everything works even better than expected.
My old system needed 150W idle (not much more on full load though)
Width my new one on idle I measure only 85-90W.
Active internet surfing (incl. wathing movies) keeps it around 100W.
That is 33% less than my very slow old system.
Even if I stretch the CPU to 100% with amd overdrive it doen't go above 180W.
3Dmark06 doesn't go above 170W.

And one other thing I tried to take into account since the PC is present in my living room it had to be quiet.
But the case has a blue fan led in front to remind me it's on ;-)
My external HDD on the desk makes more noise than my PC under the desk.

Win7 RC installed without problem on a partion on the RAID0 but I have some trouble to get XP running due to the fact that I need a sata/raid driver, and the floppy keeps giving errors (my floppies are probably too old in a old floppy drive)

It is also getting used to that I can actualy watch full HD without jumping though the frames or start my PC and not having to go do something before can start using it.
And it is using less power than my 40GB PS3 when playing a HD movie!!

I bought an 640W supply, it seems I have more than enough, I also plan to add an DX11 card later if for example x264 would run on the GPU.

Impression with Win7 my Raid0 is slower than my single sata drive. (probably because there are no specific Win7 drivers yet, I will know for sure if XP 32bit is running)
It's nice that they made win7 install wihtout the need for that extra floppy drive even if it are slow drivers.

P.S. the power measurments are not calibrated so allow 10% error. (while I'm typing it is indicatng 86W)

Motherboard:Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P rev. 1.0
CPU:Phenom II 955BE
Memory:4GB kit DDR3 OCZ
Video:Radeon HD 4670 512MB GDDR4
PCI Cards:Testing onboard audio first else Audigy LS
Cooling:Standard Cooler
Power Supply: Antec Truepower 650W (from what I measured, too much)
Case: NZXT Hush
Storage: RAID0 2*640GB WD Caviar black, 1*640GB Caviar green
CD/DVD/Optical Drives:LG Blu-Ray burner BH08LS20, Optiarc_DVD_RW_AD-7243S
BIOS MB bios F3
O/S: Win7 64bit RC; soon adding: XP 32bit, linux 64bit
__________________
In the period that Einstein was active as a professor, one of his students
came to him and said: "The questions of this year's exam are the same as
last years!?"
"True," Einstein said, "but this year all answers are different."[Albert Einstein]
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 07-23-2009, 03:31 PM   #2
JBNimble
Renaissance Man
 
JBNimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,875
Re: First impressions New PC 955BE(4GB DDR3), Old AMD 1700+ (384MB DDR1)

Glad to see someone else also pays attention to power drain.

I'm no EnviroNazi, still I don't like to waste money on power every day. And in the summer, you pay twice -- first to power the computer, then to move that heat outside with the air conditioner. If you think it's great for winter, well you can do the same with a $20 heater, but just when it's needed.

I'm waiting for the next generation Intel CPU, built on 32 (or is it 34?) nanometer technology. That should be much cooler than the present i7, which is rated at 130 watts (great if you need a furnace).
__________________
Rome didn't fall in a day.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 08:42 AM   #3
Kedas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 648
Re: First impressions New PC 955BE(4GB DDR3), Old AMD 1700+ (384MB DDR1)

Just in case someone wants to use the same motherboard.
Don't use the gigabyte raid controller ('OnBoard SATA' in the bios)
it is even slower than a single harddrive on the SB750.
Use the Raid 0 on the SB750 ('OnChip SATA' in the bios)

I also advice to make a smaller raid0 for the OS.
I made a 110GB and then everything else for the second array.
This will improve the performace of the first smaller array.
The system will see it as two different harddrives.
Average read 172MB/s, access 7.7ms (HDtune benchmark)
__________________
In the period that Einstein was active as a professor, one of his students
came to him and said: "The questions of this year's exam are the same as
last years!?"
"True," Einstein said, "but this year all answers are different."[Albert Einstein]
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community