ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2001, 10:05 PM   #1
2bfree
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 5
I just installed Mandrake 7.2 on my shiny new CUSL2-C, but the mouse doesn't work properly! When I move it, the cursor jumps to the upper right corner and stays there. I figure the mouse isn't configured properly. I tried opening the HardDrake menu with just the keyboard but it won't let me get to the mouse icon. I also tried to run XF86Config from a command prompt but it says permission denied. That's the extent of my linux-knowhow. Anybody got any tips for me?! I'm using a Logitech Mouseman+ PS/2 if that's of any consequence.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 03-05-2001, 05:27 AM   #2
router
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Voklo, Slovenia
Posts: 5
I have Logitech Mouseman Wheel+ (Cordless) too, but I'm using Slack 7.1. I won't start 'holly war' on which disto is better, don't worry :>

I had the same problem with mouse if I choose WheelMan+ in settings. You must use PS/2 switch ... for use in console and also in XFree86 (and AccerlatdedX too) and then works just fine ...

Tadej
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2001, 07:01 AM   #3
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
At the console prompt, make sure that you are logged in as the root and not as a regular user. This should allow for XF86Setup to work. I thought the XF86Config was the actually file that contains the settings to make the X server work. With Mandrake I think you can use Xconfigurator or something like that. Sorry, it has been a while since I have used Mandrake. I'm using SuSE 7.1 and Slackware 7.2 (yes, there is a 7.2-I have to say this because somebody always trys to be smart and claim there isn't one but there is).

You also might want to check/search the LNO about this problem. http://www.linuxnewbie.org
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2001, 09:28 PM   #4
LW_P3_700E
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 13
Thumbs up

Im running Mandrake 7.2 on my CUSL2 with a Intellimouse Explorer.
When I picked expert install it prompted me to select a mouse and I clicked Intellimouse. It then showed me a mouse and told me to scroll the wheel. After scrolling it for a couple of secs it detected and automatically configured my mouse.
The wheel function even works.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community