ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2008, 01:07 AM   #1
vmax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Ethernet hub for IP camera

Hello,
I want to use 4 port Ethernet hub for my application.
can I connect IP camera with Ethernet Hub?
can I connect two Ip camera to any two ports of Ethernet hub?
And the other ports will be connected to some hardware module which has ethernet connectivity.

Thanks In advance....

-----------

Thank You...

vmax
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 03-08-2008, 01:44 AM   #2
Gorganzola
Hangin' with the Fruits
 
Gorganzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hangin' with the fruits
Posts: 9,514
Re: Ethernet hub for IP camera

Yes and Yes.
__________________
TTFN.

I wasn't asleep at the switch, I was drunk. -- Homer J. Simpson

Q. How many dull people does it take to change a lightbulb?

A. One.

A very useful tool on these forums:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
in public.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 02:00 AM   #3
vmax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Re: Ethernet hub for IP camera

Thank You very much for your reply.
I have one ethernet connnectivity module.and It will have own IP address.
does IP camera come with already assigned IP address?
I want to make an application that Integrate IP camera and Ethernet Connctivity module also.
Ethernet Connectivity module will be Interfaced with Microcontroller to control the movement of camera.
So, all the application should be run from Single IP address.
Can You explain me how the IP addresses are managed with Ethernet hub?

-----------
Thank You...

vmax
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 02:41 AM   #4
Gorganzola
Hangin' with the Fruits
 
Gorganzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hangin' with the fruits
Posts: 9,514
Re: Ethernet hub for IP camera

Think of each device that is connected to your network as a house on a street. Each house has its own address, no house can share an address. Each house is connected to the street (hub) by their respective driveway (cable).

Now, you could assign each house an address (IP) by manually going to each house and putting it on the house. Or, you can use a central authority like City Hall (DHCP server) to automatically do this for you.

An ethernet hub will not manage IP addresses. Most residental gateway/routers come with a DHCP server built into them that can automatically assign IP addresses for you.

Would you be thinking of building something like this:

Dell : TRENDnet Advanced Pan & Tilt Wired Internet Camera Server : Enterprise VoIP : Home & Home Office
__________________
TTFN.

I wasn't asleep at the switch, I was drunk. -- Homer J. Simpson

Q. How many dull people does it take to change a lightbulb?

A. One.

A very useful tool on these forums:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
in public.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 02:47 AM   #5
Deer Slayer
Unscanable!!! Tatoo???
 
Deer Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Howell Michigan
Posts: 3,847
Re: Ethernet hub for IP camera

IP addresses are not MANAGED with an ethernet HUB. Etherent HUBS literally repeat ALL packets ot of EVERY interface on them. Switches are managed @ the MAC address level. Anything that has an ethernet connection has a MAC address assigned from the manufacturer. SWITCHES direct traffic based on mac addresses. Your cameras will require either manual IP assignemnt, or a DHCP server on the hub or switch you connect them to. I suggest using a switch. but a hub will work. You'll have to refer to the camera's instructions to figure out whether you can ssign it an IP, or get a DHCP address. The first step is figuring out how IP address schemes work, research that first before you try to make an app.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 03:28 AM   #6
vmax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Re: Ethernet hub for IP camera

I want to utilize two ports of hub.
And I am targeting to make an application that You have mentioned on the link.
one port will have IP camera interface with It.and another port will have Ethernet connectivity module interfaced with Microcontroller specially used for controlling the movement of IP camera.
I want to perform two task.
one is to monitor the IP camera Video and at a same time to rotate IP camera also.
And all this things will be performed via ethernet communication.
And all should be Integrated very well.

can I make this application?

---------------------
Thanks and regards,

vmax
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 04:35 AM   #7
Gorganzola
Hangin' with the Fruits
 
Gorganzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hangin' with the fruits
Posts: 9,514
Re: Ethernet hub for IP camera

Yes, The ability to do so exists.
__________________
TTFN.

I wasn't asleep at the switch, I was drunk. -- Homer J. Simpson

Q. How many dull people does it take to change a lightbulb?

A. One.

A very useful tool on these forums:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
in public.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 12:43 PM   #8
SRTDodge05
Grab Life By The Balls
 
SRTDodge05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,856
Re: Ethernet hub for IP camera

Camera's will work fine plugged into a switch. I have 2 security camera's on my house that plug into a switch and i can monitor them anywhere that has internet connection.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2014 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community