ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2003, 10:05 AM   #1411
ajm786_abx
ajm786 = ???
 
ajm786_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 4,220
While that may be true, how many of us use only 1 case fan? The majority use more than 1. In addition, the majority us use two headers on the motherboard, leaving one free.

The P4C800-E has only 3 headers, the CPU fan, and two others. You may be able to use the two others if you are only going to use 2 case fans, and you are using only the CPU fan header. One for the front and one for the back. Otherwise, it would be best to stick with connecting them to the PSU.
__________________
That's right. BITE me.

Abit IC7 w/BIOS 24 * P4 2.6C @ 3.25 w/Zalman CNPS7000-Cu * Corsair TWINX1024-3200LLPT 1GB * Samsung SP1614C and SP0812C SATA; Toshiba SD-M1712; NEC ND-2510A * BFG 6800 OC* Intel PRO/100+ LAN; Audigy 2 ZS Platinum; WinTV Go * Antec 480W TruePower in CoolerMaster ATCS 201-SX * Viewsonic 19" P90f Flat, and WinXP Pro/SP2 * Natural Multimedia Keyboard and Logitech MX500

PC/HT audio setup:
Cambridge MC50 center, Athena AS-B1 mains, Megaworks 510D sub, Sonance Mariner 100 rear; connected to Onkyo TX-SR500 via Audigy 5.1 multichannel
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 11-20-2003, 11:36 AM   #1412
dmeader
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 34
One on the front and one on the back (top, actually) is what I was planning on. The book states that the board supports fans from 350-740Ma each or a total of 1-2.2A (22.64W) for all of them. I was going to use some fairly decent Enermax fans and their current draw places them well within these limits. Question: do fans connected to the motherboard headers go off when the system goes into suspend? For noise reasons I would like at least some of them to shut down in suspend, which is why I was going to use the motherboard connectors. The fans on the front of my old Lian-Li case are connected right to the PS and they run all the time.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 11:40 AM   #1413
Sierra_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,880
Re: noob hd config questions

Quote:
Originally posted by maximumpig
I should have clued in that I was not doing what I was supposed to be doing when the OS recognized my boot array as drive H rather than drive C and wouldn't let me re-map it as C. Does anyone know how to do that? XP doesn't seem to want to let me.
There is a way to change the letters of most drives using Windows Computer Management. Right click on My Computer, then click Manage, then click on Disk Management. Right click on the drive you wish to change. Then click on Change Drive Letter and Paths. Unfortunately, I don't think you can change the boot drive using this method. I came across a tip that may or may not work.

http://discuss.extremetech.com/n/mai...es&msg=35216.1

Use at your own risk. A program like Partition Magic might also work, though I've never used it to change the boot drive letter.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 11:40 AM   #1414
JoeBar
Bite me if u can...
 
JoeBar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athens
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally posted by SLM crew chief
Just a little side note that is IMO as Asus doesn't say anything about it. I skipped the 1011 as it was causing problems with the Promise controller. I have been running the 1013 for over a week and have my swap file and games on (2) WD SE's w/ BAFO adapts in a RAID 0 on the Promise and it is screaming fast, no issues. I wonder if Asus also fixed the Promise "issues" in the 1011 to 1013 update and just wanted to sweep it under the rug, so to say....
Can't help u m8. My P4C800 doesn't have Promise controller and if it had, i wouldn't use it...
__________________
Asus P5WDG2 Premium rev. 1.02G
Intel Pentium D 920 SL94S Malay @ 4.31GHz cooled by Thermaltake Big Water 745
GeCube Radeon X1900XT combined with LG 1980Q (8ms) 19' TFT monitor
2 x 1GB Transcend DDR2-533 @ 770mhz
2 x 36.7GB Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 | 300GB Western Digital Caviar SE SATA
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Xtrememusic combined with Cambridge Soundworks Megaworks 550 THX
Asus E616P3 DVD | Asus 1608-P DVD-RW
Thermaltake Kandalf black super tower with 4 x 120mm and 2 x 90mm blue led fans | Chieftec 550W Triple 12V rails - 120mm fan
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 11:42 AM   #1415
ajm786_abx
ajm786 = ???
 
ajm786_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 4,220
There are two types of suspend; POS1 and STR. STR is the mode that we all like to use, and that you should be using too.

Regardless of if the fans are connected to the motherboard header or the PSU, if you use STR, all fans will shut off. Hence, it doesn't make a difference if you use the motherboard headers or plug fans straight to the PSU.
__________________
That's right. BITE me.

Abit IC7 w/BIOS 24 * P4 2.6C @ 3.25 w/Zalman CNPS7000-Cu * Corsair TWINX1024-3200LLPT 1GB * Samsung SP1614C and SP0812C SATA; Toshiba SD-M1712; NEC ND-2510A * BFG 6800 OC* Intel PRO/100+ LAN; Audigy 2 ZS Platinum; WinTV Go * Antec 480W TruePower in CoolerMaster ATCS 201-SX * Viewsonic 19" P90f Flat, and WinXP Pro/SP2 * Natural Multimedia Keyboard and Logitech MX500

PC/HT audio setup:
Cambridge MC50 center, Athena AS-B1 mains, Megaworks 510D sub, Sonance Mariner 100 rear; connected to Onkyo TX-SR500 via Audigy 5.1 multichannel
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 11:43 AM   #1416
JoeBar
Bite me if u can...
 
JoeBar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athens
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally posted by ajm786
...Otherwise, it would be best to stick with connecting them to the PSU.
I'm allways using molex connectors for connecting my fans. Even for my cpu one...
__________________
Asus P5WDG2 Premium rev. 1.02G
Intel Pentium D 920 SL94S Malay @ 4.31GHz cooled by Thermaltake Big Water 745
GeCube Radeon X1900XT combined with LG 1980Q (8ms) 19' TFT monitor
2 x 1GB Transcend DDR2-533 @ 770mhz
2 x 36.7GB Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 | 300GB Western Digital Caviar SE SATA
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Xtrememusic combined with Cambridge Soundworks Megaworks 550 THX
Asus E616P3 DVD | Asus 1608-P DVD-RW
Thermaltake Kandalf black super tower with 4 x 120mm and 2 x 90mm blue led fans | Chieftec 550W Triple 12V rails - 120mm fan
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 11:55 AM   #1417
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
maximumpig, changing the H to C is possible by the sounds of it with the link sierra_bound provided. However, Windows bootable portion must be on the first primary partition on the first drive on the system. You will need to make sure that the C partition meets that requirement.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 12:42 PM   #1418
BBThumper
Happy, Joyous and Free
 
BBThumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philly
Posts: 2,024
.........2 intake fans and 2 out fans are suggested for maximum airflow. Many blame cpu temps on the CPU HSF but If you have good airflow in and out your temps will drop alot. Remember, the airflow must be balanced, the number of intake fans must match the number of fans taking the air out...........
__________________
ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe
AMD Phenom 9600
XP-90c w/ a T.T. 92mm fan
2 x 2gig pc26400
Nvidia 8400
2 x Raptors in Raid 0

......My City's moto: Welcome to Philly, now get the heck out!!!!!!!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 12:50 PM   #1419
Sierra_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 13,880
Quote:
Originally posted by KrazeFan
One more question... anyone have experience using EZFlash or should I just stick with Afudos?
I've used Afudos, EZFlash and Asus Update for flashing. They all work. People here prefer Afudos. But it's hard to fault an easy method like Asus Update. Some don't like flashing thru Windows. But you can always download the BIOS file first and then flash with Asus Update. Works great.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 01:37 PM   #1420
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
Quote:
Originally posted by sierra_bound
I've used Afudos, EZFlash and Asus Update for flashing. They all work. People here prefer Afudos. But it's hard to fault an easy method like Asus Update. Some don't like flashing thru Windows. But you can always download the BIOS file first and then flash with Asus Update. Works great.
You've been lucky.

I and others with more than one type of Asus board and with different chipsets have experienced corrupted bios using Asus Update. :sad: The last time I used Asus Update, I spent over $30 to finally get my board working again.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 03:47 PM   #1421
BBThumper
Happy, Joyous and Free
 
BBThumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philly
Posts: 2,024
Asus Update success with A7N8X-50 times and P4C800-3 times. Corrupted bios=1 time becuase of user error ............
__________________
ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe
AMD Phenom 9600
XP-90c w/ a T.T. 92mm fan
2 x 2gig pc26400
Nvidia 8400
2 x Raptors in Raid 0

......My City's moto: Welcome to Philly, now get the heck out!!!!!!!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 05:14 PM   #1422
Piddyful
Highly Regulated User
 
Piddyful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: So. California
Posts: 656
Re: Fans

Quote:
Originally posted by byGeorge
Why is it bad to use the MB 3 pin fan connectors?
You should get a fan controller like the Nexus that you can connect all your case fans to and run it off one 4 pin mole from your psu. The controller does use 3 pin connectors for the fans themselves. That way you dont juice the board too much and you can manually control the speed of your fans. The Nexus does not turn the fans off either so you wont accidentaly put them too low. It also uses pulse modulation rather than resistance so no extra heat created. And it's pretty inexpensive now.
__________________
Intel P4 2.6C, ASuS P4C800-E Deluxe, 2x40gb Maxtor ATA133 RAID 0, 2x256mb Corsair XMS PC3500, HIS 9800pro 128mb, Thermalright slk-800u, Enermax 460w, Antec 1030b, Audigy ES, Logitech Z5300 5.1, & Viewsonic G220f 21"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 07:42 PM   #1423
mktsurf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 277
Are the Coolermaster neon fans very bright?

Puter sits in the bedroom running all night wouldnt want them to put out so much light couldnt sleep. Doh!

tia.

mktsurf
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 07:47 PM   #1424
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
Quote:
Originally posted by mktsurf
Are the Coolermaster neon fans very bright?

Puter sits in the bedroom running all night wouldnt want them to put out so much light couldnt sleep. Doh!

tia.

mktsurf
I find the blue to be a soft blue, not like the intense blue you get on the Antec Sonata cases and Shuttle SFF systems.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 07:53 PM   #1425
Tuzzi
"I roll with the kitties"
 
Tuzzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally posted by pointreyes
I find the blue to be a soft blue, not like the intense blue you get on the Antec Sonata cases and Shuttle SFF systems.
I agree with pointreyes 100% I find the Coolermaster fans emit a soft blue light. I find them quite quiet too!! I have (3) in my Coolermaster 201-B SX2
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community