ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2010, 09:48 PM   #1
CarlPo
Leatherneck
 
CarlPo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Allentown, Pa.
Posts: 337
Move O/S Partition To New Drive

Hello Everybody.

I broke down and ordered an Intel SSD today from Newegg. I presently have a Raid0 setup which is split into 2 partitions. Win 7 is installed on the C partition. I would like to clone only that partition to my SSD. Can anybody recommend a process and the software needed to do this.

Thank You.
__________________
Asus P6X58D Premium
I7 980X@4.0
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 12GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
PNY VCQ4000-PB Quadro 4000
Prolimatech Supermega CPU Cooler
CORSAIR Professional Series AX850 850W
LIAN LI PC-8FIR ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Crucial RealSSD C300 128 GB
Western Digital VelociRaptor WD6000HLHX 600GB
Western Digital RE4 WD2003FYYS 2TB
PIONEER BD-RW BDR-206 Burner
Windows 7 64Bit
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 05-21-2010, 11:28 PM   #2
wonderwrench
ABXpert
 
wonderwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mpls MN
Posts: 2,159
Re: Move O/S Partition To New Drive

I wish your question had an easy answer but it does not. There are several variables that may make migrating your existing Windows install to an SSD problematic. Boot problems and or poor performance with your SSD.
Please read these posts.
http://www.abxzone.com/forums/f154/s...ml#post1475976
http://www.abxzone.com/forums/f155/i...ig-120145.html
__________________
Main Box*i7 930 @ 3.5 Ghz*Corsair H60*GA X58A-UD3R R2 FB bios*3x4 gig Patriot DDR3 1600 EL*EVGA GTX 460 1 gig*Intel X25-M G2 80 gig*WD Green WD20EARS 2 TB*ASUS DRW-24B3LT*Samsung SH-S223L*Corsair AX750 PSU*Rosewill Challenger case*Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

HTPC*Intel Q6600*MSI P35 Neo2-FR*4x2 gig Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800*AX5670 1GBD5-NS3H*WD Blue 320 gig*Samsung HD321KA 320 gig*Lite-On iHES208-08 BR combo drive* Corsair CMPSU-400CX*Win 7 pro 64 bit SP1

Good judgment comes from experience, and often experience comes from bad judgment.

Last edited by wonderwrench; 05-21-2010 at 11:36 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 02:19 PM   #3
rickyjohn12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Re: Move O/S Partition To New Drive

I haven't tested this one. In general it's not a good idea to move programs from /Applications elsewhere, especially the Apple installed programs. You can do this by creating symbolic links, but if you miss anything, Software Update may break moved applications. Many third party apps can be placed elsewhere, and if there are problems fixing them may be as simple as using the method of this hint. It may also be necessary to reinstall them to the /Applications folder
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:40 PM   #4
wonderwrench
ABXpert
 
wonderwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mpls MN
Posts: 2,159
Re: Move O/S Partition To New Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyjohn12 View Post
I haven't tested this one. In general it's not a good idea to move programs from /Applications elsewhere, especially the Apple installed programs. You can do this by creating symbolic links, but if you miss anything, Software Update may break moved applications. Many third party apps can be placed elsewhere, and if there are problems fixing them may be as simple as using the method of this hint. It may also be necessary to reinstall them to the /Applications folder
This was an old thread BTW. CarlPo is running a Windows PC not an Mac.
He was asking how to move a complete windows install including both partitions on his raid0 setup to a SSD. If completed successfully which is totally possible, windows all programs and all data would be unaffected.
__________________
Main Box*i7 930 @ 3.5 Ghz*Corsair H60*GA X58A-UD3R R2 FB bios*3x4 gig Patriot DDR3 1600 EL*EVGA GTX 460 1 gig*Intel X25-M G2 80 gig*WD Green WD20EARS 2 TB*ASUS DRW-24B3LT*Samsung SH-S223L*Corsair AX750 PSU*Rosewill Challenger case*Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

HTPC*Intel Q6600*MSI P35 Neo2-FR*4x2 gig Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800*AX5670 1GBD5-NS3H*WD Blue 320 gig*Samsung HD321KA 320 gig*Lite-On iHES208-08 BR combo drive* Corsair CMPSU-400CX*Win 7 pro 64 bit SP1

Good judgment comes from experience, and often experience comes from bad judgment.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 10:04 AM   #5
rjs735
Virus? What I am not sick
 
rjs735's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,032
Re: Move O/S Partition To New Drive

I was wondering if a drive image might not work. The image deals with the data integrity regardless of whether the data is on a logical drive ( raid ) vs areal drive or even a logical partitioned drive.

I've never tried running a image on a raid array as I don't have any but maybe some one who has tried maybe able to answer.
__________________
Giga ga-ep45-ud3p 2.8 E8400 4mb Ram WDC 500Gb
XP pro Win7 32 Win7 64 Virtualpc
Asus P4S8x 2.0 Ghz Celeron Ram 512MB WDC 80GB HD SATA WDC 80GB SATA Memorex DUAL DVD/RW Win98SE/XP pro
Asus P2b-F Cel 450 Ram 256MB W98 SE
Optorite CDRW WD 40GB
Asrock P4combo P4 346 Xp Pro Sp 3 SATA HD SATA DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 XP Media SP2 Sata HD Sata DVD/RW
Foxconn 925EX 550 Xp SP2 Asrock 775Dual 550 Xp pro SP2
IBM T23 1.3hz RAM 512MB XP pro SP2
All systems are networked
Konica Minolta Color Laser Samsung clp-315 Color laser
Dlink 655 Dlink G650 Wireless Dlink DNS-323 1TB NAS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community