ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2011, 03:15 AM   #1
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
New ASUS Motherboard

I bought a new Asus Motherboard. I recently had an intel original motherboard running my dual core 3.4 Ghz. And it was extremely noisy. Now i finally replaced only the motherboard with the same old processor and heatsink and what a world of difference it made. Now the system runs extremely silent. I however have some small roadblocks with the current new motherboard ASUS G41.

I was hoping members here could help me out.

The problem is that the external Modem which i use is connected to the usb port for its power. This is a boon for me as when i have the system doing a download and i set the system to shutdown after the download, the system would shut down and hence also cut off power to the modem. I wont have the modem running all thru the night and warming up unnecessarily.

But now with this new motherboard im perplexed because even though the system shuts down the modem is still being powered and running on till the morning. Is there any windows or BIOS setting i can use to deactivate this feature ? I mean how can a system thats fully shut down still be supplying power to the modem ?

Thanks
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 10-08-2011, 08:48 AM   #2
PeterT
CUSL2 > Sabertooth Z87
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunny Florida, USA
Posts: 5,232
Re: New ASUS Motherboard

Maybe some USB ports remain powered when the system is powered down and others don't? Try a different port.
__________________
Current systems in the house, in chronological order. Mine in bold:
Desktop:
Corsair 550D & AX750, Asus Sabertooth
Z87, i7-4770K, 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, Asus Strix GTX 970 4GB, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
Antec SOLO II, Corsair TX650M, Asus ROG Crossblade Ranger, AMD A10-7890K, 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP 2GB,

Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD
Antec SOLO, Corsair TX650, Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Intel Q9550, 4x2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800,
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1GB, Asus U3S6, Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
Mobile:
Acer Aspire V5-552G-x852, AMD A10-5757M, Radeon 8750M 2GB, 2x4GB DDR3,
Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
Acer Aspire V3-551G-X419, AMD A10-4600M, Radeon 7670M 2GB, 2x4GB Corsair DDR3 1333, Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD

Asus Eee PC 1215B-PU17, AMD E-350, 2x4GB Corsair DDR3 1333, OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:52 AM   #3
radeonized2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,791
Re: New ASUS Motherboard

Update the BIOS?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:11 PM   #4
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: New ASUS Motherboard

Its a new MB. Just 3 days old. So i was sorta reluctant to tamper with the BIOS. But my keyboard is connected to another usb port and that doesnt receive power after the system is off.

Maybe that port isnt receiving power. So maybe a swap of ports should work ? Ill try that right away and report back. Thanks guys.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:56 PM   #5
ctal
Eschews Obfuscation
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 2,443
Re: New ASUS Motherboard

Hi Vik,

Go into the BIOS settings, and within the "Power" related settings you'll probably find something called "APM" (Advanced Power Management), or something like that. Within that there will probably be a setting to enable or disable allowing an external modem to start the computer. If it is presently set to "enable," change the setting to "disable" and that should resolve the problem.

Best regards,
-- Al
__________________
"I didn't say I didn't say it. I said that I didn't say that I said it. I want to make that very clear."
-- George Romney, in 1968, while campaigning for the Republican nomination for President of the United States.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 02:15 AM   #6
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: New ASUS Motherboard

Hey Ctal !!!!! How are you !! Its been a while.

Thanks for the tip. Will try that right away.

Warm Regards
Vik
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 06:56 AM   #7
plainman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 782
Re: New ASUS Motherboard

Hi,

Just an update. I tried both a different port and the bios setting was already at disabled for APM. Both options are still supplying power to the usb port. Thats a pain. Which means ill have to wake up midnights to switch off just the modem. After downloads etc.

Any other bizzare ideas i can try ? Any jumpers on the board or something ?

Thanks
Vik

Last edited by plainman007; 10-12-2011 at 01:47 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 12:14 PM   #8
Drufuss
Registered User
 
Drufuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,185
Re: New ASUS Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by plainman007 View Post
Hi,

Just an update. I tried both a different port and the bios setting was already at disabled for APM. Both options are still supplying power to the usb port. Thats a pain. Which means ill have to wake up midnights to switch off just the modem. After downloads etc.

Any other bizzare ideas i can try ? Any jumpers on the board or something ?

Thanks
Vik
I remember that sometimes there are just BIOS options to enable powered USB-ports when pc is shutdown, and sometimes there are jumpers to be set. IN my case i think there are some jumpers.

Greetings

Dru
__________________
System specs:
Asus Maximus VI Formula (watercooled)
Core i7-4790K 4.00 GHz (watercooled)
4 x 8GB DDR3-Ram PC3-2400 Kingston Beast XMP
3 x Samsung 840 EvoO 1 TB
Gigabyte GeForce GTX970 G1 Gaming (watercooled)
Soundblaster ZxR, Hauppauge HVR4400 DVB-T/S2, Logitech Z-5450 5.1 THX Wireless
Logitech DiNovo MediaDesktop 2.0
Enermax Platimax 750W
Pump: Laing DDC2
Radiator: Watercool Mo-Ra 3 420
Case: Cooltek Antiphon
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit retail

CUSL2-C ruled! ..äh... RulEd!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Time flies like an arrow,
fruit flies like a banana.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 08:34 AM   #9
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,097
Re: New ASUS Motherboard

You can try disabling Legacy USB or try setting your wake state to S0 in BIOS.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community