ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2006, 08:02 PM   #46
Blue078
BB Stacker
 
Blue078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 2,391
Looks like the start of a real good chip. Bummer about the board. Kinda reminds me of the first A64 boards. With any luck a BIOS can fix it.
__________________
DFI SLI-D r.AA0...BIOS 702-2...3700+...7800GTX...2x1g Ballistix..PCP&P 510SLI ...Creative XFi...Promedeia Ultra 5.1's...2005FPW...Cooling by Prometeia and Thermaltake
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 06-16-2006, 12:28 AM   #47
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule
 
Eldonko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,987
I emailed MSI about a new BIOS today. If they have nothing to give me I'll arrange an RMA.

Been testing again today, using 1k Redline. Trying to get the max w/ 1T, seems 390 is so is as much as 1T allows, 2T goes much higher. Got a few mins of prime here and I also have a few hours of gaming at this setting.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PM me for Mushkin questions or support.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 01:49 AM   #48
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule
 
Eldonko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,987
Finally figured out the HTT issue. You have to change HTF to:
600 for 235htt
400 for 250htt
200 for 260htt

I had been using 800 which I was thinking was 4xLDT=940htf. However this board must work differently or 800 doesnt = 4x ldt..

Dual priming @ 2950 now, going for 3G tomorrow.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PM me for Mushkin questions or support.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 07:38 AM   #49
Blue078
BB Stacker
 
Blue078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 2,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko
Finally figured out the HTT issue. You have to change HTF to:
600 for 235htt
400 for 250htt
200 for 260htt

I had been using 800 which I was thinking was 4xLDT=940htf. However this board must work differently or 800 doesnt = 4x ldt..

Dual priming @ 2950 now, going for 3G tomorrow.
HTF ?????
__________________
DFI SLI-D r.AA0...BIOS 702-2...3700+...7800GTX...2x1g Ballistix..PCP&P 510SLI ...Creative XFi...Promedeia Ultra 5.1's...2005FPW...Cooling by Prometeia and Thermaltake
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 07:53 AM   #50
tarrcm
Registered User
 
tarrcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lewiston, Maine
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue078
HTF ?????
yea, would you explain that plz?
Glad you got it figured out though...does that mean the board is ok?
__________________
FX57_DFI Expert_Crucial Ballistix Tracers_Mushkin Redline XP4000's_Turbo-Cool 850W
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 12:48 PM   #51
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule
 
Eldonko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,987
HTF = Hypertransport Frequency.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PM me for Mushkin questions or support.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 12:50 PM   #52
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule
 
Eldonko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,987
Did some more testing last nite. 1.41 is good for 2900Mhz but I have to increase vcore quite a bit for higher. Temps still in the 40s though, which is good for a warped IHS.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PM me for Mushkin questions or support.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 12:53 PM   #53
tarrcm
Registered User
 
tarrcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lewiston, Maine
Posts: 863
Sounds like reverse logic, decreasing HTF to get higher HTT?
What exactly is the math relationship btwn HTT & HTF?
Confusing to me!
__________________
FX57_DFI Expert_Crucial Ballistix Tracers_Mushkin Redline XP4000's_Turbo-Cool 850W
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 12:56 PM   #54
tarrcm
Registered User
 
tarrcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lewiston, Maine
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko
Did some more testing last nite. 1.41 is good for 2900Mhz but I have to increase vcore quite a bit for higher. Temps still in the 40s though, which is good for a warped IHS.
What's the stock freq again?
I'm curious what's under that IHS...wonder if it's anything like my Opti with a big glob of TIM?
__________________
FX57_DFI Expert_Crucial Ballistix Tracers_Mushkin Redline XP4000's_Turbo-Cool 850W
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 12:59 PM   #55
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule
 
Eldonko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,987
Well how I understand it is this:

The HTF in BIOS is related to the LDT multi like you would see in your DFI. ASUS boards use a similar system for HTF I think, my A8V did anyway.
1000=5x
800=4x
600=3x
400=2x
200=1x


So when I set 260HTT and 200 HTF then the bus is only at 260HTF when it should be capable of at least 1000HTF. That's why I didnt think it was necessary to reduce past 800 and it took a while to figure out.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PM me for Mushkin questions or support.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 01:02 PM   #56
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule
 
Eldonko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarrcm
What's the stock freq again?
I'm curious what's under that IHS...wonder if it's anything like my Opti with a big glob of TIM?
Stock = 2.6. Contact is prob ok because temps are reasonable, it is just getting near the max of the chip I think. Priming @ 2975 now, seems ok, will try 3.0 later on.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PM me for Mushkin questions or support.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 01:28 PM   #57
Blue078
BB Stacker
 
Blue078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 2,391
Sounds like my 06/01 UPMW 3800X2, 2700Mhz on stock volts, then 1.4 for 2750, then 1.52v for 2800, and thats as far as she goes.

And freezing didnt help much at all -28c load gets me 3G stable. 3.1G is impossable.
__________________
DFI SLI-D r.AA0...BIOS 702-2...3700+...7800GTX...2x1g Ballistix..PCP&P 510SLI ...Creative XFi...Promedeia Ultra 5.1's...2005FPW...Cooling by Prometeia and Thermaltake
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 03:48 PM   #58
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule
 
Eldonko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,987
Up to 3Ghz, going to work on RAM a bit now.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PM me for Mushkin questions or support.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 11:47 AM   #59
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule
 
Eldonko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,987
After alot of testing I have come to the conclusion that the board has a tough time handling voltage above ~1.52v. Everytime I restart from windows or save bios the board totally powers down. I have to unplug the psu and remove the 24 pin to power up again. I have confirmed this issue with other owners of the board.

After some consulting with vmod master Hell-fire we have determined the vreg is poor at best and ovp is prob limiting the vcore. That being said it looks like I'll be running @ 2900-2950 for 24/7 use (still decent at least) since I can achieve those speeds at 1.41v. When I return from vacation I'll try a dice run and either mod this board or replace it.

Long story short, if you are buying an AM2 board and want one to fit your budget, go with the Biostar. If you want the best clocker out atm, go with Foxconn.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PM me for Mushkin questions or support.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 01:28 PM   #60
Blue078
BB Stacker
 
Blue078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 2,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko
After alot of testing I have come to the conclusion that the board has a tough time handling voltage above ~1.52v. Everytime I restart from windows or save bios the board totally powers down. I have to unplug the psu and remove the 24 pin to power up again. I have confirmed this issue with other owners of the board.

After some consulting with vmod master Hell-fire we have determined the vreg is poor at best and ovp is prob limiting the vcore. That being said it looks like I'll be running @ 2900-2950 for 24/7 use (still decent at least) since I can achieve those speeds at 1.41v. When I return from vacation I'll try a dice run and either mod this board or replace it.

Long story short, if you are buying an AM2 board and want one to fit your budget, go with the Biostar. If you want the best clocker out atm, go with Foxconn.
Thanks for the info.

Foxconn???

What about the Asus ??
__________________
DFI SLI-D r.AA0...BIOS 702-2...3700+...7800GTX...2x1g Ballistix..PCP&P 510SLI ...Creative XFi...Promedeia Ultra 5.1's...2005FPW...Cooling by Prometeia and Thermaltake
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community