ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2003, 05:47 PM   #151
sayam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 6
the raid is eathier not listed in there or when i hook up my maxtor it dissapears
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 07-11-2003, 05:58 PM   #152
Hawk_abx
Overclocking Junkie
 
Hawk_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Long Beach, NY
Posts: 2,327
Did you setup RAID? If so, list what is in your machine with the drives and the ports they are on. Thanks. . . . That will make it easier.






Quote:
Originally posted by sayam
the raid is eathier not listed in there or when i hook up my maxtor it dissapears
__________________
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe * * * BIOS 1009
P4 3.2Ghz 800FSB aircooled w/ Stock Heatsink
2 * OCZ 3700's 256MB
BFG 5900 Ultra
2 X WD Raptors RAID 0
Liteon 52/24/52
Toshiba SD-R5002 DVD
Windows XP Professional
ViewSonic VX2000 LCD
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 09:20 PM   #153
sayam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 6
ok here it goes:

2 sata raptors on the intel raid (yes i have the raid working)
2 cd-rom's on primary ide (i want my maxtor and burner intead, at least till i get a 3 drive cable)

also - i tried the secondaary IDE port and it still didnt work
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 01:34 AM   #154
DCF
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 48
OK here's my results of benching, as per Hawk's request.

The system:

Motherboard: Asus P4C800-E Deluxe BIOS 1008
CPU: 3.0 GHz 800 FSB P4C CPU running at stock
RAM: 2x 512M Corsair XMS TwinX 3200LL at 2-2-3-6 (Trcd=3) @ 200 MHz
Video: ATI Radeon 9600 Pro
Audio: SB Audigy2 in PCI Slot 4

Disk Drives: 2x Western Digital Raptor 10k RPM SATA 36GB on IC5HR RAID Configured as RAID0 with 32k stripe size

DVD: Only other storage device is a Liteon XJ-HD165H DVD ROM as Master device on Secondary IDE.

Notes: Onboard Promise controller, onboard sound, onboard firewire disabled in the BIOS.

RAID array contains the OS: Windows XP SP1, and was fully defragmented before the test.

RAID array total size: 68.9 GB. Free space: 56.1 GB (81% free)

Intel Application Accelerator Raid Edition 3.5 Reports:
Intel RAID driver: 3.5.0.2568
Intel RAID storage kit: 3.5.0.2600

Firmware of both drives: 35.06K35
Manufactured: 25 May 2003 Malaysia


The test method:

The following benchmarks were used:
Sioft Sandra Standard 2003.7.9.73
HD Tach 2.6.1
ATTO Disk Benchmark

The conditions tested were the Chipset BIOS option "Delay ICH Transaction" set to Enable and Disable.

For each condition each benchmark was run three times.

The system was rebooted once before each condition was tested.

The benchmarks were run in the following order: Sandra, HDTach, ATTO, Sandra, HDTach, ATTO, Sandra, HDTach, ATTO


The results:

The tabulated and summarized results can be found at: http://members.rogers.com/botekin/benchmarks.htm

Note that Hawk's results are for a 128k stripe size, and Sandra testing was with a 511MB file, whereas my Sandra was using a 1023 MB File.

Images (linked as they are large jpegs, I apologize) of each trial


ICH Transaction Delay Enabled: Sandra

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3

ICH Transaction Delay Disabled: Sandra

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3


ICH Transaction Delay Enabled: HDTach

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3

ICH Transaction Delay Disabled: HDTach

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3


ICH Transaction Delay Enabled: ATTO

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3

ICH Transaction Delay Disabled: ATTO

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3


Conclusions

There were some interesting things I discovered doing this test.

1) I am experiencing, for some reason, large variances in performance. I had runs of Sandra better than Hawk's and worse. HDTach also shows a very noisy graph, with large ranges between min and max values, although the average performance remains good.

2) Hawk's 128k stripe size seems to be much more efficient according to ATTO. However, ATTO was exhibiting odd behaviour on my array, as files 128k and up reported uniformly a read speed of 63803 or 63893 MB/s. Almost as though either that was the limit of what it could test for, or more likely, some limit in the performance of the RAID controller, possibly as a function of stripe size or the disks I am using.

3) Overall, Hawk's performance was either just above or just below mine. However the larger variances I am experiencing, coupled to the steady performance in ATTO are making me reconsider my 32k stripe size and going for a larger 64k or 128k size.

4) Disabling ICH Delay caused HDTach to use more CPU, and overall a small decrease in the average performance of the benchmarks.
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe BIOS 1010.003
P4C 3.0Ghz 800FSB w/ Vantec Aeroflow+Ceramique
1GB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200LL at CAS2
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2
2x Western Digital Raptor in RAID0
All wrapped up in a Thermaltake Xaser III Case
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 04:09 AM   #155
sayam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 6
SiSoftware Sandra

51606kb/s

Test Status
SMP Test : No
Total Test Threads : 1
SMT Test : No
Dynamic MP/MT Load Balance : No
Processor Affinity : No
Windows Disk Cache Used : No
Use Overlapped I/O : Yes
IO Queue Depth : 8 request(s)
Test File Size : 511MB
File Server Optimised : No

Benchmark Breakdown
Buffered Read : 112 MB/s
Sequential Read : 73 MB/s
Random Read : 12 MB/s
Buffered Write : 22 MB/s
Sequential Write : 84 MB/s
Random Write : 21 MB/s
Average Access Time : 4 ms (estimated)

Drive
Drive Type : Hard Disk
Total Size : 68.9GB
Free Space : 63.7GB, 92%

how can I improve this speed, i have the same drives as you
my array size is 128kb
i dont have intel accelerator installed
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 05:54 AM   #156
Hawk_abx
Overclocking Junkie
 
Hawk_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Long Beach, NY
Posts: 2,327
Nice job, so the ICH Delayed Trans & 128K stripe size make the difference. . . . .

BYW, you got some nice score going there. I would say that where you are now is perfect. . .







Quote:
Originally posted by DCF
OK here's my results of benching, as per Hawk's request.

The system:

Motherboard: Asus P4C800-E Deluxe BIOS 1008
CPU: 3.0 GHz 800 FSB P4C CPU running at stock
RAM: 2x 512M Corsair XMS TwinX 3200LL at 2-2-3-6 (Trcd=3) @ 200 MHz
Video: ATI Radeon 9600 Pro
Audio: SB Audigy2 in PCI Slot 4

Disk Drives: 2x Western Digital Raptor 10k RPM SATA 36GB on IC5HR RAID Configured as RAID0 with 32k stripe size

DVD: Only other storage device is a Liteon XJ-HD165H DVD ROM as Master device on Secondary IDE.

Notes: Onboard Promise controller, onboard sound, onboard firewire disabled in the BIOS.

RAID array contains the OS: Windows XP SP1, and was fully defragmented before the test.

RAID array total size: 68.9 GB. Free space: 56.1 GB (81% free)

Intel Application Accelerator Raid Edition 3.5 Reports:
Intel RAID driver: 3.5.0.2568
Intel RAID storage kit: 3.5.0.2600

Firmware of both drives: 35.06K35
Manufactured: 25 May 2003 Malaysia


The test method:

The following benchmarks were used:
Sioft Sandra Standard 2003.7.9.73
HD Tach 2.6.1
ATTO Disk Benchmark

The conditions tested were the Chipset BIOS option "Delay ICH Transaction" set to Enable and Disable.

For each condition each benchmark was run three times.

The system was rebooted once before each condition was tested.

The benchmarks were run in the following order: Sandra, HDTach, ATTO, Sandra, HDTach, ATTO, Sandra, HDTach, ATTO


The results:

The tabulated and summarized results can be found at: http://members.rogers.com/botekin/benchmarks.htm

Note that Hawk's results are for a 128k stripe size, and Sandra testing was with a 511MB file, whereas my Sandra was using a 1023 MB File.

Images (linked as they are large jpegs, I apologize) of each trial


ICH Transaction Delay Enabled: Sandra

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3

ICH Transaction Delay Disabled: Sandra

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3


ICH Transaction Delay Enabled: HDTach

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3

ICH Transaction Delay Disabled: HDTach

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3


ICH Transaction Delay Enabled: ATTO

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3

ICH Transaction Delay Disabled: ATTO

Run 1 Run 2 Run 3


Conclusions

There were some interesting things I discovered doing this test.

1) I am experiencing, for some reason, large variances in performance. I had runs of Sandra better than Hawk's and worse. HDTach also shows a very noisy graph, with large ranges between min and max values, although the average performance remains good.

2) Hawk's 128k stripe size seems to be much more efficient according to ATTO. However, ATTO was exhibiting odd behaviour on my array, as files 128k and up reported uniformly a read speed of 63803 or 63893 MB/s. Almost as though either that was the limit of what it could test for, or more likely, some limit in the performance of the RAID controller, possibly as a function of stripe size or the disks I am using.

3) Overall, Hawk's performance was either just above or just below mine. However the larger variances I am experiencing, coupled to the steady performance in ATTO are making me reconsider my 32k stripe size and going for a larger 64k or 128k size.

4) Disabling ICH Delay caused HDTach to use more CPU, and overall a small decrease in the average performance of the benchmarks.
__________________
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe * * * BIOS 1009
P4 3.2Ghz 800FSB aircooled w/ Stock Heatsink
2 * OCZ 3700's 256MB
BFG 5900 Ultra
2 X WD Raptors RAID 0
Liteon 52/24/52
Toshiba SD-R5002 DVD
Windows XP Professional
ViewSonic VX2000 LCD
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 05:55 AM   #157
Hawk_abx
Overclocking Junkie
 
Hawk_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Long Beach, NY
Posts: 2,327
Yes, Install Intel AA v. 3.5 and it should change your score.





Quote:
Originally posted by sayam
SiSoftware Sandra

51606kb/s

Test Status
SMP Test : No
Total Test Threads : 1
SMT Test : No
Dynamic MP/MT Load Balance : No
Processor Affinity : No
Windows Disk Cache Used : No
Use Overlapped I/O : Yes
IO Queue Depth : 8 request(s)
Test File Size : 511MB
File Server Optimised : No

Benchmark Breakdown
Buffered Read : 112 MB/s
Sequential Read : 73 MB/s
Random Read : 12 MB/s
Buffered Write : 22 MB/s
Sequential Write : 84 MB/s
Random Write : 21 MB/s
Average Access Time : 4 ms (estimated)

Drive
Drive Type : Hard Disk
Total Size : 68.9GB
Free Space : 63.7GB, 92%

how can I improve this speed, i have the same drives as you
my array size is 128kb
i dont have intel accelerator installed
__________________
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe * * * BIOS 1009
P4 3.2Ghz 800FSB aircooled w/ Stock Heatsink
2 * OCZ 3700's 256MB
BFG 5900 Ultra
2 X WD Raptors RAID 0
Liteon 52/24/52
Toshiba SD-R5002 DVD
Windows XP Professional
ViewSonic VX2000 LCD
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 08:21 AM   #158
vicbyrd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 65
Nice job DCF!
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Intel Pentium 4 Processor (Northwood) 2.8GHz 800MHz FSB Retail
(2) Corsair CMX512-3500C2 512MB DDR433 PC3500 Memory 2-3-3-6-8
Promise - Raid 0 - (2) IBM (Hitachi) Deskstar 180GXP 80GB ATA100 7200RPM HD (w/ SATA -> PATA adaptor)
ICH5R - Raid 0 - (2) Western Digital Raptor WD360GD 36.7GB Serial ATA 10,000RPM
nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4200
Santa Cruz Turtle Beach Audio
Asus CRW-5224A 52x24x52 E-IDE CD-RW Drive w/Flextralink Retail
HP dvd200i DVD+RW
Lian-Li case
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 10:44 AM   #159
MaverickSY19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: D.C. Hub
Posts: 160
DCF one thing I noticed that you do not have that you need to get. BIOS 1009. Your still using 1008. 1009 updated the Promise Controller ROM again and when used in conjunction with the new Promise drivers 1.0.1.30 will increase your performance.

I take that back. I just noticed you didn't test the Promise, only the Intel RAID, hehe, DOH.
__________________
MaverickSY19
System Specs:
P4 3.06 Hyperthreading CPU w/Swiftech MCX4000 HS and Thermaltake Smartfan 2
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe i875 chipset with ICH5R Soutbridge BIOS 1010
2 Gigs of Corsair TWINX1024-2700LLPT DDR333 XMS2700 Dual-Channel Memory w/Platinum HS
ATI 9800 Pro 128 w/Catalyst 3.6
Audigy XGamer w/5.1 Speakers
WinXP Pro SP1 w/DirectX 9.0b
250 Gigs of total HD Space
Blue Thermaltake Xaser III 1000D Case w/Antec True Blue 480w P/S
3DMark2001SE 17279 - Old Score with P4G8X and Catalyst 3.2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

3DMark2003 : 5874

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 04:09 AM   #160
marcsterix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
P4C800 Deluxe - WinXp won't intall/Boot - Bios mem setting?

Pentium 4 2.4GHz 800MHz FSB
P4C800 Deluxe - BIOS upgraded to 1007, then 1008
2 x Kingston KVR400X64C25/256MB DDR400 CL2.5 on slots A/B1
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
F&C Switching PSU 400W
Maxtor 60G 7200rpm HDD on Primary IDE Master
Creative DVD-ROM 6x on Secondary IDE Master

WinXP just doesn't want to install or work on this system. I get errors during installation (while copying files I get errors that the sistem didn't copy them correctly, and when it's starts the actual installation it gives a fatal error that it doesnt recognize some signature or other).

If I install WinXP on the same HDD on my old system and transfer it back on the new build, after POST startup I get the blue screen of death...


I tested my memory with Doc Memory and it didn't give me any errors after 2 hrs of testing. Swapped Everything out except for the RAM, PSU and the Mobo.

It looks like from other threads I might get this working through BIOS settings...

Any suggestions?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 05:11 PM   #161
Fox_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
I have a question concerning memory for the P4C800-E Deluxe...
Does the run with Geil DDR400 Golden Dragon Series memory and with Corsair DDR400 LL memory???
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 06:59 PM   #162
chung_chang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally posted by Fox
I have a question concerning memory for the P4C800-E Deluxe...
Does the run with Geil DDR400 Golden Dragon Series memory and with Corsair DDR400 LL memory???
I have the same question except for TwinMos(CH5) or Buffalo(BH5) memory running 5:4 or 3:2 dividers at high fsb(over 280fsb). Thx.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 07:00 PM   #163
MaverickSY19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: D.C. Hub
Posts: 160
Try it and we will know I dont think many people have tried that man different things with these boards yet.
__________________
MaverickSY19
System Specs:
P4 3.06 Hyperthreading CPU w/Swiftech MCX4000 HS and Thermaltake Smartfan 2
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe i875 chipset with ICH5R Soutbridge BIOS 1010
2 Gigs of Corsair TWINX1024-2700LLPT DDR333 XMS2700 Dual-Channel Memory w/Platinum HS
ATI 9800 Pro 128 w/Catalyst 3.6
Audigy XGamer w/5.1 Speakers
WinXP Pro SP1 w/DirectX 9.0b
250 Gigs of total HD Space
Blue Thermaltake Xaser III 1000D Case w/Antec True Blue 480w P/S
3DMark2001SE 17279 - Old Score with P4G8X and Catalyst 3.2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

3DMark2003 : 5874

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 07:07 PM   #164
chung_chang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally posted by MaverickSY19
Try it and we will know I dont think many people have tried that man different things with these boards yet.
Man, no one reading this thread has any of these memory? I may just have to try it and risk hitting fsb wall just like I did with P4P800. Then, I'm stuck with a $200 board. Already spent too much on my existing memory so I can't afford XMS. Maybe I should wait until Abit IC7 MAX 3 come out on 7/21 and hope for a review between these 2 boards.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 09:47 PM   #165
solofly
PC Gamer for Life!
 
solofly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 355
So far Iím not impressed. Much more difficult to setup than the P4P800 was. I had conflicts with Audigy2 and had to swap PCI cards around for a while. Then I find out my RAM isnít stable at the same frequency and timing anymore. Like I said, not impressed. The only thing that will save this mobo is overclocking which I need more time with...
__________________
Intel E6700 | Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme | Asus P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB | 8800GTX | 230GB RAID 0 | 21" WS LCD | Vista Ultimate x64
Intel E6600 | Thermalright SI-120 | Asus P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB | 7600GT | 400GB RAID 0 | 26" WS LCD | Vista Home Premium
Intel E6400 | Zalman CNPS7700-Cu | Asus P5W DH Deluxe | 4GB | 6600 | 500GB RAID 1 | 19" WS LCD | Vista Ultimate x64
Intel 3.2 EM64T | Zalman CNPS7000-Cu | Asus P5GD1 | 4GB | 6600 | 540GB RAID 1 | 17" WS LCD | XP Pro
AMD64 4400+ | Thermaltake Big Typhoon | Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe | 4GB | 2x7800GTX | 100GB | 20" LCD | XP Pro x64/XP Home
AMD64 3200+ | Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro | Asus K8N-E Deluxe | 2GB | 6800GT | 120GB | 15" LCD | XP Home
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community