ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2011, 10:34 AM   #1
JimTram
Seabees, USN (Retired)
 
JimTram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,170
Ie9

Installed it last night. Very easy dl and install. Seems quicker than IE8. I like the placement of the "favorites" and etc. on the upper right. It's a keeper!
__________________
ASUS Z97-WS Intel i7-4790K air cooled by Noctua NH-U12S/NF-F12
Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD16GX3M2A1866C9
STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5, Dell™ U2413
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB, WD Gold 1TB, ASUS DRW-24B1ST
Corsair 550D Case including 3x120 Corsair SP120 Fans,
Seasonic Prime Platinum 650 PSU
CyberPower CP1350PFCLCD
Ducky One White LED KB Cherry Blue, Logitech MX518
Sennheiser HD280 Pro
Win10 Pro 1703
iPhone 7+ 32GB, iPad 32GB WiFi, iPad 16GB WiFi
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 03-15-2011, 11:34 AM   #2
WolfSoul
Registered User
 
WolfSoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,531
Re: Ie9

Just saw they launched this.. shame bout the bing and msn thing though.. but I haven't installed yet so maybe they let you chooe
__________________
Cooler Master Storm Trooper/Silent Pro Gold 1000 W
Asus Rampage III Extreme - Intel I7-960 - 4 X 4 GB Kingston DDR3-1600
2 X 256GB Samsung 830 - 1 TB WD Velociraptor - 2 X 2 TB WD Caviar Black - 2 TB Seagate Sata III Barracuda
LG BH10LS38 BluRay Burner - Plextor PX-L890SA DVD Burner
Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Champion - Gigabyte GTX 670 WF OC 2GB
Dell U2412M - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround System - Creative Tactic3D Wrath
Logitech G19 Gaming keyboard - Logitech G9X laser Gaming Mouse
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 11:49 AM   #3
WolfSoul
Registered User
 
WolfSoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,531
Re: Ie9

Still same as RC lol Hm and the addon installed for my new Canon printer doesn't work with IE9
I guess they'll make an update when they get to it
__________________
Cooler Master Storm Trooper/Silent Pro Gold 1000 W
Asus Rampage III Extreme - Intel I7-960 - 4 X 4 GB Kingston DDR3-1600
2 X 256GB Samsung 830 - 1 TB WD Velociraptor - 2 X 2 TB WD Caviar Black - 2 TB Seagate Sata III Barracuda
LG BH10LS38 BluRay Burner - Plextor PX-L890SA DVD Burner
Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Champion - Gigabyte GTX 670 WF OC 2GB
Dell U2412M - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround System - Creative Tactic3D Wrath
Logitech G19 Gaming keyboard - Logitech G9X laser Gaming Mouse
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 12:19 PM   #4
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,444
Re: Ie9

Just installed and so far so good, took a few minutes to get it set up the way I like it, lots of options on how to customize to your liking!
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 02:41 PM   #5
JimTram
Seabees, USN (Retired)
 
JimTram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,170
Re: Ie9

They give you a choice upfront not to install it. I use Google!

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfSoul View Post
Just saw they launched this.. shame bout the bing and msn thing though.. but I haven't installed yet so maybe they let you chooe
__________________
ASUS Z97-WS Intel i7-4790K air cooled by Noctua NH-U12S/NF-F12
Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD16GX3M2A1866C9
STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5, Dell™ U2413
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB, WD Gold 1TB, ASUS DRW-24B1ST
Corsair 550D Case including 3x120 Corsair SP120 Fans,
Seasonic Prime Platinum 650 PSU
CyberPower CP1350PFCLCD
Ducky One White LED KB Cherry Blue, Logitech MX518
Sennheiser HD280 Pro
Win10 Pro 1703
iPhone 7+ 32GB, iPad 32GB WiFi, iPad 16GB WiFi
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 08:51 PM   #6
wonderwrench
ABXpert
 
wonderwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mpls MN
Posts: 2,159
Re: Ie9

Cool! If you look closely at the download page there is a link to download a version without Bing and MSN. The link takes you here. I also see MS does not want to link to the full offline installer though an offline installer is available. Looks like the 64 bit version of IE 9 is now the default. This seems strange as the 32 bit version is 4 times faster than the 64 bit version. You can make your own shortcut to run IE 9 32 bit and it works. Weird why MS does not supply the link to run IE 9 32 bit on 64 bit OS's.

Update: The first time IE 9 ran it was the 64 bit version but I now find that both 32 and 64 bit shortcuts are already available in the start menu. The 32 bit shortcut was not created when I installed the beta. Weird. I also removed the links for the offline installers I linked to because the 64 bit installer failed to install on my 64 bit system. Error was this is not compatible with your version of windows or similar.

Bill
__________________
Main Box*i7 930 @ 3.5 Ghz*Corsair H60*GA X58A-UD3R R2 FB bios*3x4 gig Patriot DDR3 1600 EL*EVGA GTX 460 1 gig*Intel X25-M G2 80 gig*WD Green WD20EARS 2 TB*ASUS DRW-24B3LT*Samsung SH-S223L*Corsair AX750 PSU*Rosewill Challenger case*Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

HTPC*Intel Q6600*MSI P35 Neo2-FR*4x2 gig Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800*AX5670 1GBD5-NS3H*WD Blue 320 gig*Samsung HD321KA 320 gig*Lite-On iHES208-08 BR combo drive* Corsair CMPSU-400CX*Win 7 pro 64 bit SP1

Good judgment comes from experience, and often experience comes from bad judgment.

Last edited by wonderwrench; 03-15-2011 at 09:33 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 09:05 PM   #7
PeterT
CUSL2 > Sabertooth Z87
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunny Florida, USA
Posts: 5,232
Re: Ie9

Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderwrench View Post
Cool! If you look closely at the download page there is a link to download a version without Bing and MSN. The link takes you here.

Bill
Thanks Bill.
I already installed it one machine (disabled the Bing add-on), but will use that download for the others.
__________________
Current systems in the house, in chronological order. Mine in bold:
Desktop:
Corsair 550D & AX750, Asus Sabertooth
Z87, i7-4770K, 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, Asus Strix GTX 970 4GB, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
Antec SOLO II, Corsair TX650M, Asus ROG Crossblade Ranger, AMD A10-7890K, 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP 2GB,

Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD
Antec SOLO, Corsair TX650, Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Intel Q9550, 4x2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800,
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1GB, Asus U3S6, Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
Mobile:
Acer Aspire V5-552G-x852, AMD A10-5757M, Radeon 8750M 2GB, 2x4GB DDR3,
Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
Acer Aspire V3-551G-X419, AMD A10-4600M, Radeon 7670M 2GB, 2x4GB Corsair DDR3 1333, Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD

Asus Eee PC 1215B-PU17, AMD E-350, 2x4GB Corsair DDR3 1333, OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 04:29 AM   #8
WolfSoul
Registered User
 
WolfSoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,531
Re: Ie9

Hm I still have the 32 bit version pinned by default
__________________
Cooler Master Storm Trooper/Silent Pro Gold 1000 W
Asus Rampage III Extreme - Intel I7-960 - 4 X 4 GB Kingston DDR3-1600
2 X 256GB Samsung 830 - 1 TB WD Velociraptor - 2 X 2 TB WD Caviar Black - 2 TB Seagate Sata III Barracuda
LG BH10LS38 BluRay Burner - Plextor PX-L890SA DVD Burner
Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Champion - Gigabyte GTX 670 WF OC 2GB
Dell U2412M - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround System - Creative Tactic3D Wrath
Logitech G19 Gaming keyboard - Logitech G9X laser Gaming Mouse
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 07:02 AM   #9
radeonized2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,791
Re: Ie9

I downloaded and installed the stand alone 64bit version and got both 32 and 64 bits on mine.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 03:21 PM   #10
PeterT
CUSL2 > Sabertooth Z87
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunny Florida, USA
Posts: 5,232
Re: Ie9

Where is the Search box that used to be in the upper right corner and how do I get it back?
__________________
Current systems in the house, in chronological order. Mine in bold:
Desktop:
Corsair 550D & AX750, Asus Sabertooth
Z87, i7-4770K, 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, Asus Strix GTX 970 4GB, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
Antec SOLO II, Corsair TX650M, Asus ROG Crossblade Ranger, AMD A10-7890K, 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP 2GB,

Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD
Antec SOLO, Corsair TX650, Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Intel Q9550, 4x2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800,
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1GB, Asus U3S6, Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
Mobile:
Acer Aspire V5-552G-x852, AMD A10-5757M, Radeon 8750M 2GB, 2x4GB DDR3,
Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
Acer Aspire V3-551G-X419, AMD A10-4600M, Radeon 7670M 2GB, 2x4GB Corsair DDR3 1333, Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD

Asus Eee PC 1215B-PU17, AMD E-350, 2x4GB Corsair DDR3 1333, OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 04:05 PM   #11
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,444
Re: Ie9

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterT View Post
Where is the Search box that used to be in the upper right corner and how do I get it back?
Just type in the address bar and click the magnifying glass to search!
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 04:52 PM   #12
radeonized2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,791
Re: Ie9

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfSoul View Post
Hm I still have the 32 bit version pinned by default
Mine says you can not make the 64bit the default when I tried to.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 05:08 PM   #13
PeterT
CUSL2 > Sabertooth Z87
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunny Florida, USA
Posts: 5,232
Re: Ie9

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
Just type in the address bar and click the magnifying glass to search!
Thanks FV. I know that is an option and I've enabled "search from the address bar", but my wife uses IE, liked the search box and wants it back.
I use FF, so I don't really care if it's missing in IE; however I think eliminating the search box was a strange and unwelcome "enhancement". I hope they don't do that in FF 4 as well...
__________________
Current systems in the house, in chronological order. Mine in bold:
Desktop:
Corsair 550D & AX750, Asus Sabertooth
Z87, i7-4770K, 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, Asus Strix GTX 970 4GB, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
Antec SOLO II, Corsair TX650M, Asus ROG Crossblade Ranger, AMD A10-7890K, 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP 2GB,

Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD
Antec SOLO, Corsair TX650, Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Intel Q9550, 4x2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800,
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1GB, Asus U3S6, Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
Mobile:
Acer Aspire V5-552G-x852, AMD A10-5757M, Radeon 8750M 2GB, 2x4GB DDR3,
Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
Acer Aspire V3-551G-X419, AMD A10-4600M, Radeon 7670M 2GB, 2x4GB Corsair DDR3 1333, Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD

Asus Eee PC 1215B-PU17, AMD E-350, 2x4GB Corsair DDR3 1333, OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 07:02 PM   #14
radeonized2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,791
Re: Ie9

I am useing firefox 4 RC and the search bar is still there.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 09:43 PM   #15
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,444
Re: Ie9

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterT View Post
Thanks FV. I know that is an option and I've enabled "search from the address bar", but my wife uses IE, liked the search box and wants it back.
I use FF, so I don't really care if it's missing in IE; however I think eliminating the search box was a strange and unwelcome "enhancement". I hope they don't do that in FF 4 as well...
To be honest I miss the search box also, haven't figured out how to get it back?
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community