ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2002, 08:47 PM   #1
Racer78
Northwood Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burlington, NY
Posts: 51
P4T-E How t update to 1005e with a northwood

My P4T-E came with 1004. I Found that by going to jumper mode and setting the jumpers for my cpu i was able to boot and flash the bios to 1005e. I then reset back to jumperless.

Keith
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 01-24-2002, 08:48 PM   #2
Racer78
Northwood Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burlington, NY
Posts: 51
P4T-E How do you install drivers for 850 chipset?

I can't seem to get them to install from my Asus CD> Thanks


Keith
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2002, 09:29 PM   #3
myckee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 105
Now you tell me there is a way to flash it...after a big pain in the *** it cost me to eventually get it done with a 'willy'.

Well I'm using windows XP and the drivers are already there. I didn't need to use the supplied disk.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2002, 09:56 PM   #4
Racer78
Northwood Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burlington, NY
Posts: 51
I figured it out by trying it with nothing to lose

Darn Mwave said they would flash it to 1005! We will be chatting


Keith
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2002, 06:42 AM   #5
Miles
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,617
Thumbs up

That's a great piece of news Racer78:eek: I'm glad to see someone from this forum figured it out Did I hear someone say:
ASUSBOARDS.COM & RACER78 RULE
__________________
Regards,


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Miles
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

________________________________

Intel 4690k| ASUS Z97 sabertooth| 16GB Kingston DDR3|ASUS GTX 970|Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD | 1 - Seagate 2 TB Barracuda ES | Seasonic 650 watt Gold PSU|Fractal Design Arc Midi rev 2| Windows 7 64-bit Professional | Eizo CX-241
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2002, 07:28 AM   #6
Racer78
Northwood Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burlington, NY
Posts: 51
Thank you
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2002, 08:20 AM   #7
bobmitch
Registered User
 
bobmitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: TX
Posts: 891
That is GREAT news! Wish I knew that on 1/11. No harm anyway...bought from my shop and the tech was already aware of the problem and had a "Willy" ready to go. Been running the 2.0a ever since...great processor.

Bob
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2002, 06:26 AM   #8
David Rolfe
Registered User
 
David Rolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 522
Question Core Voltage?

That sounds good, but I didn't think the jumpers let you actually redefine a lower core voltage, which I though was a requirement for the Northwood (and one of the main reasons for the BIOS upgrade)?

Thanks,

-David-
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2002, 06:58 AM   #9
k0NG0
Remembering TQ
 
k0NG0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13,749
Welcome to AsusBoards.com David!!

The computer will always apply the default voltage that is indicated by the VID (Voltage Identification Definition) on the CPU at POST, so there is no risk for it applying too high a voltage to the Northwood, since the Willamette shares the same VID specification with the Northwood.

-kONGO
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2002, 08:59 AM   #10
Racer78
Northwood Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burlington, NY
Posts: 51
I get lucky sometimes. Realy i hated the prospect of pulling the Willy out of my friends computer.

I mean really, how do i get it over here? "Hey dude, better bring your box over so i can check the artic silver on your Willy"


Later All,


Keith
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2002, 07:12 AM   #11
David Rolfe
Registered User
 
David Rolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 522
Question Jumper settings?

Hi kONGO,

Thanks for your reply, and for welcoming me to the site!

Could you, or some other kind person, possibly advise me of the appropriate jumper settings required to let me boot up my new P4T-E (BIOS 03) fitted with a 2A GHz Northwood, so that I can update the BIOS to the latest Version 05?

Thanks in anticipation,

-David-
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2002, 07:47 AM   #12
k0NG0
Remembering TQ
 
k0NG0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13,749
No problem. Checking the manual (you can download it here) and knowing it's a 2GHz CPU - which means 100MHz FSB and 20.0x multiplier - I put toghether this image:



That's the way the jumpers should be set for the 2GHz Northwood. Please correct me if I'm wrong .

-kONGO
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2002, 11:37 AM   #13
Racer78
Northwood Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burlington, NY
Posts: 51
Kongo,

nice job
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2002, 11:41 AM   #14
k0NG0
Remembering TQ
 
k0NG0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13,749
Thanks . Mostly cut-and-paste from the pdf manual though .

Also, leave jumper 5 as it is, it's reserved in some way, so it's best not to touch it .

-kONGO
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2002, 05:37 PM   #15
Miles
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,617
BUMP
__________________
Regards,


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Miles
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

________________________________

Intel 4690k| ASUS Z97 sabertooth| 16GB Kingston DDR3|ASUS GTX 970|Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD | 1 - Seagate 2 TB Barracuda ES | Seasonic 650 watt Gold PSU|Fractal Design Arc Midi rev 2| Windows 7 64-bit Professional | Eizo CX-241
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community