ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2001, 04:50 AM   #16
ShaMan_abx
No Expert - No Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 249
I can certainly understand you're irritated about this.

I can't think of anything else at the moment, pretty much all the angles seem to have been covered. There is obviously something wrong, I am not certain if it's software, hardware or human factor (no offense intended) and/or a combination.

All I can say is, use the installation bootable floppy and do a hard drive install straight from the ISO images on the hard drive.

If, I think of anything else, I'll do a supplemental post.

Good luck.
__________________
Habentibus Symbolum Facilis Est Transitus.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 07-28-2001, 02:32 PM   #17
Gorganzola
Moderator
 
Gorganzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,514
I would have to agree with ShaMan. There has to be something not quite right. Have you tried booting with the CD in the burner instead of the DVD drive? The burner would possibly have better luck reading a non-standard CD. I should ask you how old these devices are? The reason I ask is because if they are brand new then you should not have these problems, especially the burner. I know for a fact though that some DVD drives do have problems with CDR's and CDRW's but your burner should not have the problems and should boot that CD.
__________________
TTFN.

I wasn't asleep at the switch, I was drunk. -- Homer J. Simpson

Q. How many dull people does it take to change a lightbulb?

A. One.

A very useful tool on these forums:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
in public.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2001, 06:10 PM   #18
hnsn82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno
Posts: 168
do i have to extract the iso files before i burn it ???
if so how should i do it ? because right now there is just 1 file in the disc when i view it using explorer.

thanks people..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2001, 06:29 PM   #19
Gorganzola
Moderator
 
Gorganzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,514
Nope. The burning software handles everything. Just tell it you want to burn and image or ISO from disk and away it goes. It is the easiest way to distribute a CD in its entirety.

You don't want to burn a data CD and then just put the ISO on it. That won't work. So, if you have a CD with a file name on it such as filename.iso then all you did was copy the ISO to the CD.
__________________
TTFN.

I wasn't asleep at the switch, I was drunk. -- Homer J. Simpson

Q. How many dull people does it take to change a lightbulb?

A. One.

A very useful tool on these forums:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
in public.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2001, 10:46 PM   #20
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
http://www.linuxiso.org/cdburninginfo.html
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2001, 03:17 AM   #21
hnsn82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno
Posts: 168
can someone with working boot cd verify what files is in the cd ???
is it just one, which is the .iso files ( approx 650 Mb ) ????

thanks
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2001, 03:26 AM   #22
Gorganzola
Moderator
 
Gorganzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,514
There will be multiple files and directories (also known as folders in a graphics user interface such as Windows) on the CD. Not, just one huge 650MB file with the extension .iso. You must use the burning software properly to create the useable CD.

What software are you using to burn the CD?

Some possible ones would be Adaptec Easy CD Creator, Nero, WinOn CD, CDRWin, etc...
__________________
TTFN.

I wasn't asleep at the switch, I was drunk. -- Homer J. Simpson

Q. How many dull people does it take to change a lightbulb?

A. One.

A very useful tool on these forums:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
in public.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2001, 01:31 AM   #23
hnsn82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno
Posts: 168
ok , i think the reason that my cd is not working is because i just see one huge file which is the .iso file , how did you burn the iso file to get the folder and stuff you said.
btw, i have used easy cd creator 4 and just triesd roxio cd creator and both burned cd just have one big iso file.
any suggestion for me....???

thanks all
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2001, 02:19 AM   #24
Gorganzola
Moderator
 
Gorganzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,514
When you load Easy CD Creator do not use the wizard. Just hit cancel when it loads. Once you are in the Easy CD Creator window where you can add files to the CD Layout to be burnt you need to go to the File menu. Under the File menu you will find something that reads, "Create CD from Image". Click on this. A dialog box will pop up asking you to tell it where this ISO file is. Navigate through the hard drive(s) until you have found it. Select it and then click Open. You will now have a layout from the ISO. All you need to do know is tell it to burn.
__________________
TTFN.

I wasn't asleep at the switch, I was drunk. -- Homer J. Simpson

Q. How many dull people does it take to change a lightbulb?

A. One.

A very useful tool on these forums:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
in public.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2001, 02:25 AM   #25
hnsn82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno
Posts: 168
how to view the layout ??? because after i choose the iso it will give me a box ( which i can configure my burning method dao , tao )and when i click ok it'll start burning , so how will i be able to view the layout before i burn the image ???
i'm now using adaptec 4
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2001, 02:29 AM   #26
Gorganzola
Moderator
 
Gorganzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,514
Sorry, forgot that it gives you the box right away. You cannot view the layout. That is not really an issue. Just configure the disc as DAO (disc-at-once) and your speed and click on the Ok button. I am doing this from memory and sometimes it can be a little rusty.
__________________
TTFN.

I wasn't asleep at the switch, I was drunk. -- Homer J. Simpson

Q. How many dull people does it take to change a lightbulb?

A. One.

A very useful tool on these forums:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
in public.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2001, 02:37 AM   #27
hnsn82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno
Posts: 168
hehhehe, no pro man.. thanks for the help i'm going to try it now
i'll let you know later...
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2001, 02:40 AM   #28
Gorganzola
Moderator
 
Gorganzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,514
Good luck. I am sure it will work now.
__________________
TTFN.

I wasn't asleep at the switch, I was drunk. -- Homer J. Simpson

Q. How many dull people does it take to change a lightbulb?

A. One.

A very useful tool on these forums:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
in public.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2001, 02:46 AM   #29
hnsn82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno
Posts: 168
i really hope so
thanks for all the help man..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2001, 03:15 AM   #30
hnsn82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno
Posts: 168
it's now worked thanks
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community