ABXZone Computer  Forums

Old 12-12-2007, 06:40 PM   #1
RJ

Linux & 233Mhz. Am I Nuts?

I have an old Compaq 233Mhz Armada 1700 notebook with 128MB of Ram that I have Win 3.1 and 98SE on for old applications that a dabble with. I use an old version of System Commander for the multiple OS's. I get an itch to dabble with Linux once in awhile. I tried Ubunto ISO on a couple of newer notebooks, but the graphics were all screwy and I would have had to install it on the notebook's hard drive and play with drivers just to think about Linux. Is there an older version that I can use my old Compaq for getting my feet wet? I am a complete newbie when it comes to Linux, but I want to learn more as our business has Fedora Core 3.0 on it for an intranet with a firewall, and I occasionally have to type commands from someone over the telephone to restart some jobs, and this stuff is totally greek to me.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 12-12-2007, 07:20 PM   #2
k0NG0
Remembering TQ

Re: Linux & 233Mhz. Am I Nuts?

When I first installed GNU/Linux it was Slackware 8.0 on a PII 233 with, um, 192MB of memory I think. It was a web/ftp server that never had a single problem for years and years.

Slackware isn't one of the easier GNU/Linux distributions, but it's light-weight and a great way of learning how to do stuff through the command-line interface. If you really want to learn, it's a hill worth climbing.

If you want a graphical window system, I suggest using one of the light-weight ones such as Xfce (comes with Slackware 12), IceWM or FVWM. Should work pretty dang well with that Compaq system (KDE or Gnome are behemoths in comparison).

You shouldn't need an older version. Just one that's light on resources. The system may be slow compared to modern hardware, but it will still run the latest kernel and such.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Use