ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2013, 09:40 AM   #1
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,413
Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Can you guys who have W 8.1 check and see if your automatically running optimize my ssd when its set to run daily? I have mine set to run daily (thank you Skully) but when I check it says hasn't been done in days (sometimes) so I have to run it manually?
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 12-29-2013, 11:12 AM   #2
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,057
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Hey Ken, I just checked mine and it reads optimized 12-28-2013 yesterday.
I've never found my RAID-O at the end of a day not optimized. My RAID-O
has always been TRIM'ed daily with W-8.1...
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 04:58 PM   #3
Griff
Registered User
 
Griff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Smithers BC, Canada
Posts: 8,435
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
Can you guys who have W 8.1 check and see if your automatically running optimize my ssd when its set to run daily? I have mine set to run daily (thank you Skully) but when I check it says hasn't been done in days (sometimes) so I have to run it manually?
Mine is not optimizing daily either, I have to do it manually too. What is the trick to have it done daily?
__________________
Obsidian 550 Corsair Case
Asus Motherboard P8Z77-V PRO
Intel i7-3770K Unlocked
Arctic Cooling Freezer 13
Mushkin Redline 4x8 32GB DDR 1600 CAS 8
Asus GeForce GTX 660 OC DirectCU 1020MHZ 2GB 6.0GHZ
Samsung 840 EVO SSD For O/S
SilverStone Strider 750W Modular
LG BlueRay Burner
Seagate1TB SATA for Photos
USB 3.0 Hitachi 350 GB for Data
USB 3.0 Seagate Free Go for Back up
Built in Card Read
Win10 Pro
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 05:32 PM   #4
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,413
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Griff View Post
Mine is not optimizing daily either, I have to do it manually too. What is the trick to have it done daily?
Thanks Jerry I would like to know that one too???????????????
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 05:44 PM   #5
Griff
Registered User
 
Griff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Smithers BC, Canada
Posts: 8,435
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
Thanks Jerry I would like to know that one too???????????????

I had a look here and made a change or two. Will see what happens tomorrow when I check it. Will let you know.

Windows 8.1 SSD Settings, Etc. » TweakHound
__________________
Obsidian 550 Corsair Case
Asus Motherboard P8Z77-V PRO
Intel i7-3770K Unlocked
Arctic Cooling Freezer 13
Mushkin Redline 4x8 32GB DDR 1600 CAS 8
Asus GeForce GTX 660 OC DirectCU 1020MHZ 2GB 6.0GHZ
Samsung 840 EVO SSD For O/S
SilverStone Strider 750W Modular
LG BlueRay Burner
Seagate1TB SATA for Photos
USB 3.0 Hitachi 350 GB for Data
USB 3.0 Seagate Free Go for Back up
Built in Card Read
Win10 Pro
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 05:58 PM   #6
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,413
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Thanks Jerry!
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:05 PM   #7
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,110
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Hey guys, I discussed this in another thread so you may have already read it (link at Tweakhound, WinSAT).

I already advised you to run WinSAT which determines you have an SSD and makes appropriate changes. It may run automatically for the first time after you install win8.1 but if you went from win8 to win8.1 you need to run it.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:58 PM   #8
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,413
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandog View Post
Hey guys, I discussed this in another thread so you may have already read it (link at Tweakhound, WinSAT).

I already advised you to run WinSAT which determines you have an SSD and makes appropriate changes. It may run automatically for the first time after you install win8.1 but if you went from win8 to win8.1 you need to run it.
I installed 8.1 and I still have this problem, it wasn't a upgrade.
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 11:20 PM   #9
Griff
Registered User
 
Griff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Smithers BC, Canada
Posts: 8,435
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
I installed 8.1 and I still have this problem, it wasn't a upgrade.

I also installed 8.1 did not upgrade.
__________________
Obsidian 550 Corsair Case
Asus Motherboard P8Z77-V PRO
Intel i7-3770K Unlocked
Arctic Cooling Freezer 13
Mushkin Redline 4x8 32GB DDR 1600 CAS 8
Asus GeForce GTX 660 OC DirectCU 1020MHZ 2GB 6.0GHZ
Samsung 840 EVO SSD For O/S
SilverStone Strider 750W Modular
LG BlueRay Burner
Seagate1TB SATA for Photos
USB 3.0 Hitachi 350 GB for Data
USB 3.0 Seagate Free Go for Back up
Built in Card Read
Win10 Pro
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 06:39 AM   #10
Pentium4
Registered User
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 393
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
Can you guys who have W 8.1 check and see if your automatically running optimize my ssd when its set to run daily? I have mine set to run daily
(thank you Skully) but when I check it says hasn't been done in days (sometimes) so I have to run it manually?
Mine defaults to optimize on a weekly basis, but it never does I checked it this morning, and it's showing it hasn't been done in 28 days, but I always
do mine manually after my regular format, and reinstall to make sure both partitions are as good as they can be
__________________
INTEL INSIDE
* Gigabyte GA-Z97X-G7 * Intel i7 4790K * G.Skill 2400MHz TridentX 16Gb DDR3 (10-12-12-31-1T) *
* Samsung U28D590 28" 4K Monitor * Palit GTX780 VGA (967/6010) * Samsung 850PRO 1TB SSD *
* LG CH12LS28 Blu-ray Optical Drive * CM Xornet II Gaming Mouse * Onboard 5.1 Surround Audio *
* Logitech K200 Keyboard * Tt VersaII Mid-Tower Case * SeaSonic XP1000W PSU (100% Modular) *
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 09:00 AM   #11
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,413
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentium4 View Post
Mine defaults to optimize on a weekly basis, but it never does I checked it this morning, and it's showing it hasn't been done in 28 days, but I always
do mine manually after my regular format, and reinstall to make sure both partitions are as good as they can be
Thanks for the input, the scheduler doesn't seem to be working? I unchecked all drives to be optimized and just checked C drive, I'll see if that makes a difference.
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 03:08 PM   #12
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,413
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Well so far nothing, says its been 3 days since it ran....
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Online)   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 11:53 PM   #13
Griff
Registered User
 
Griff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Smithers BC, Canada
Posts: 8,435
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fvbounty View Post
Well so far nothing, says its been 3 days since it ran....

Mine has not run in the last 30hrs since I changed a few settings.
__________________
Obsidian 550 Corsair Case
Asus Motherboard P8Z77-V PRO
Intel i7-3770K Unlocked
Arctic Cooling Freezer 13
Mushkin Redline 4x8 32GB DDR 1600 CAS 8
Asus GeForce GTX 660 OC DirectCU 1020MHZ 2GB 6.0GHZ
Samsung 840 EVO SSD For O/S
SilverStone Strider 750W Modular
LG BlueRay Burner
Seagate1TB SATA for Photos
USB 3.0 Hitachi 350 GB for Data
USB 3.0 Seagate Free Go for Back up
Built in Card Read
Win10 Pro
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 11:23 PM   #14
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,110
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

Anybody ever check disk optimization dates on your SSD and run it manually if it is past due?
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 11:58 PM   #15
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,057
Re: Is W8.1 Automatically running Trim?

I just check mine once in awhile, and most cases its right up to snuff...
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community