ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2014, 01:22 AM   #16
chasus
Registered User
 
chasus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 189
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

To save energy, Haswell CPUs, under C6 and C7 states, draw very little current/voltage/power. The draw is so low that some PSUs would mistake that as an under-voltage abnormal condition. Some would just restart and some would 'lock-up' (until you reset the power switch of the PSU).

So, Intel told mobo manufacturers to disable (by default) the C6/C7 states in the BIOS. I suppose most would follow this instruction. I checked Maximus VI Gene's manual and it says it is 'Auto' by default. Other options are 'Enabled' and various C-states choices.

I suggest you just use the HX620 and see if there is a problem. There might not be any. If there is a problem, you can then disable C6/C7 manually in the BIOS while keeping C0/C3.

As the front fan intakes 54CFM, it cannot keep up with the Hyper 212 EVO stock fan's 83CFM (when needed), not mentioning the other components' need. This means, the case will likely become a 'negative' pressure case (ie air is being drawn into the case through all the crevices and openings, making the case gets dustier quicker. So do the cleaning more frequently). As you are already over the budget, a newer case with better airflow is out of the question. Perhaps a higher airflow fan as the front case intake fan as the next upgrade is an easier goal to achieve next.

3D printing? Post some of your products up here, if you do not mind.
__________________
Asus Sabertooth Z87 * Intel i7 4770K * Thermalright Archon SB-E X2 TY-143 * Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY16GX3M2A1866C9 2x8GB* Gigabyte GTX780 Ti OC WF3X * Samsung 840 Pro 256GB * Intel X-25M G2 80GB (x2)* WD Black 2TB * Asus 24D3ST * Corsair AX860i * Banchetto 101 * Dell U3011 * Win 7 Pro x64 * assorted accessories
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 02-13-2014, 11:33 PM   #17
iMogal
Zoom Zoom...
 
iMogal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,226
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

Well, I got everything installed tonight!
But unfortunately, the system wont power up.
I have power, but it just cycles on/off quickly.
Not even enough time to through any codes/beeps...

So, I presume I will have to get a new power supply... sigh.
__________________

SilverStone TJ-08
MAXIMUS VI GENE mATX
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
2x4Gb G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-8GTX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-2400 CL10
OCZ Vertex 3 - 128Gb
WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Radeon HD 7950 GPU
Corsair HX620 Modular PSU
Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW (x2)
Monsoon MM-700 2.1 Speakers
__________________
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 12:05 AM   #18
chasus
Registered User
 
chasus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 189
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

Do the paper clip test.

Read post#1252 to remind how to do it.
Asus Sabertooth Z87 - Page 84 - ABXZone Computer Forums

Quick cycles of on/off could mean there is some shorting somewhere and the PSU is trying to powerup but kept being shorted.

Edit 1:
Also clear CMOS and use just 1 memory stick for diagnosis.
__________________
Asus Sabertooth Z87 * Intel i7 4770K * Thermalright Archon SB-E X2 TY-143 * Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY16GX3M2A1866C9 2x8GB* Gigabyte GTX780 Ti OC WF3X * Samsung 840 Pro 256GB * Intel X-25M G2 80GB (x2)* WD Black 2TB * Asus 24D3ST * Corsair AX860i * Banchetto 101 * Dell U3011 * Win 7 Pro x64 * assorted accessories

Last edited by chasus; 02-14-2014 at 12:14 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:17 AM   #19
iMogal
Zoom Zoom...
 
iMogal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,226
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

just a quick note!
The new setup is running!

I'll post more details tonight!
__________________

SilverStone TJ-08
MAXIMUS VI GENE mATX
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
2x4Gb G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-8GTX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-2400 CL10
OCZ Vertex 3 - 128Gb
WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Radeon HD 7950 GPU
Corsair HX620 Modular PSU
Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW (x2)
Monsoon MM-700 2.1 Speakers
__________________
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:23 AM   #20
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,428
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

Glad you figured out the problem, keep us informed.
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 02:33 PM   #21
iMogal
Zoom Zoom...
 
iMogal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,226
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

Hi again!
Seems my problems had something to do with the front USB ports...
I unplugged them, and the system was able to power up!
I guess this is shared with the ROG extension... I'll have to see if there is a BIOS option for that...
I'd like to get USB3 up front anyways, so now I'm trying to track down that 20-1 pin connecter.

Computer instantly recognized all the hardware, and the driver installs was painless.
I do need to do a full re-install of Win7. Its asking for activation again
BUT!
It seems there is only ONE processer! Not 4(8) cores.
- as seen under the performance tab of task manager
- can only access one core under Asus's CPUz

The memory at boot up was 1333mhz, but a quick BIOS check and was running at 2400Mhz!

No OC'ing yet, not sure if I'll have to!

EVERYTHING is quicker, including the SSD (SATA2 vs SATA3)
Just need to get all the cores working! (BIOS option?)
__________________

SilverStone TJ-08
MAXIMUS VI GENE mATX
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
2x4Gb G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-8GTX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-2400 CL10
OCZ Vertex 3 - 128Gb
WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Radeon HD 7950 GPU
Corsair HX620 Modular PSU
Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW (x2)
Monsoon MM-700 2.1 Speakers
__________________
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 07:13 PM   #22
chasus
Registered User
 
chasus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 189
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

Quote:
Originally Posted by iMogal View Post
It seems there is only ONE processer! Not 4(8) cores.
- as seen under the performance tab of task manager
- can only access one core under Asus's CPUz

Just need to get all the cores working! (BIOS option?)

While you are at the Performance tab of Task Manager, click the 'View' tab and under 'CPU History', choose 'One graph per CPU'.

You should then be able to see all 8 graphs.
(If you see only 4 graphs, then Hyperthreading is likely disabled in the BIOS)


Quote:
Originally Posted by iMogal View Post
had something to do with the front USB ports
Your case's USB ports are definitely not USB 3.0. So, you should not connect the mobo's USB 3.0 headers to the ports of the case.
__________________
Asus Sabertooth Z87 * Intel i7 4770K * Thermalright Archon SB-E X2 TY-143 * Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY16GX3M2A1866C9 2x8GB* Gigabyte GTX780 Ti OC WF3X * Samsung 840 Pro 256GB * Intel X-25M G2 80GB (x2)* WD Black 2TB * Asus 24D3ST * Corsair AX860i * Banchetto 101 * Dell U3011 * Win 7 Pro x64 * assorted accessories

Last edited by chasus; 02-14-2014 at 07:23 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 07:26 PM   #23
fvbounty
Registered User
 
fvbounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alameda Ca
Posts: 20,428
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

Look in device manager it should show 4 or 8 with hyper threading enabled!
__________________
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX, Intel I7 7820K Cooled by Noctua NH D15S, 32 Gigs Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4A2666C15, Asus GTX 980 TI Strix, Samsung 950 Pro 512 Gig NVMe SSD W10 PRO, Samsung 840 EVO 500 gig data, 1 TB WD Black data, Corsair 540 case with Corsair HXi750 PS, Dell UltraSharp U3415W 34" monitor, Ducky Shine 5 RGB Keyboard, Mionix Naos 7000 mouse, AudioEngine A5+ Speakers driven by Asus Xonar U7 MKII USB sound card, AKG 7XX Red Limited Edition Headphones ....and some other stuff!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 07:28 PM   #24
iMogal
Zoom Zoom...
 
iMogal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,226
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

H,i it turns out it was an Windows issue!
- I was/am lazy, and just changed out the hardware without a reinstall of the OS
So windows was still thinking I had the dual core.

So after a BIOS flash from 0804 to 1301 and some google searches, this turned up:
howto-get-windows-7-to-detect-your-new-multi-core

Now Win7 is seeing all the cores, and the system is FASTER again!

WEI:
Old system : New system
CPU - 6.8 : 7.8
Mem - 7.0 : 7.9
Graph - 7.9 : 7.9
Game - 7.9 : 7.9
HDD - 7.1 : 7.9

This is still all stock speeds with no OC.
- Although the RAM is at 2400Mhz(but it 2400Mhz ram afterall)
Mem Clocks: 11.13.13.35.1T

Time to go play for a bit and see what my temps run up to.
I think I will be taking your advise on that front case fan.
I just NEED a quiet one.
__________________

SilverStone TJ-08
MAXIMUS VI GENE mATX
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
2x4Gb G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-8GTX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-2400 CL10
OCZ Vertex 3 - 128Gb
WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Radeon HD 7950 GPU
Corsair HX620 Modular PSU
Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW (x2)
Monsoon MM-700 2.1 Speakers
__________________
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 09:37 PM   #25
iMogal
Zoom Zoom...
 
iMogal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,226
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

After an hour of playing...
max temps:
Core #0 - 70
Core #1 - 68
Core #2 - 69
Core #3 - 69
Package - 70

Vid - 71

I would think these are acceptable?!
I will still replace the front fan when I can though.

Thanks for your help!

P.S. I tried the 4 way optimization (asus OC) but it ened in an endless loop of reboots trying to reach 4.2ghz...
I'll try some manual overclocking later...
__________________

SilverStone TJ-08
MAXIMUS VI GENE mATX
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
2x4Gb G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-8GTX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-2400 CL10
OCZ Vertex 3 - 128Gb
WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Radeon HD 7950 GPU
Corsair HX620 Modular PSU
Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW (x2)
Monsoon MM-700 2.1 Speakers
__________________
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 10:15 PM   #26
chasus
Registered User
 
chasus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 189
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

Acceptable? Yes and maybe.

Yes in the sense that 70C is not too high for the CPU under load.
However, it also depends on what you meant by 'playing'.
Do you mean by playing some games? Which games?
And what are the idle temp and ambient temp?

Perhaps it is better to use some standard benchmarks to test the CPU so that the result can be easily compared with others. Actually, both the temp and stability can be confirmed more easily.

For reference, my 4770K at stock has a range of 58-60C temp after 15 minutes of OCCT (ambient temp 26C), under a Thermalright Archon SB-E x2.

Regarding upgrading the case front fan, you can do a quick assessment by removing the side panel of the case (and maybe pointing a fan to it). This should highly alleviate an insufficient supply of fresh air, if any. So, if you see a noticeable thermal improvement of the CPU core temp, then this indicates replacing the case front fan with a higher CFM is a good move.

For 4-way optimization, I do not have experience and cannot comment. But manual overclocking is always there (and it can produce 'tighter' voltages too) but it just needs a lot of time.
__________________
Asus Sabertooth Z87 * Intel i7 4770K * Thermalright Archon SB-E X2 TY-143 * Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY16GX3M2A1866C9 2x8GB* Gigabyte GTX780 Ti OC WF3X * Samsung 840 Pro 256GB * Intel X-25M G2 80GB (x2)* WD Black 2TB * Asus 24D3ST * Corsair AX860i * Banchetto 101 * Dell U3011 * Win 7 Pro x64 * assorted accessories
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 11:53 PM   #27
iMogal
Zoom Zoom...
 
iMogal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,226
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

Alright...
I'm starting to understand my new computer

DISCLAIMER:
This is the first computer build is 6+ yrs and re-learning this!

When I started all this, I let the Asus software auto-config and control everything.
now, that I have gone through a little more of it, I've got some things changed up.
Thanks chasus, I wouldn't be doing this if it wasn't for you!
And have my fans in Auto, but at my settings...

-----

So 'my' gameplay is pretty light... I have the "The Next car game' , 'Castle Story' and 'Kingdoms of Amalur'
the temps as per previous post(with Asus's auto fan settings) House Temp at ~20c

I downloaded and ran OCCT and temps quickly shot up to over 85+ so I stopped it.
Started playing with the fan settings, and now after 30 mins of running OCCT, Temps are at ~70.

Now having saying all that, those temps are reported with CPUID Hardware Monitor.
through Asus's AI Suit, temps fluctuated around 52/54c.

What software do you use to read your temps?

Been at idle(after running OCCT) for 15/20 mins and temps are reported as: 37 through CPUID
and 33 through Asus's software.
__________________

SilverStone TJ-08
MAXIMUS VI GENE mATX
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
2x4Gb G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-8GTX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-2400 CL10
OCZ Vertex 3 - 128Gb
WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Radeon HD 7950 GPU
Corsair HX620 Modular PSU
Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW (x2)
Monsoon MM-700 2.1 Speakers
__________________
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 12:19 AM   #28
iMogal
Zoom Zoom...
 
iMogal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,226
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

ok, now with same gameplay as before... temps are 48/50c
(insted of the 70c as before)
With minimal noise increase.
__________________

SilverStone TJ-08
MAXIMUS VI GENE mATX
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
2x4Gb G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-8GTX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-2400 CL10
OCZ Vertex 3 - 128Gb
WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Radeon HD 7950 GPU
Corsair HX620 Modular PSU
Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW (x2)
Monsoon MM-700 2.1 Speakers
__________________
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 12:42 AM   #29
iMogal
Zoom Zoom...
 
iMogal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,226
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

LOL I had to google your heatsink...
This is what it would look like on my board!
What a monster! LOL
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 22_sborka_big.jpg (425.3 KB, 5 views)
__________________

SilverStone TJ-08
MAXIMUS VI GENE mATX
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
2x4Gb G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-8GTX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-2400 CL10
OCZ Vertex 3 - 128Gb
WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Radeon HD 7950 GPU
Corsair HX620 Modular PSU
Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW (x2)
Monsoon MM-700 2.1 Speakers
__________________
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 01:03 AM   #30
iMogal
Zoom Zoom...
 
iMogal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,226
Re: NEW BUILD: ASUS Maximus VI Gene

Here's some pics of the new setup
Attached Images
File Type: jpg one.jpg (459.4 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg two.jpg (458.1 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg three.jpg (512.7 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg four.jpg (403.3 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg five.jpg (508.5 KB, 3 views)
__________________

SilverStone TJ-08
MAXIMUS VI GENE mATX
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
2x4Gb G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-8GTX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-2400 CL10
OCZ Vertex 3 - 128Gb
WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Radeon HD 7950 GPU
Corsair HX620 Modular PSU
Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW (x2)
Monsoon MM-700 2.1 Speakers
__________________
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community