ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2003, 09:13 PM   #61
epicbard
mmm... bacon bits
 
epicbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Treehouse
Posts: 4,266
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawk
Just use the ASUS Update. . The Winodws based Flash utility. It's the easiest of all of them. . .
i dun know if i should... this is what asus says

Quote:
P4C800-E Deluxe BIOS v.1008
BIOS update procedure

1.Don't use EZflash and Afudos to update v.1008
2.Download and unzip P4CED08.zip.
3.Copy all files into the floppy disk,or you might have problem with updating BIOS.
4.Boot the system into DOS prompt.
5.Simply execute "P4CED08.exe" file to update BIOS.
Do not shutdown and restart the system while updating the BIOS!
__________________

(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 07-02-2003, 09:23 PM   #62
MaverickSY19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: D.C. Hub
Posts: 160
Actually I used the boot to DOS floppy method for the 1008 version. Then when I updated the 1009 one I used the Asus Update Windows program.

It will work that way for sure if your scared I guinea pigged it for you.
__________________
MaverickSY19
System Specs:
P4 3.06 Hyperthreading CPU w/Swiftech MCX4000 HS and Thermaltake Smartfan 2
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe i875 chipset with ICH5R Soutbridge BIOS 1010
2 Gigs of Corsair TWINX1024-2700LLPT DDR333 XMS2700 Dual-Channel Memory w/Platinum HS
ATI 9800 Pro 128 w/Catalyst 3.6
Audigy XGamer w/5.1 Speakers
WinXP Pro SP1 w/DirectX 9.0b
250 Gigs of total HD Space
Blue Thermaltake Xaser III 1000D Case w/Antec True Blue 480w P/S
3DMark2001SE 17279 - Old Score with P4G8X and Catalyst 3.2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

3DMark2003 : 5874

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 09:40 PM   #63
chung_chang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 117
I'm ready to get this board now. I have 2x512 TwinMos PC3200(CH-5). Will I hit a wall just like my P4P800 Dlx at 265fsb? Folks with IS7and IC7 are also hitting a similar wall between 265fsb-275fsb with the CH-5 chips. Memory dividers 5:4 and 3:2 do not help get over that wall. I want to hit 280+fsb with my 2.4C. I've noticed most of you have either Corsair or OCZ. Can anyone tell me your experience with Twinmos CH-5 on this board? I don't want to wait another month for the IC7-G MAX3 that may or may not fix compatibility issue with my memory. Thx.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 09:45 PM   #64
Qba73
Bench This
 
Qba73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Land of the lost Towers, NY
Posts: 1,667
ok running 278fsb DDR@444 2-3-3-7 with 1007 bios, any benifit of upping my bios?

Attached is a screenie
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 278_ddr444.jpg (185.0 KB, 491 views)
__________________
I7 6700K @ 4.7 Ghz
Corsair H100i GTX
16gb GSkill Ripjaw V 3000
Asus Z170 Deluxe
EVGA 980 Ti SC@1230/7500
Corsair AX860i
Acer XB271HU
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 09:51 PM   #65
degeester
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 16
Newegg must have just gotten a new shipment of P4C800-e Deluxe's , it is in stock. They dropped to price to $199 with free shippingLink to Asus P4C800-e at Newegg
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 10:21 PM   #66
dan reid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 24
I'm sold

I'm sold on this P4C800-E deluxe board, have a guy shipping one for mon-tues next week

my P4PE just ain't what it was 7months ago

bein looking a msi-875P Neo-FIS2R and Giga 8knxp but I'm sure the P4C800-E is the one


thnx guys

ps. the P4PE with a 2.4b oc@2.88 is still running at 31 idle so it wasn't that bad
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 11:22 PM   #67
MaverickSY19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: D.C. Hub
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally posted by Qba73
ok running 278fsb DDR@444 2-3-3-7 with 1007 bios, any benifit of upping my bios?

Attached is a screenie
Few fixed, mostly the BIOS was updated for the Promise RAID Controller. Says that with the latest driver 1.00.1.30 it will perform better.

Thats with the 1009 BIOS.
__________________
MaverickSY19
System Specs:
P4 3.06 Hyperthreading CPU w/Swiftech MCX4000 HS and Thermaltake Smartfan 2
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe i875 chipset with ICH5R Soutbridge BIOS 1010
2 Gigs of Corsair TWINX1024-2700LLPT DDR333 XMS2700 Dual-Channel Memory w/Platinum HS
ATI 9800 Pro 128 w/Catalyst 3.6
Audigy XGamer w/5.1 Speakers
WinXP Pro SP1 w/DirectX 9.0b
250 Gigs of total HD Space
Blue Thermaltake Xaser III 1000D Case w/Antec True Blue 480w P/S
3DMark2001SE 17279 - Old Score with P4G8X and Catalyst 3.2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

3DMark2003 : 5874

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 11:34 PM   #68
epicbard
mmm... bacon bits
 
epicbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Treehouse
Posts: 4,266
Quote:
Originally posted by MaverickSY19
Actually I used the boot to DOS floppy method for the 1008 version. Then when I updated the 1009 one I used the Asus Update Windows program.

It will work that way for sure if your scared I guinea pigged it for you.
thanks. should i put the files for the 1008 on my hd and run from there instead of floppy? it seems safer
__________________

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 11:39 PM   #69
Sabcik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NYC Queens
Posts: 57
Qba73



Cool theme , where can I get it ..
__________________
D875PBZLK Bios P17
Intel Pentium 4 3.0 800FSB RETAIL
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
2 x Corsair 512MB XMS PC3200C2
36 Gig WD Raptor
200 Gig Maxtor 8MB
ATI AIW Radeon 9800 Pro
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Antec True Power 430
ViewSonic VX900
Klipsch ProMedia 5.1
Microsoft Windows XP Pro
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 11:47 PM   #70
MaverickSY19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: D.C. Hub
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally posted by isomer
thanks. should i put the files for the 1008 on my hd and run from there instead of floppy? it seems safer
Only problem with that is if you have NTFS partitions you wont be able to see them in DOS when you boot there

If you have a drive that has FAT32 still you can put it on there.

Or you could even burn it to a CD but a Floppy works fine.
__________________
MaverickSY19
System Specs:
P4 3.06 Hyperthreading CPU w/Swiftech MCX4000 HS and Thermaltake Smartfan 2
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe i875 chipset with ICH5R Soutbridge BIOS 1010
2 Gigs of Corsair TWINX1024-2700LLPT DDR333 XMS2700 Dual-Channel Memory w/Platinum HS
ATI 9800 Pro 128 w/Catalyst 3.6
Audigy XGamer w/5.1 Speakers
WinXP Pro SP1 w/DirectX 9.0b
250 Gigs of total HD Space
Blue Thermaltake Xaser III 1000D Case w/Antec True Blue 480w P/S
3DMark2001SE 17279 - Old Score with P4G8X and Catalyst 3.2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

3DMark2003 : 5874

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2003, 01:05 AM   #71
vicbyrd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 65
What am I missing? When I set BIOS timings to manual for FSB to lets say 220 I can't set DRAM frequency to match, i.e. options are only 266, 320, 400 and AUTO. I assumed that AUTO would match FSB but during POST it says 266. Anything I set over a 200 FSB gives me a 266 DDR

I know I'm missing something. What the he*l is it?

Also, I've been reading that 2-3-3-7 is appropriate timings for Corsair XMS 512 CL2 - correct? Right now I'm using SPD timings until I get the above figured out.

TIA
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Intel Pentium 4 Processor (Northwood) 2.8GHz 800MHz FSB Retail
(2) Corsair CMX512-3500C2 512MB DDR433 PC3500 Memory 2-3-3-6-8
Promise - Raid 0 - (2) IBM (Hitachi) Deskstar 180GXP 80GB ATA100 7200RPM HD (w/ SATA -> PATA adaptor)
ICH5R - Raid 0 - (2) Western Digital Raptor WD360GD 36.7GB Serial ATA 10,000RPM
nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4200
Santa Cruz Turtle Beach Audio
Asus CRW-5224A 52x24x52 E-IDE CD-RW Drive w/Flextralink Retail
HP dvd200i DVD+RW
Lian-Li case
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2003, 01:19 AM   #72
bob465
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally posted by vicbyrd
What am I missing? When I set BIOS timings to manual for FSB to lets say 220 I can't set DRAM frequency to match, i.e. options are only 266, 320, 400 and AUTO. I assumed that AUTO would match FSB but during POST it says 266. Anything I set over a 200 FSB gives me a 266 DDR

I know I'm missing something. What the he*l is it?

Also, I've been reading that 2-3-3-7 is appropriate timings for Corsair XMS 512 CL2 - correct? Right now I'm using SPD timings until I get the above figured out.

TIA
266 is 2/3 of 400.
320 is 4/5 of 400.
400 is 1/1 of 400.

so if you're running 220, then the 266 setting will give you a mem freq of: 147 or 293DDR.

if you're running 220, then the 320 setting will give you a mem freq of: 176 or 352DDR.

if you're running 220, then the 400 setting will give you a mem freq of: 220 or 440DDR.

RamGuy over at corsair.houseofhelp.com recommends:
2-3-3-6-8 @ 2.75v for your sticks. Mine do fine at 2-2-2-5 @ 2.75v for a FSB of 250 at the 320 setting.

Bob
__________________
ASUS P4C800-E DLX
XPSP1a
2.4C [SL6WF]
Thermalright SP-94, AS Ceramique, Vantec 92mm Tornado, Enermax 2X2 Ultimate Controller
2x GeIL UP 512-PC4400
2x WD360GD [36.7GB] Raptors on ICH5R RAID0 [Boot]
2x Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 200GB
ATI Radeon 9500pro Stock BIOS
Audigy 2 Platinum EX
Sony DRU-500AX
Plextor Plexwriter 48/24/48A
ANTEC PLUS AMG1080 Case
ANTEC True 550 PSU
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2003, 02:24 AM   #73
Zapper_Weisman
Berserker
 
Zapper_Weisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California, U.S.A.
Posts: 104
I had a P4C800 Deluxe and when I saw the P4C800-E Deluxe, I scooped one up and proceeded to play. I can say that the thing preforms BETTER in all my benchmarks than the non-"-E" model and signifigantly so.

I had to get this board for the ICH5R and the CSA lan. Those are two of the most important features of the 865 and 875's as far as I am concerned so, I just had to get one and get the full 865 and 875 experience. I love it; no problems what-so-ever.

Weird thing though...After I got the P4C800-E, I went to upgrade an older computer with my previous P4C800 and then, it died. (i've been doing computers for YEARS and YEARS and i know how to not kill a board, so, it's not my fault. i am 99% sure.) Up 'till then I had no problems with the non-E model. Weird that it up and died at THAT time. So, I RMA'd it.

Anyway, I love the P4C800-E Deluxe and I would seriously recommend it for anyone lookin' to upgrade or create a whole new system. Worth every dime.
__________________
>>>>>[Hey, Ma, I coulda been a contender!]<<<<<

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2003, 06:51 AM   #74
Qba73
Bench This
 
Qba73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Land of the lost Towers, NY
Posts: 1,667
Quote:
Originally posted by Sabcik
Qba73



Cool theme , where can I get it ..
the background is named perfection (can be obtained at themexp.org) the icons are from fauxs xp's site and the visual theme is called "Royal blue updated" and too can be obtained from themexp.org..
__________________
I7 6700K @ 4.7 Ghz
Corsair H100i GTX
16gb GSkill Ripjaw V 3000
Asus Z170 Deluxe
EVGA 980 Ti SC@1230/7500
Corsair AX860i
Acer XB271HU
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2003, 06:57 AM   #75
Digitman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 21
Any sign of it here in Canada (Montreal)???
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community