ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2009, 01:44 PM   #1
JBNimble
Renaissance Man
 
JBNimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,875
Internet Slowdown

After an hour or two, my Internet response frequently approaches nonexistent. Rebooting corrects the problem.

System:
Verizon FIOS (Fiber Optics)
Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz
Intel D975XBX2
2GB Corsair Dominator RAM
XP Pro, Service Pack 3
Norton 360 -- latest version, updated continually
CCleaner -- used frequently
System Mechanic 7 -- used frequently
Spybot -- updated and used frequently
Ad-Aware Anniversary -- updated and used frequently

Prime suspects:
Malware undiscovered by all that security software
RAM filling up

Any ideas of the problem of a fix?
How do I check for free RAM? And if it's low, how do I clear it?

Thanks,
Jack
__________________
Rome didn't fall in a day.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 08-18-2009, 02:20 PM   #2
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,053
Re: Internet Slowdown

Have you tried speedtest?
Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test
Norton would be my first suspect.....
Here's a link to a guy who had a problem with Norton
Norton 360 - Slowing down PC - Windows
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 02:26 PM   #3
ctal
Eschews Obfuscation
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 2,443
Re: Internet Slowdown

What browser are you using? I believe that some of the older Netscape/Mozilla/Firefox browsers were known for having "memory leaks."

You can check how much RAM is being used under the Windows Task Manager (hit the "control-alt-delete" keys at the same time), and under that the Performance tab. It might be a good idea to post a screen-shot of that, if any of what it says is not clear to you.

Also, when the symptoms arise look under the Processes tab to see if some process is shown as having a high cpu utilization percentage.

And I second Skully's suggestion that the Norton software be included among the possible suspects.

Regards,
-- Al
__________________
"I didn't say I didn't say it. I said that I didn't say that I said it. I want to make that very clear."
-- George Romney, in 1968, while campaigning for the Republican nomination for President of the United States.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 02:31 PM   #4
JBNimble
Renaissance Man
 
JBNimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,875
Re: Internet Slowdown

Thanks,

Just tried Speedtest:
Download: 4.95 Mb/sec
Upload: 1.82 Mb/sec

I'm using Internet Explorer 7.
More than half of my RAM is free.

This after 45 minutes online, with no slowdown symptoms evident.

I'll have to try this when I'm having problems (which, of course, won't reappear when I want them to).
__________________
Rome didn't fall in a day.

Last edited by JBNimble; 08-18-2009 at 02:35 PM.. Reason: .
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 02:36 PM   #5
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,053
Re: Internet Slowdown

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBNimble View Post
Thanks,

I'm using Internet Explorer 7.

Just tried Speedtest:
Download: 4.95 Mb/sec
Upload: 1.82 Mb/sec

This after 45 minutes online, with no slowdown symptoms evident.

I'll have to try this when I'm having problems (which, of course, won't reappear when I want them to).
You're welcome.....Hope ya find your problem.....
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 02:38 PM   #6
ctal
Eschews Obfuscation
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 2,443
Re: Internet Slowdown

Also try Speakeasy's speed test, selecting the location that is nearest to yours. 5mbps download speed is certainly fast enough to be satisfactory for typical internet usage (other than transferring large files), but is much slower than I would expect from FIOS. But delays in the internet pathways between your location and the speedtest.net server could be limiting the measurement you get from them.

Speakeasy - Speed Test

Regards,
-- Al
__________________
"I didn't say I didn't say it. I said that I didn't say that I said it. I want to make that very clear."
-- George Romney, in 1968, while campaigning for the Republican nomination for President of the United States.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 03:03 PM   #7
JBNimble
Renaissance Man
 
JBNimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,875
Re: Internet Slowdown

ctal,

As I recall, FIOS has a 5MB/sec and a 15MB/sec service.
I chose the slower, cheaper speed.
__________________
Rome didn't fall in a day.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 03:23 PM   #8
ctal
Eschews Obfuscation
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 2,443
Re: Internet Slowdown

Well, I guess it's evolving, and location-dependent. Their website currently shows 15 down/5 up as the lowest price plan:

Verizon | FiOS Internet: Plans

Regards,
-- Al
__________________
"I didn't say I didn't say it. I said that I didn't say that I said it. I want to make that very clear."
-- George Romney, in 1968, while campaigning for the Republican nomination for President of the United States.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 01:50 PM   #9
sansam
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Re: Internet Slowdown

If you need to increase your speed means just try to clear cookies and reset your modem and check cable connections again if you have any problem after that means just try to make speed test on here by use this ip-details site after that you can conclude whats your error ..then you can contact the service provider....
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 06:31 AM   #10
apjhone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Re: Internet Slowdown

Hi, To boost internet speed you can try
1) Clear History using cc cleaner.
2) delete cookies, go to start>run>cookies
3) delete temp files, start?run>temp or %temp%.
4) go to my computer and c>properties>DiskCleanup.

If you don't have internet problem then this will certain help
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 11:33 PM   #11
Md Selim Uddin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Sonapur, Mujibnagar, Meherpur
Posts: 1
Re: Internet Slowdown

@sansam I agree with your comment.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 07:26 AM   #12
barney_jeks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Re: Internet Slowdown

Sometimes the reason of low Internet speed are viruses. Did you check your computer for them?

Last edited by barney_jeks; 05-06-2014 at 04:33 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community