ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2007, 01:54 PM   #16
John64
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,450
i think they have gotten rid of it. Over Remote Desktop which uses the classic one in xp no matter what, i get the new welcome screen in vista, but with a user name and password prompt
__________________

(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 03-26-2007, 05:23 PM   #17
SpeedDMN
Silicon Avatar
 
SpeedDMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 3,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnrr6 View Post
It takes fast sticks John----get one that says it can do ReadyBoost.

I gotta disagree with you about UAC.

At least for me-----it was the single WORST thing about this new OS....

It is just plain horrible IMHO.....

Especially for an enthusiast....

Now----for my 80 year old Father in Law who clicks on and downloads EVERYTHING----it's a good thing-----because it will scare him to death and keep his machine off my workbench....

But for me-----it just stinks.....
I agree UAC had me pulling my hair out in about 10 minutes. I just don't have anything sensitive enough on my HD's to make it worth going through the endless popups. I can understand why some poeple with security concerns would be willing to run it, but it's more then I can take. BTW how much were you able to knock off the memory usage following your guide?
__________________
Core i7 2600k (Sandybridge) @ 5.0g/ Corsair H-100 liquid CPU cooling / Asus P8Z68 Deluxe
Radeon HD R6850 MSI Cyclone X2 Xfire stock / Windows 7 Ultimate x64 / Realtec onboard sound
Corsair Vengeance 4 x 2g DDR3 @ 1600MHz / Corsair TX850 PSU / LG bluray player + burner/ OCZ Vertex 3 SSD 120g (system) + 450g WD velociraptor, Seagate 1.5t (storage)
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 06:30 PM   #18
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,056
Thanks johnrr6, I applied them all!
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 07:52 PM   #19
johnrr6
Lucky Amateur
 
johnrr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedDMN View Post
I agree UAC had me pulling my hair out in about 10 minutes. I just don't have anything sensitive enough on my HD's to make it worth going through the endless popups. I can understand why some poeple with security concerns would be willing to run it, but it's more then I can take. BTW how much were you able to knock off the memory usage following your guide?
consistently about 4-5%......

Not insignificant......
__________________
i7 3930 @ 4.6 GHz
Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1
Asus P9X79 Pro
Corsair H-100 Water Cooler
32 GB Corsair Devastator 1600 DDR
120 GB Crucial SATA III SSD
2TB WD Cavier Black SATA III
Sparkle Nvidia GTX-580
Samsung 22X SATA DVD Burner
Coolermaster Silent 850 Modular PSU
Coolermaster 690 II Advanced Case
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 12:54 AM   #20
John64
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,450
well, i personally care a lot about my data, and I use it in a programming setting where i could very easily kill my system with one of my programs. Also i care a lot about security. For a single user, UAC might be a pain, but i still content that it is perfectly fine if you change the file permissions for all your file storage. My rule of thumb is that if it isn't in my user profile or my data drives, i shouldn't ever need to write to it. Most of my programs do not require admin to run, so that mightbe a little frustration for you, who knows.
__________________

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 11:20 PM   #21
celsmk
Registered User
 
celsmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sao Paulo, SP - BRAZIL
Posts: 277
I spent all weekend installing and tuning my new Vista setup. The first detail I noticed was the unusually high disk activity and 2 processes using lots of CPU: searchfilterhost.exe and searchprotocolhost.exe.

After "googling" for a while, found out that those processes are responsible for the Vista built-in search engine.

As I installed a lot of my personal and professional related files at once, Vista was busy trying to index all new files.

I also found a recomendation for unchecking XML files in advanced indexing options.

Coincidence or not, the disk thrashing decreased and now disk activity and the responsiveness to open programs is almost at my previous XP installation standards.
__________________
Sony SZ670
CPU: Centrino Duo@2.0GHz
Memory: 4GB
Windows Vista Business SP1
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 10:42 AM   #22
johnrr6
Lucky Amateur
 
johnrr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,420
Yes

Yes----I have seen the same thing....It's even worse with a RAID 5 which is also trying to set up redundant files at the same time-----in case of a crash....

A lot of people are turning off that indexing capability.

What would you recommend, and can you give me the steps you used to shut this down or limit it??

Also----the consequences of shutting it down----in other words----what do you lose.....

I may add it to my "quick" guide.

I find two things confusing about Vista....

This new "Search" capability...Where does searching your computer leave off and Internet searching begin??? And the proper method to do both....confusing----at least to me.....

And the way the windows appear now----the file structure and the way it appears on the left in an open window with options....

I gotta understand what these can do for me----so far----I don't see much....

Thanks-----John

Quote:
Originally Posted by celsmk View Post
I spent all weekend installing and tuning my new Vista setup. The first detail I noticed was the unusually high disk activity and 2 processes using lots of CPU: searchfilterhost.exe and searchprotocolhost.exe.

After "googling" for a while, found out that those processes are responsible for the Vista built-in search engine.

As I installed a lot of my personal and professional related files at once, Vista was busy trying to index all new files.

I also found a recomendation for unchecking XML files in advanced indexing options.

Coincidence or not, the disk thrashing decreased and now disk activity and the responsiveness to open programs is almost at my previous XP installation standards.
__________________
i7 3930 @ 4.6 GHz
Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1
Asus P9X79 Pro
Corsair H-100 Water Cooler
32 GB Corsair Devastator 1600 DDR
120 GB Crucial SATA III SSD
2TB WD Cavier Black SATA III
Sparkle Nvidia GTX-580
Samsung 22X SATA DVD Burner
Coolermaster Silent 850 Modular PSU
Coolermaster 690 II Advanced Case
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 03:20 PM   #23
celsmk
Registered User
 
celsmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sao Paulo, SP - BRAZIL
Posts: 277
johnrr6,
I did the following:
Control Panel -> System & Maintenance -> Indexing Options -> Advanced -> File Types Tab and unchecked all XML filter types.

I did not notice any difference at all, but keep in mind that I am a plain home/office user and am using standard non-xml MS Office file formats.

Regards,

Celsmk
__________________
Sony SZ670
CPU: Centrino Duo@2.0GHz
Memory: 4GB
Windows Vista Business SP1
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 11:38 PM   #24
John64
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,450
Well, vista is off my computer for the next few years. It is just too slow. I could understand if this was a Vista Capable machine, but it is a dual core opteron with an X1800XT. I can't play old games period, and the general UI is just too laggy. I guess the niceties of vista will have to wait until i buy my next computer!
__________________

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 03:14 AM   #25
bajo
C1eaner
 
bajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 17,311
"Search" problem...??

Why does my "Search" FREEZE every time I start it ...? it is 100% unusable, even after applying the tweaks...!?

Start Menu Orb >> Search... freeze !
__________________
USA "I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them." Duke(The Shootist)
Gigabyte_AGP_LGA775, PentiumD960_dual core 3.6GHz, SapphireHD3850_AGP512MB_DDR2, WD RaptorX 150GB SATA_clearTop_16MB + Seagate 1TB SATA_32MB, CorsairDominator 2GB 8500_1066MHz, Dell 24" 2408WFP *AGP +DVIx2 +HDMI +DisplayPort +USB2x4, XPproSP3
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Inspiron9400 17"uxga CentrinoC2duoT7600_2.39GHz_685MHz 4GB Micron6400@800_675_400MHz GeForceGo7900GSMobileForce_M6Enhanced_256MB 2x500GbSATA_7200rpm_16MBcache Vista hp, VistaP6002_SP2
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 03:50 AM   #26
bajo
C1eaner
 
bajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 17,311
Bingo !

Turned out to be a real problem after doing a Google search.. just disabled the Wsearch service and the problem now seems fixed
__________________
USA "I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them." Duke(The Shootist)
Gigabyte_AGP_LGA775, PentiumD960_dual core 3.6GHz, SapphireHD3850_AGP512MB_DDR2, WD RaptorX 150GB SATA_clearTop_16MB + Seagate 1TB SATA_32MB, CorsairDominator 2GB 8500_1066MHz, Dell 24" 2408WFP *AGP +DVIx2 +HDMI +DisplayPort +USB2x4, XPproSP3
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Inspiron9400 17"uxga CentrinoC2duoT7600_2.39GHz_685MHz 4GB Micron6400@800_675_400MHz GeForceGo7900GSMobileForce_M6Enhanced_256MB 2x500GbSATA_7200rpm_16MBcache Vista hp, VistaP6002_SP2
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 08:42 PM   #27
jgis19
Registered User
 
jgis19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 87
Here is a great guide from hardocp http://enth
usiast.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MTMyNywxLCxoZW50aHVzaWFzdA==
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 08:43 PM   #28
jgis19
Registered User
 
jgis19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 87
Sorry, maybe this helps [H] Enthusiast - Top 12 Vista Tweaks
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 09:23 PM   #29
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,108
Nice guide John, thanks.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 11:27 AM   #30
johnrr6
Lucky Amateur
 
johnrr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgis19 View Post
Sorry, maybe this helps [H] Enthusiast - Top 12 Vista Tweaks
Good guide----but mostly for visual stuff----not reall a speed tune-up guide....

Here is one step in their guide you need to be careful with:

Quote:
Step 10: This one is self-explanatory. Do you need Tablet PC components installed? Probably not, unless you are using a Tablet PC. So turn off whatever you don’t need in the name of keeping your Windows install as lean as possible.

Click Start, Control Panel, then under Programs at the bottom click “Uninstall a Program.” In the left-hand pane you’ll see “Turn Windows Features on or off.” Ba-da-boom, ba-da-bing. Uncheck whatever you don’t need.
I tried this tweak and if you remove the entire Tablet PC components as per suggestion----you will lose the built-in Vista "Snipping Tool" which I find very usefull.

You can still save memory usage and just shutdown the service and not remove the entire component as per step 9 in my guide.

I'd also be careful and experiment with what components you were removing entirely------more experimentation needs to be done in this area before I would recommend using this as a tweak. Easier and safer to shut down individual services instead of removing an entire component.

The good news is that it appears that removing a component is totally reversable and you can add it back if you found something you need wasn't working.
__________________
i7 3930 @ 4.6 GHz
Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1
Asus P9X79 Pro
Corsair H-100 Water Cooler
32 GB Corsair Devastator 1600 DDR
120 GB Crucial SATA III SSD
2TB WD Cavier Black SATA III
Sparkle Nvidia GTX-580
Samsung 22X SATA DVD Burner
Coolermaster Silent 850 Modular PSU
Coolermaster 690 II Advanced Case
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community