ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2008, 07:51 PM   #1
darkstar_abx
Registered User
 
darkstar_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 2,610
Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Yesterday I had a buddy drop off a not to old Compaq for me to look at, no video he says. It had onboard and also had an empty PCI-E slot. Not having a PCI-E card laying around to test it I grabbed the ASUS EN8500 I have in this Foxconn. I shut down the computer, unplugged the PS and removed the card with no fanfare. I installed in the Compaq and it ran... no suprises there.

After uninstalling the VC from the Compaq I reversed the process, again with no fanfare but the videcard will not work. Computer starts (no boot), has power to all fans and the led is working... flashing 23 and 45 very fast.
Now in the manual 23 states 23 Program chipset Early Programming of chipset

45 states 45 Reinit serial port Reinitialize Preboot agent serial port

If I put the VC in the second PCI-E slot I get the start screen with the " please put vc in the first slot if not running SLI" or something to that effect. Will not let me into BIOS, keyboard will not work.

Another weird thing is that when the computer is powered down the led to indicate power is on ( next to the on/off switch on the case).

I have removed the MB and reseated everything, CPU,memory... you name it.

Don't know if it matters but also there is 2 small amber led's lit on the MB when power is off. They are labeled CR4K2 and CR4K3.

PC consist's of the above mentioned Foxconn, AMD 5000 BB, 2 Gig Corsair XMS and the Asus EN8500. It ran fine for 45 days since being built.

I am at a loss..........
__________________
"It is NOT harassment,and I will NOT recant!"
________________________________________
ASRock P55 Pro, Intel I-3 530, 8gig GSkill Ripjaw DDR3, 2 Seagate 250gig not raided, PNY 9800GT, Zerotherm 92, Corsair 850, Dell 24in 1210,
Coolermaster 690, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
___________________________________________
Asus Rampage III, I-7 920 @ 3.87, 12gig GSkill DDR3, EVGA GTX570 , 2 Corsair Force GT 120's Raid 0, 1 W/D 640 black, Coolermaster V8, Silverstone Strider 1000, 25in Asus Monitor, Coolermaster 932 HAF, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 03-04-2008, 08:09 AM   #2
shaunUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 15
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

I have just experienced this exact problem with my Foxconn board after adding a 8800GT. After 2 days of testing with another machine I know that the card, CPU, memory and PSU all check out. Thinking that maybe the board just didn't like the 8800 I went back to the old 7900 I had been using before. After 2 successful boots the same problem appeared.
I've raised the issue with Foxconn tech support but haven't heard anything yet. Right now my gut tells me that we both have bad boards, though if anyone can shed some light on this before I shell out money for a new one I'd be grateful.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 10:17 AM   #3
shaunUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 15
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Right, quick progress update. A bit of digging has revealed that my PSU might not be providing enough juice to power the 8800. It seems that the card needs a PSU capable of delivering 26A on the 12V rail, my OCZ 850W only manages 20A. I'm planning on picking up a new PSU and testing with that, but right now my fear is that running my system on a underpowered unit might have done some damage to the board.
Darkstar, my advice to you would be to check the power requirements of your Asus card and try a different PSU if neccessary.
Still waiting for a reply from Foxconn, will post here when / if I get one.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 10:22 AM   #4
rjs735
Virus? What I am not sick
 
rjs735's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,032
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

If you do find the power req ok. Then you can try clearing the bios with with the clear bios jumper on the MB. It's easy and doesn't cost anything.

I also was surprised to find that on average a newer Video card can take anywhere from 50 to 150 watts of power.

There are some PS calculators on the web. Just google for them.
__________________
Giga ga-ep45-ud3p 2.8 E8400 4mb Ram WDC 500Gb
XP pro Win7 32 Win7 64 Virtualpc
Asus P4S8x 2.0 Ghz Celeron Ram 512MB WDC 80GB HD SATA WDC 80GB SATA Memorex DUAL DVD/RW Win98SE/XP pro
Asus P2b-F Cel 450 Ram 256MB W98 SE
Optorite CDRW WD 40GB
Asrock P4combo P4 346 Xp Pro Sp 3 SATA HD SATA DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 XP Media SP2 Sata HD Sata DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 Xp SP2 Asrock 775Dual 550 Xp pro SP2
IBM T23 1.3hz RAM 512MB XP pro SP2
All systems are networked
Konica Minolta Color Laser Samsung clp-315 Color laser
Dlink 655 Dlink G650 Wireless Dlink DNS-323 1TB NAS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 10:25 AM   #5
rjs735
Virus? What I am not sick
 
rjs735's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,032
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaunUK View Post
Right, quick progress update. A bit of digging has revealed that my PSU might not be providing enough juice to power the 8800. It seems that the card needs a PSU capable of delivering 26A on the 12V rail, my OCZ 850W only manages 20A. I'm planning on picking up a new PSU and testing with that, but right now my fear is that running my system on a underpowered unit might have done some damage to the board.
Darkstar, my advice to you would be to check the power requirements of your Asus card and try a different PSU if neccessary.
Still waiting for a reply from Foxconn, will post here when / if I get one.
If the video card is loading the power supply it will happen when your starting your system and drags down the 12 line depending how good your supply is there maybe no long term effects.
__________________
Giga ga-ep45-ud3p 2.8 E8400 4mb Ram WDC 500Gb
XP pro Win7 32 Win7 64 Virtualpc
Asus P4S8x 2.0 Ghz Celeron Ram 512MB WDC 80GB HD SATA WDC 80GB SATA Memorex DUAL DVD/RW Win98SE/XP pro
Asus P2b-F Cel 450 Ram 256MB W98 SE
Optorite CDRW WD 40GB
Asrock P4combo P4 346 Xp Pro Sp 3 SATA HD SATA DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 XP Media SP2 Sata HD Sata DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 Xp SP2 Asrock 775Dual 550 Xp pro SP2
IBM T23 1.3hz RAM 512MB XP pro SP2
All systems are networked
Konica Minolta Color Laser Samsung clp-315 Color laser
Dlink 655 Dlink G650 Wireless Dlink DNS-323 1TB NAS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 12:41 PM   #6
darkstar_abx
Registered User
 
darkstar_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 2,610
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Guess I should have updated this thread when I found out but I really did not think anyone was interested.

Bottom line is the board was bad or I screwed something up while re-installing the EN8500. I have a Coolermaster Realpower 650 in the machine so power should not have been an issue.

RMA'd to Foxconn ( jump thru some hoop's there I'll tell ya!) and they sent me a new M/B.

Needless to say it fired right up and been cruisin' fine for 2 weeks.

Good luck shaunUK, try sending it back if they will let you.

I love the board, not as much as the Crosshair I have for gaming but it is a great board.
__________________
"It is NOT harassment,and I will NOT recant!"
________________________________________
ASRock P55 Pro, Intel I-3 530, 8gig GSkill Ripjaw DDR3, 2 Seagate 250gig not raided, PNY 9800GT, Zerotherm 92, Corsair 850, Dell 24in 1210,
Coolermaster 690, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
___________________________________________
Asus Rampage III, I-7 920 @ 3.87, 12gig GSkill DDR3, EVGA GTX570 , 2 Corsair Force GT 120's Raid 0, 1 W/D 640 black, Coolermaster V8, Silverstone Strider 1000, 25in Asus Monitor, Coolermaster 932 HAF, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 12:49 PM   #7
rjs735
Virus? What I am not sick
 
rjs735's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,032
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Darkstar_abx could you detail what you went thru with Foxconn to get an RMA for the board.

I bought a Foxconn 925xe-7aa and bought a radeon x600xt PCIe and it won't fireup. So I bought another board because where I bought didn't have any more. An the 2nd board fails the same way. I have a Foxconn video card on the way as well as an Nvidea. If all these fail I need to RMA at least one of the boards to foxconn. The other I have an RMA but there isn't a replacement available.
__________________
Giga ga-ep45-ud3p 2.8 E8400 4mb Ram WDC 500Gb
XP pro Win7 32 Win7 64 Virtualpc
Asus P4S8x 2.0 Ghz Celeron Ram 512MB WDC 80GB HD SATA WDC 80GB SATA Memorex DUAL DVD/RW Win98SE/XP pro
Asus P2b-F Cel 450 Ram 256MB W98 SE
Optorite CDRW WD 40GB
Asrock P4combo P4 346 Xp Pro Sp 3 SATA HD SATA DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 XP Media SP2 Sata HD Sata DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 Xp SP2 Asrock 775Dual 550 Xp pro SP2
IBM T23 1.3hz RAM 512MB XP pro SP2
All systems are networked
Konica Minolta Color Laser Samsung clp-315 Color laser
Dlink 655 Dlink G650 Wireless Dlink DNS-323 1TB NAS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 12:51 PM   #8
rjs735
Virus? What I am not sick
 
rjs735's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,032
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

I forgot to mention in the previous post the Radeon x600xt fires up in an Asrock 775Dual ok. OS not the video card. Conflict at least betweeen the video and MB PCIe possibly.
__________________
Giga ga-ep45-ud3p 2.8 E8400 4mb Ram WDC 500Gb
XP pro Win7 32 Win7 64 Virtualpc
Asus P4S8x 2.0 Ghz Celeron Ram 512MB WDC 80GB HD SATA WDC 80GB SATA Memorex DUAL DVD/RW Win98SE/XP pro
Asus P2b-F Cel 450 Ram 256MB W98 SE
Optorite CDRW WD 40GB
Asrock P4combo P4 346 Xp Pro Sp 3 SATA HD SATA DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 XP Media SP2 Sata HD Sata DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 Xp SP2 Asrock 775Dual 550 Xp pro SP2
IBM T23 1.3hz RAM 512MB XP pro SP2
All systems are networked
Konica Minolta Color Laser Samsung clp-315 Color laser
Dlink 655 Dlink G650 Wireless Dlink DNS-323 1TB NAS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 01:23 PM   #9
shaunUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 15
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Thanks for the advice guys, just had a reply from Foxconn that confirmed my board is dead. The PSU is still underpowered so I may as well pick up a new one tomorrow, while I'm at it I have my eye on the Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe so I'll splash out a bit more.
I'll RMA it back to them, got another board to go back to Gigabyte and a monitor that decided to blow out so I can clear house a little.
rjs735, sounds like you've had some pretty bad luck, sounds like a board problem to me. One thing I've found with Foxconn boards is that they can be flakey with certain cards. Sometimes for one reason or another they just don't play well together.
__________________
Excuse any typos, my laptop keyboard is NOT ergonomic.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 02:35 PM   #10
rjs735
Virus? What I am not sick
 
rjs735's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,032
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Well I'll know taday or latest by Friday when all these cards showup. They are not wasted as I have 2 other systems to build.
__________________
Giga ga-ep45-ud3p 2.8 E8400 4mb Ram WDC 500Gb
XP pro Win7 32 Win7 64 Virtualpc
Asus P4S8x 2.0 Ghz Celeron Ram 512MB WDC 80GB HD SATA WDC 80GB SATA Memorex DUAL DVD/RW Win98SE/XP pro
Asus P2b-F Cel 450 Ram 256MB W98 SE
Optorite CDRW WD 40GB
Asrock P4combo P4 346 Xp Pro Sp 3 SATA HD SATA DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 XP Media SP2 Sata HD Sata DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 Xp SP2 Asrock 775Dual 550 Xp pro SP2
IBM T23 1.3hz RAM 512MB XP pro SP2
All systems are networked
Konica Minolta Color Laser Samsung clp-315 Color laser
Dlink 655 Dlink G650 Wireless Dlink DNS-323 1TB NAS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 04:09 PM   #11
rjs735
Virus? What I am not sick
 
rjs735's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,032
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Well i AM HERE TO TELL YOU that in the case of my system The foxconn MB with a Gigabyte PC case and 400W PS with 2 12V buses one at 14A and the other at 13A would not run an Radeon x600XT. I went and bought a Foxconn Nvidia 8400 from Newegg for $38 less $20 rebate from Foxconn ( I may or may not get it) but the card got detected and as I am writing this is installing the drivers . So to answer the issue of being finicky then go with the mfg own video may not be the best or the fastest in my case I don't game. SO I am
__________________
Giga ga-ep45-ud3p 2.8 E8400 4mb Ram WDC 500Gb
XP pro Win7 32 Win7 64 Virtualpc
Asus P4S8x 2.0 Ghz Celeron Ram 512MB WDC 80GB HD SATA WDC 80GB SATA Memorex DUAL DVD/RW Win98SE/XP pro
Asus P2b-F Cel 450 Ram 256MB W98 SE
Optorite CDRW WD 40GB
Asrock P4combo P4 346 Xp Pro Sp 3 SATA HD SATA DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 XP Media SP2 Sata HD Sata DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 Xp SP2 Asrock 775Dual 550 Xp pro SP2
IBM T23 1.3hz RAM 512MB XP pro SP2
All systems are networked
Konica Minolta Color Laser Samsung clp-315 Color laser
Dlink 655 Dlink G650 Wireless Dlink DNS-323 1TB NAS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 10:47 AM   #12
darkstar_abx
Registered User
 
darkstar_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 2,610
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

As for RMA'ing to Foxconn the best way to get the ball rolling is to call them. The tech will get your email addy and send you a link to a form to fill out, FAX it to them and then they will FAX you back the RMA #'s.

The whole process took less than 2 weeks, sending it to Foxconn and getting a new one back to me.

Just like anything else, if you follow instructions things like this usually work out.

Good luck guys!
__________________
"It is NOT harassment,and I will NOT recant!"
________________________________________
ASRock P55 Pro, Intel I-3 530, 8gig GSkill Ripjaw DDR3, 2 Seagate 250gig not raided, PNY 9800GT, Zerotherm 92, Corsair 850, Dell 24in 1210,
Coolermaster 690, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
___________________________________________
Asus Rampage III, I-7 920 @ 3.87, 12gig GSkill DDR3, EVGA GTX570 , 2 Corsair Force GT 120's Raid 0, 1 W/D 640 black, Coolermaster V8, Silverstone Strider 1000, 25in Asus Monitor, Coolermaster 932 HAF, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 02:42 PM   #13
rjs735
Virus? What I am not sick
 
rjs735's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,032
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Interesting part some of the MB mfg have at least the courtesy of telling you which Graphics cards work with the particular model you've chosen. There is no such animal with Foxconn. That may also be the reason that their RMA process is broken. Although when I used ASUS RMA for the ASUS MB I needed to contact them by phone as well. But here the problem was the volume rather than the process. You could wait it out or call them.
__________________
Giga ga-ep45-ud3p 2.8 E8400 4mb Ram WDC 500Gb
XP pro Win7 32 Win7 64 Virtualpc
Asus P4S8x 2.0 Ghz Celeron Ram 512MB WDC 80GB HD SATA WDC 80GB SATA Memorex DUAL DVD/RW Win98SE/XP pro
Asus P2b-F Cel 450 Ram 256MB W98 SE
Optorite CDRW WD 40GB
Asrock P4combo P4 346 Xp Pro Sp 3 SATA HD SATA DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 XP Media SP2 Sata HD Sata DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 Xp SP2 Asrock 775Dual 550 Xp pro SP2
IBM T23 1.3hz RAM 512MB XP pro SP2
All systems are networked
Konica Minolta Color Laser Samsung clp-315 Color laser
Dlink 655 Dlink G650 Wireless Dlink DNS-323 1TB NAS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 07:47 PM   #14
shaunUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 15
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Got to agree with rjs735. I love Foxconn products and from a technical perspective I'd rank them one of the top manufacturers but I've always found their tech support lacking. And the last time I went looking for a list of compatible cards it was severely out of date.
But the good news is that the RMA process has started. I did end up buying the Asus board for a good price so my replacement Foxconn can be stored away as a spare.
Right now I'm just happy to have my main PC back
__________________
Excuse any typos, my laptop keyboard is NOT ergonomic.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 11:52 PM   #15
davesdream
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Re: Foxconn Foxconn C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H problem.

Same 2 yellow blinking ligts here, pressing power on botton and PC didn't want to boot, in my case I notice my card reader leds were blinking too (that didn't happend before until today I plug a USB webcam in the front of PC case to try if will work with Vista). I disconnected it from the USB controller in the MOBO, power up again, and the led now stays solid and PC boot normally. Now I have to try to turn off the monster and plug back the card reader and see if the lights come again and don't allow me to boot...cross your fingers
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2014 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community