ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2008, 01:57 PM   #1
Skyhawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 410
Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

Is it possible to move the files in one folder to another folder using a desktop icon with one click? I need to "move" the files so that the source folder is empty upon completion. I'm running WinXP Pro on a PC.

Hope someone can figure this out since I have to do it periodically and it's such a hassle to do it manually step-by-step. Thanks.
Skyhawk
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 12-28-2008, 02:35 PM   #2
Gorganzola
Moderator
 
Gorganzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,514
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

If it is always the same source folder and the same destination folder then yes this can be done. It'd have to be a double click though, haha.
__________________
TTFN.

I wasn't asleep at the switch, I was drunk. -- Homer J. Simpson

Q. How many dull people does it take to change a lightbulb?

A. One.

A very useful tool on these forums:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


You can
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
in public.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 02:42 PM   #3
Skyhawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 410
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorganzola View Post
If it is always the same source folder and the same destination folder then yes this can be done. It'd have to be a double click though, haha.
Yes, it will always be the same source and destination folders. Could you list the step-by-step procedure to do it?

Thanks,
Skyhawk
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:30 AM   #4
Skyhawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 410
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyhawk View Post
Yes, it will always be the same source and destination folders. Could you list the step-by-step procedure to do it?
Anyone?

=
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:57 AM   #5
Valium
Gotta hav'em :D
 
Valium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Flanders!
Posts: 675
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

Well easiest way I think would be to write a batch file, google for it, you should be able to make it work on your own, it's pretty easy. And to be honest, it'll teach you something and might help you out in the future instead of just copying what somebody else made for you.

Greetz
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:23 AM   #6
DBoone
Just call me Dave
 
DBoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,083
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

I agree. Shouldn't be too hard. If you can't make it work let us know and I'm sure someone will help you out.
__________________
Water cooled rig - Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX750, Sapphire 5570, Asus Rampage III Extreme, Intel Core I7-930, 6GB Corsair Dominator PC3-12800 (DDR3 1600) memory, Windows 7 Pro
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:18 PM   #7
Skyhawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 410
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valium_abx View Post
Well easiest way I think would be to write a batch file, google for it, you should be able to make it work on your own, it's pretty easy. And to be honest, it'll teach you something and might help you out in the future instead of just copying what somebody else made for you.
Greetz
Hi Greetz,

I had already tried that but could not get the DOS move cmd to work just running it from the cmd line. I created two test folders on my data drive h: named test1 and test2. I copied 3 files into folder test1. Here's the command I used:

c:\Documents and Settings\Dad>move h:\test1\*.* h:\test2

Dos would just move the cursor down two lines and redisplay the prompt "c:\Documents and Settings\Dad>" without doing anything. When I opened the two test folders, the 3 files were still in folder "test1" and folder "test2" was still empty. I tried various things for about 10 minutes and it wouldn't work so I posted my question.

I couldn't figure out what I was doing wrong,
Skyhawk
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:20 PM   #8
DBoone
Just call me Dave
 
DBoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,083
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

MS-DOS move command help

Check out that link.
__________________
Water cooled rig - Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX750, Sapphire 5570, Asus Rampage III Extreme, Intel Core I7-930, 6GB Corsair Dominator PC3-12800 (DDR3 1600) memory, Windows 7 Pro
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:22 PM   #9
Skyhawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 410
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyhawk View Post
Hi Greetz,

I had already tried that but could not get the DOS move cmd to work just running it from the cmd line. I created two test folders on my data drive h: named test1 and test2. I copied 3 files into folder test1. Here's the command I used:

c:\Documents and Settings\Dad>move h:\test1\*.* h:\test2

Dos would just move the cursor down two lines and redisplay the prompt "c:\Documents and Settings\Dad>" without doing anything. When I opened the two test folders, the 3 files were still in folder "test1" and folder "test2" was still empty. I tried various things for about 10 minutes and it wouldn't work so I posted my question.

I couldn't figure out what I was doing wrong,
Skyhawk
Well I'll be darned. I powered off for the night and rebooted this morning. The move command above worked. I was able to create a desktop shortcut and move the files. (FWIW, I've been having problems getting icons to appear in the system tray by the clock also. My WinXP Pro seems to be flakey. But that's a subject for another thread if I can't figure it out.)

But now I've run into another problem. I'm having problems with long file names and file names that have a space in them. Here's what I'm trying to do:

I want to move the contents of:

C:\Documents and Settings\Dad\Desktop
-to-
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop

I tried using the ~1 trick like "Docume~1" but can't figure out how to use the ~1 with "All Users".

Any help for this?
Thanks,
Skyhawk
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:25 PM   #10
DBoone
Just call me Dave
 
DBoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,083
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

Go to the site in link I posted. One of their faq sections deals with long file names.

Information about long file names
__________________
Water cooled rig - Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX750, Sapphire 5570, Asus Rampage III Extreme, Intel Core I7-930, 6GB Corsair Dominator PC3-12800 (DDR3 1600) memory, Windows 7 Pro

Last edited by DBoone; 12-30-2008 at 04:32 PM.. Reason: edited to add another link
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:58 PM   #11
Skyhawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 410
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBoone View Post
Go to the site in link I posted. One of their faq sections deals with long file names.

Information about long file names
Using the quotes on the long folder names worked. Got it all to work now and it does it with a single click...

Thanks!
Skyhawk

Last edited by Skyhawk; 12-30-2008 at 07:09 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 08:20 AM   #12
khanshab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

No, it is not possible
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 03:35 PM   #13
Skyhawk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 410
Re: Is it possible to move a folder with one click?

Quote:
Originally Posted by khanshab View Post
No, it is not possible
Already did it.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community