ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2007, 02:25 PM   #1
pepper2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Need Help on New Mac

Hi, I'm 79 yrs old and ordered a new iMac 24 which will arrive Tuesday and I need some help. An Apple salesman told me I need iWorks which will give me spreadsheets, word processor, etc., just like I was used to after being a 20 year PC user. Now, a friend told me that iWorks does not act exactly like the MS Office stuff when using a PC, and that I should get MS 2007 Office Home and Students, and load into new Mac, and then I'll be able to use Word and Excel just like I did when using my PC. However, I do not understand how this will work. How can a MS program work on a MAC? I regret I have not done all the homework I should have done on this as if I had, maybe I would nost have to be asking this question. Your help will be greatly appreciated.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 11-25-2007, 04:05 PM   #2
FearFactory
The FC.Porto dragon!
 
FearFactory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Portugal
Posts: 3,981
Re: Need Help on New Mac

Theres office 2004 for Mac, check this link Office 2004 for Mac
__________________
AMD Phenom II X2 555BE 3.2Ghz AM3 (OC x4 3.7Ghz),CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus, Asus M5A99X Evo , 2x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Corsair Vengeance, VGA PowerColor HD6950 2GB DDR5, Asus DVDRW, Seagate 2TB SATA, Seagate 500 SATA, PSU Nox Hummer M 650W, Asus ML239 23' IPS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 05:34 PM   #3
Hondamaker
Registered User
 
Hondamaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sidney, OHIO
Posts: 270
Re: Need Help on New Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepper2 View Post
Hi, I'm 79 yrs old and ordered a new iMac 24 which will arrive Tuesday and I need some help. An Apple salesman told me I need iWorks which will give me spreadsheets, word processor, etc., just like I was used to after being a 20 year PC user. Now, a friend told me that iWorks does not act exactly like the MS Office stuff when using a PC, and that I should get MS 2007 Office Home and Students, and load into new Mac, and then I'll be able to use Word and Excel just like I did when using my PC. However, I do not understand how this will work. How can a MS program work on a MAC? I regret I have not done all the homework I should have done on this as if I had, maybe I would nost have to be asking this question. Your help will be greatly appreciated.
Believe it or not, Microsoft makes a version of Office to install on a Mac. FearFactory speaks the truth
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 04:42 AM   #4
Drufuss
Registered User
 
Drufuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,185
Re: Need Help on New Mac

Well, i think pepper2 has figured it out in the past two years.
__________________
System specs:
Asus Maximus VI Formula (watercooled)
Core i7-4790K 4.00 GHz (watercooled)
4 x 8GB DDR3-Ram PC3-2400 Kingston Beast XMP
3 x Samsung 840 EvoO 1 TB
Gigabyte GeForce GTX970 G1 Gaming (watercooled)
Soundblaster ZxR, Hauppauge HVR4400 DVB-T/S2, Logitech Z-5450 5.1 THX Wireless
Logitech DiNovo MediaDesktop 2.0
Enermax Platimax 750W
Pump: Laing DDC2
Radiator: Watercool Mo-Ra 3 420
Case: Cooltek Antiphon
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit retail

CUSL2-C ruled! ..äh... RulEd!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Time flies like an arrow,
fruit flies like a banana.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 04:12 PM   #5
Hondamaker
Registered User
 
Hondamaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sidney, OHIO
Posts: 270
Re: Need Help on New Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drufuss View Post
Well, i think pepper2 has figured it out in the past two years.
Holy crap! I didn't notice the age of this thread!

I we todd did.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 09:16 PM   #6
DJ_STEEL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Re: Need Help on New Mac

hi I have put together a Hackintosh i gave installed the ideneb 1.5.5 leopard 10.5.7 but i have no lan please help i'm so close to getting this working Intel dp45sg mobo intel dual core E8400 3.0ghz 8gigs ddr3 ram 1333mhz to 500 gig hardrives and an evga nvidia 9800 gtx i need help bigtime to get the internet going have done like 5-6 installs nothing works for internet :O(
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community