ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2008, 11:49 AM   #1
k0NG0
Remembering TQ
 
k0NG0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13,749
Question Virtualizing Vista (how Intella got her groove back)

With my new computer being fast enough for virtualization, I've been pondering the OS issue. I've used Linux almost exclusively for almost 18 months now, and I can't say I miss Windows all that much. But there are times when there might be a real need, and I may want to do some Windows development, which is hard on Linux.

So, does anyone have experience virtualizing Vista from within Linux? Using Xen or VMWare or KVM or whatever. How much of a performance hit does it incur, does 64-bit work OK etc.

I'd really love it if I didn't have to install Vista on its own partition. I'll probably set aside 15GB or so just in case, but I'd be very happy to virtualize it and just have Linux installed on the HDD.

Thoughts, points, dancing?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Use
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Feeling multicore elation? Remember this correlation:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 08-05-2008, 06:24 PM   #2
S.SubZero
Vista x64 User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: California
Posts: 1,277
Re: Virtualizing Vista (how Intella got her groove back)

Virtualbox handles Vista as a virtual machine just fine. Being in a VM kind of defeats the eye candy, since it can't do Aero. Vista is also quite large and has hefty resource demands for a virtual machine. 15GB.. Vista itself uses close to that much. If you really want Windows in a VM, I recommend XP. It is much more forgiving on resource and disk space needs.

Virtualbox cannot do 64-bit guests, yet. VMWare can, but when I tried XP64 as a guest several months ago it didn't run very well. I would not have been able to use it for any kind of actual work.
__________________
-SSZ
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community