ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2001, 12:00 PM   #1
jjg_52643
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 7
Angry Dual win2k & Mandrake

I just got Mandrake Linux 8.0 and am a virgin to Linux. I've followed some how to's to setup a dual boot with win2k.

I installed Linux on a separtate disk and put the boot loader on my root partition /dev/hdb5, not win2k MBR. I then booted via floppy into Linux and opened a command prompt:

dd if=/dev/hdb5 of=/bootsect.lnx bs=512 count=1

Insert formatted floppy and:

mcopy /bootsect.lnx a:

I reboot into win2k copy bootsect.lnx to e:\ (win2k is on E:\) and show hidden and system files to edit boot.ini. I add the line

e:\bootsect.lnx="Linux"

I then reboot and the MS NT loader comes up and highlight "Linux" and enter...

I am then told that windows 2000 could not load because ntoskrnl.exe is missing or corrupt. I am not trying to load windows and ntoskrnl.exe is in the correct directory (e:\winnt\system32).

I have tried to put bootsect.lnx on a fat32 partition, hoping that linux won't run on NTFS, but that spat out the same error.

Can somebody please help? I can boot to linux with floppy, but who wants to do that?

Thanks a lot.

Zero-Point
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 08-19-2001, 04:50 PM   #2
letalis_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
Use lilo in the mbr instead. I do this on my win2k/slak8.0 and it works real good.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2001, 08:17 PM   #3
jjg_52643
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally posted by letalis
Use lilo in the mbr instead. I do this on my win2k/slak8.0 and it works real good.
I am pretty sure I am using lilo. When I boot w/ floppy, lilo comes up.

If not how do I use lilo in the mbr?

Thanks for the help.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2001, 07:19 PM   #4
cryogen_abx
Registered User
 
cryogen_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Halifax N.S Canada
Posts: 1,350
jjg_52643
thats weird. i never had to do as much as you did, tho, i always found it best to load lilo on a floppy.
put disk in, boot linux, take it out, boot winblows.
never touches 2k at all
MBR alwaysworked for me too, but getting rid of it can be awkward with 2k installed, fdisk /mbr has messed 2k for me too

2k is very picky about its boot config....
good luck
cryogen
__________________
umm nope
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community