ABXZone Computer  Forums

Old 03-18-2013, 03:12 PM   #1
Shadow_Raven

New to Windows 7 - questions & rants

I have been using my desktop pc with windows XP for about 10 years now. Just before Christmas, my pc developed some fault which causes the pc to randomly reboot. (If I'm lucky, it's still usable the first time, if not, it reboots 2 or 3 times more and then it won't detect the boot drive.) So I started to look at laptops, did my research and bought one. I have the laptop for about 3.5 weeks and I have been configuring it during that time. It has windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit on it (this is my first laptop and my first time using windows 7).

At first I was having some problems adjusting to the differences of windows 7 from XP. I was not liking those differences. In XP you could find things and reconfigure them to the way you want. In 7, for some reason, Microsoft is now 'hiding' things, making it difficult to find stuff. I had to search for information online in order to find where Microsoft hid this or that and very quickly it became very annoying. For instance, I had to find where my Start menu was and where the default user start menu was to reconfigure them. Stuff like that was easily found in XP and now 'hidden' in 7. I also do not like the concept of 'Libraries' and virtual folders where the OS sticks files in. I want to turn that off - I don't know if that is possible. I like to organize my data and know the exact folder location of where it is and organize the files and folders the way I want.