ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2017, 06:24 PM   #1
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,118
Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX

ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX | Motherboards | ASUS USA


Pre-order:
ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX - motherboard - extended ATX - LGA2066 Socket - X2 - ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX - Motherboards/Chassis - CDW.com
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 08-23-2017, 11:34 PM   #2
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,063
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

Thanks, yea it gives me sweaty hands, I need me fix...
An APEX fix... I tell ya...
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 12:23 PM   #3
XJ.
Registered User
 
XJ.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA-NH
Posts: 8,429
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

Nice mobo, definitely the one to get for Skylake-X overclocking. I'm sure the price on that board would make my wallet sweat
__________________
Asus P6T V2 Deluxe Ci7 970 @ 4.0GHz w/HT, Corsair H100i, 2x240GB SanDisk Extreme RAID0, 1x WD VR 150GB,
MSI GTX 680 PE @ 1110MHz, 12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, Corair 850HX, Corsair 800D case. Win10 Pro x64. Dell U2412M.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 12:43 PM   #4
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,063
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

Hey AJ, yea its a deep pocket mobo for sure...
The PRIME X299 Deluxe I have now is running well @ 49mhz oc.
I have the heat beast tamed pretty much on it...
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 07:40 PM   #5
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,118
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

It should fall close to $400 whereas the RV10E was close to $600.

I would feel secure having this board to house Skylake-X and that is without OCing. I like the board because it looks neat and sort of sparse and the heat sinks look like heat sinks and are not too flamboyant.

The reason why I started this thread is I am interested in the i7-7820X.

Intel Coreâ„¢ i7-7820X X-series Processor (11M Cache, up to 4.30 GHz) Product Specifications

This processor did not interest me at first after reading of all the high wattage required for Skylake-X but I have done a little research. This processor will do 4.5GHz on 2 cores stock. It is rated at 4.3 but it will do 4.5GHz on the 2 best cores. Also there is no driver required for it to do this like Broadwell-E. That intrigues me to have an 8-core with HT and it does 4.5GHz stock. I rarely use more than 1 core and no more than 2 cores for all the stuff I run (games). I would be very happy with that. Also reviews at NE state that without OCing, this CPU hits in the 70's C under load and with lesser coolers than I have. That is acceptable to me. Also, this CPU runs at DDR4-2666. That is a nice stopping point for DDR IMO and I have always wanted to run at that speed. Long ago I learned 2666 is as high as the 100MHz bus can go. After that you need to go to 125MHz. Also tests have shown that above DDR-2133 there is no big advantage but at 2666 there comes a slight advantage and then another slight advantage at 3200 and that is it. Add that this processor only costs $599 and it all makes me super intrigued.

So, the i7-7820X has led me to this mobo. It is the only one I would trust ATT for Skylake-X. I am reassured from reading about it, the heat sinks, and the 2x8pin CPU power connectors. I also like the RAM setup. I would not miss the other 4 DIMM's at all. The memory traces are more optimized and so are the slots for the M.2 cards. In fact the M.2 cards are now using the other DIMM traces. I would like to learn more about what is required to implement RAID on two M.2 cards. Maybe Skully can tell me. I found these.

Premium SM951 SM961 950PRO XP9410 M.2 SSD Cooling Heatsink (Black) - modDIY.com

I think they would be adequate instead of active cooling. If you were to use a fan with the ASUS card I hope ASUS was smart enough to provide a fan header for it on the card.

I am still working on paying off my last weekly upgrade lol but if I got lucky I could practically trade out my current CPU, mobo, SSD for this above and two new 960 Pro's.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 07:54 PM   #6
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,118
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

I searched CPU boss and other processor compare sites and the Skylake-e has a decent lead over Haswell-E. I am still considering it for now.

Also, I started this thread and it was impossible to have caps in the title. That is something else that needs to be added to the fix-it list.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 05:59 PM   #7
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,118
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

On sale all over.

ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX LGA 2066 Intel X299 SATA 6Gbs USB 3.1 USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 07:03 PM   #8
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,063
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

Ouch!!! that really hurts...
Now if that was MC I'd be elated...
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 07:18 PM   #9
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,063
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

The RAID bios in the X299 mobo's is in the OS bios.
Thats why there is no slow down in boot time, a nice feature.
Also its easy to setup RAID-O, its an easy 3 step deal. Best
you read the manual on RAID when and if ya get the APEX.
And if ya do have any questions when ya get the APEX. I'll
be glad to answer... I talked to one of the MC guys to see
if they would go ahead, and order the APEX, and that I'd take it
for sure, said he'd look into it...
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2017, 10:02 AM   #10
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,118
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

Thats news to me that RAID is all taken care of in BIOS. I haven't used RAID since I can remember. I would like that. The placement of the two M.2 slots next to the CPU is fascinating. I think ASUS is prepping for OPTANE devices IMO. Being so close to the CPU and substituting for DRAM, the trace path is almost 100% optimized for the M.2 slots. It can only help performance if you put drives there. There is not a lot of explanation on the ASUS website.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2017, 11:25 AM   #11
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,063
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

Yea I concur with you about the M.2 slots. They are very well placed.
After using RAID bios separate from the os bios for years. This
is really nice feature...
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2017, 12:51 PM   #12
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,118
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

The APEX is a neat board. It is really geared toward every one of the new X CPU's. It has the regulator kahunas to power the 8 thru 18 core Skylake-X CPU's and the lesser memory module space for the dual-memory channel 4-core Kabylake-X CPU's. I think this board came out with a lower price range for people who want to run with the $200 quad core CPU's. Never-the-less it still has decent power delivery, great Intel NIC, and great audio. All you need! The RVE10 I am using came with the kitchen sink and sprinkles on top and I am using hardly any of it.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2017, 08:01 PM   #13
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,118
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

Skully you might want to study the APEX hard before you buy. It can only do one video card and two M.2 slots.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2017, 12:19 PM   #14
Sandog
Moderator
 
Sandog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18,118
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

The deal is with the APEX mobo you can only use the two DIMM M.2 slots near the CPU if you have a 44 PCI lane CPU. The only CPU that has that is the 7900X and future CPU's.

The 28 PCI lane 7820X can only support 1 DIMM M.2 slot near the CPU and the lower Kaby Lake X CPU's can support zero DIMM M.2 slots. Therefore, you can only do RAID with the 7900X.

Capture.JPG
__________________
Windows 10 Pro / Corsair 760T Arctic White / ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX / Intel i7-7820X / ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS / Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition 32GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 / SeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium / ASUS ROG SWIFT PG348Q / Intel Optane SSD 900P 480GB / Samsung 850 Pro 1TB / Ducky YoTS / ASUS ROG GLADIUS II / ASUS Essence STX / Audioengine HDP6, N22, S8 / AKG K712 PRO


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Sandog; 08-27-2017 at 12:25 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2017, 01:07 PM   #15
Sir Skully
ABX Knight
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA-GA
Posts: 41,063
Re: Asus rog rampage vi apex

Thanks Sandog, that's some good info, but I believe that all I'll need,
is support of one video card, and two M.2, for RAID-0. I'm done with SLI.
An one RAID-O with two 960 PRO's, is good enough for me. What I'm
wondering now is, will I also be able to use a PCI slot for my Intel 750,
as a storage card, as I do now. I haven't had time to look into that.
I've been reinstalling W-10, RAID-O, and fine tuning the RAID.
I finally have the RAID-0 where I want it, best numbers yet. Will post
in appropriate thread...
__________________
ROG RAMPAGE VI APEX
i9-7900X... EK water cooled
ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 ti
VENGEANCE® RGB 32GB
OPTANE SSD-9 480G
SAMSUNG PRO 960 1tb M.2
MountainMods UFO case
Corsair 1200i watt psu
SAMSUNG 34" curved monitor
AudioEngine speakers
Ducky keyboard
ROG SPATHA gaming mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Sir Skully; 08-27-2017 at 03:01 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community