ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2006, 07:54 AM   #61
felix8406
ABXpert
 
felix8406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 3,623
Vista Tip Sheet

You can download a “Vista Tip Sheet” from Microsoft that has a few tips on using Vista. For example it has the following tip; “Folder Navigation = Classic Menus – If need you can return to the classic views just hit the ALT key. However, stay with the Windows Vista default configuration for better productivity.”

Use this link to access the file: http://www.windowsvistatnt.com/
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 11-08-2006, 10:17 AM   #62
Znod
ABXpert
 
Znod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 3,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by felix8406
"... However, stay with the Windows Vista default configuration for better productivity.”
That's MS for you.
__________________
[CENTER][sigpic][/sigpic]

[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"][/COLOR]
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[/CENTER]
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 10:51 AM   #63
felix8406
ABXpert
 
felix8406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 3,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by felix8406
You can download a “Vista Tip Sheet” from Microsoft that has a few tips on using Vista. For example it has the following tip; “Folder Navigation = Classic Menus – If need you can return to the classic views just hit the ALT key. However, stay with the Windows Vista default configuration for better productivity.”

Use this link to access the file: http://www.windowsvistatnt.com/
:sorry: I posted this in the wrong thread. I meant to added to the tips thread. Too late I guess, but I'll added to the tips threads just in case.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 11:00 AM   #64
felix8406
ABXpert
 
felix8406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 3,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by felix8406
Supposedly, Super Talent has made USB Drives designed to take advantage of ReadyBoost. I wonder if they’ll be any faster than a regular USB drive…?

http://www.legitreviews.com/news/2838/
I was wondering if anyone knows anything about Super Talent, and whether or not they own one of their USB drives?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 08:42 PM   #65
felix8406
ABXpert
 
felix8406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 3,623
I'm using a Geek 1GB USB drive and it does not work as ReadyBoost unless I do a quick format. I have use it in three different PCs and five different installation of Vista and every time it had to be reformated. So if your USB drive does not work as ReadyBoost, try reformating it (Quick Format option will do).
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 08:59 PM   #66
Znod
ABXpert
 
Znod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 3,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by felix8406
Supposedly, Super Talent has made USB Drives designed to take advantage of ReadyBoost. I wonder if they’ll be any faster than a regular USB drive…?

http://www.legitreviews.com/news/2838/
Check out this post about what's important in a flash drive in the context of ReadyBoost: http://www.vistababble.com/forums/vi...formation.html
__________________
[CENTER][sigpic][/sigpic]

[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"][/COLOR]
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[/CENTER]
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 10:16 PM   #67
felix8406
ABXpert
 
felix8406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 3,623
I'm running the 1GB on my laptop, which has 512 RAM, so it does make a difference.

As for your birthday, if I remember correctly, you already had a birthday this year. It's almost impossible to have two birthdays in the same year unless your are born on the 1st of January at a specific year.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 10:25 PM   #68
Znod
ABXpert
 
Znod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 3,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by felix8406
I'm running the 1GB on my laptop, which has 512 RAM, so it does make a difference.

Cool. You can actually tell SOP-wise?


As for your birthday, if I remember correctly, you already had a birthday this year. It's almost impossible to have two birthdays in the same year unless your are born on the 1st of January at a specific year.


I have no idea what you are talking about.

Now my post is long enough.
__________________
[CENTER][sigpic][/sigpic]

[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"][/COLOR]
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[/CENTER]
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 12:57 AM   #69
felix8406
ABXpert
 
felix8406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 3,623
Znod, back in July, thread titled " Woooo! Connectivity Probs. Solved & More". Does it ring any bells?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 06:29 AM   #70
crabby
Super Moderator
 
crabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Salisbury, UK
Posts: 2,353
There is talk on this thread of Z's earlier birthday (page 1-3). The queen has 2 birthday's... is Znod the queen?

Felix, could you do some RAM benchmarks etc? So we can see what the difference is? :P

crabby
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 10:26 AM   #71
Znod
ABXpert
 
Znod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 3,136
Oh, I see. I have a birthday whenever something goes well.
__________________
[CENTER][sigpic][/sigpic]

[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"][/COLOR]
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[/CENTER]
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 08:04 PM   #72
felix8406
ABXpert
 
felix8406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 3,623
Has anyone tried using PCMCIA flash hard drive as ReadyBoost?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 10:34 PM   #73
Znod
ABXpert
 
Znod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 3,136
Nope for me--just flash drives and an SD card. Don't know why a PCMCIA wouldn't work though. People are getting all sorts of flash devices to work, but you probably know that.
__________________
[CENTER][sigpic][/sigpic]

[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"][/COLOR]
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
[/CENTER]
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 10:42 AM   #74
felix8406
ABXpert
 
felix8406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 3,623
I have a PCMCIA slot on my laptop that I never use. It would be perfect for PCMCIA flash memory if it works with ReadyBoost. It'll be useful and out of the way. The only thing is that the price is kind on the high side, so I don't want to purchase it unless I know for sure that it'll work.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 02:57 PM   #75
ws6driver
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Usb Hdd

is there a way to setup a usb to use as a secondary harddrive to use for pagefile. or in a sense to take the extra load of one drive?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community