ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2003, 08:37 PM   #1
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Riptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 1,324
Unhappy My OCZ experience...

Is hopefully not typical. I just replaced my Corsair PC2700 XMS with a set OCZ EL DDR PC-3200 Dual Channel Platinum. Ofcourse, I have run into problems. Allow me to explain please.

1) First of all, RAS to CAS *MUST* be set to 3. Trying highly aggressive timings (2-2-2-5) results in a system that won't POST. Keep in mind I'm actually UNDERclocking this memory so I was kinda hoping that it would work at these timings. No luck there. Moving on...

2) At the rated timings, 2-2-3-5, the system crashes to the desktop when running 3dmark2001. I can't even get it to run 5 repetitions without crashing. This is the most infuriating problem so far seeing as the memory is still basically underclocked and shouldn't even be stretching it's legs. Yet it's crashing to the desktop...

3) Apparently, tighter timings don't give you much of a performance increase. I was able to get Sandra memory test and also pcmark2002 to finish. The results were at best 1-2% faster than my previous memory. The previous PC2700 XMS was running 2-3-3-7.

No doubt that putting an 800mhz FSB processor under the hood will give me a much bigger performance boost. I expected that much. But given the stability problem and also the pathetic increase in performance with these tighter timings I'm not so sure what to think now. Perhaps this was a huge mistake? At least my system was stable with the Corsair.
__________________
Intel C2D E6850
8GB Corsair DDR2 800
Abit IP35 Pro
BFG 8800GTXOC2
Auzentech X-Plosion
WD1500ADFD
Pioneer DVR-710
PCP&C Silencer 610
TT Tsunami
Westinghouse LVM-37W3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 07-11-2003, 08:43 PM   #2
MoonWizard
Watercooled Wizard. Eek..
 
MoonWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,322
Try pm:ing oczguy he works for OCZ and can probably help you...
__________________
Sorry, I am just idling around now adays.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 08:55 PM   #3
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Riptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 1,324
Thanks wizard. I'll make sure to PM him if my problems continue. Not sure why, but my system was able to complete the 3dmark2001 benchmark this time without crashing. Perhaps this memory needs to be burned in? I'll be doing some more testing with it over the weekend to determine if it's stable or not.

As far as getting a real performance increase from this stuff I suppose I'll have to wait until I get a new 800mhz FSB processor. I just figured with tighter timings it'd do better but it hasn't done diddly squat.
__________________
Intel C2D E6850
8GB Corsair DDR2 800
Abit IP35 Pro
BFG 8800GTXOC2
Auzentech X-Plosion
WD1500ADFD
Pioneer DVR-710
PCP&C Silencer 610
TT Tsunami
Westinghouse LVM-37W3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 09:05 PM   #4
bigtoe
here to help
 
bigtoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,448
Riptide

Many of the newer modules from all the manufacturers need Ras to Cas set at 3 to be stable.Also the nature of the 875 chipset is that Ras to Cas at 3 is more stable.

Running TRAS at 5 is also not a good move unless you have vdimm adjustment on the board.I would suggest you try tras at 6 or even 7 to be sure.

Many of the older modules are more cabable of running tighter timings as older BH6 and BH5 IC's were of very high yield.Out of all my modules here only my OLD TwinMOS BH5 will runn 2-2-2-5 at ddr400 and it needs 2.8Vdimm to do it.

if the modules run 2-2-3-6 i would say they are within spec at 2.5V
__________________
Got a question???

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

It may have already been answered!!!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 09:09 PM   #5
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Riptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 1,324
Thanks bigtoe. If I continue to have problems I shall be certain to raise the value from 5 to 6. There are no voltage adjustments in my Intel motherboard's BIOS. If it's necessary to up the DDR voltage (which is what you are referring to?) in order to run with a value of 5 then I will need to replace the motherboard OR wait for the Intel control center utility, due out in a couple months. I will keep this thread up to date with regard to my experience and if I am forced to make any adjustments will report the results.

The specs for the DIMMs say they can run 2-2-3-5. They make no mention of having to up the voltage in order to reach those values. Is this something OCZ should've put in their documentation? Thanks again.
__________________
Intel C2D E6850
8GB Corsair DDR2 800
Abit IP35 Pro
BFG 8800GTXOC2
Auzentech X-Plosion
WD1500ADFD
Pioneer DVR-710
PCP&C Silencer 610
TT Tsunami
Westinghouse LVM-37W3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 09:16 PM   #6
bigtoe
here to help
 
bigtoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,448
It depends on the board..not all board are equal..plus the intel is VERY fast anyway
__________________
Got a question???

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

It may have already been answered!!!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 09:23 PM   #7
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Riptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 1,324
For now I have left the timings at 2-2-3-5. I took the system off the 4% burn-in mode (slight overclock). I am going to start a 20 repetition test of 3dmark2001 and see what happens. That should give me a basic idea of stability. If it crashes, I report that here and then try to back the tRAS down to 6 and run it again.

Taking the system off the 4% burn-in setting for now is probably a good idea no?
__________________
Intel C2D E6850
8GB Corsair DDR2 800
Abit IP35 Pro
BFG 8800GTXOC2
Auzentech X-Plosion
WD1500ADFD
Pioneer DVR-710
PCP&C Silencer 610
TT Tsunami
Westinghouse LVM-37W3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 09:24 PM   #8
oczguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 217
oi email me

oczguy@ocztechnology.com

I will absolutely take care of you
__________________
Proud OCZ employee, If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to drop me a email at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 09:27 PM   #9
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Riptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 1,324
Welp, that didn't take long... It crashed before it even started to run the bench. Went right back to the desktop.

Looks like I'll reboot and back down the tRAS to 6. See if that makes a difference... If not, I'll most definitely ask for your help mr. oczguy.
__________________
Intel C2D E6850
8GB Corsair DDR2 800
Abit IP35 Pro
BFG 8800GTXOC2
Auzentech X-Plosion
WD1500ADFD
Pioneer DVR-710
PCP&C Silencer 610
TT Tsunami
Westinghouse LVM-37W3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 10:00 PM   #10
oczguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 217
Its speced to 2-2-3-5 , the ras to cas on those modules wont run 2 no matter what . The voltage required is JEDEC default 2.6 thats why its not listed

To really help I need to know exactly what board bios settings your using as canterwood chipsets are very sensitive and if you make some incorrect settings it could great affect your stability
__________________
Proud OCZ employee, If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to drop me a email at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 10:09 PM   #11
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Riptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 1,324
Thankyou for the continued assistance with this. It is appreciated. My settings at the moment are 2-2-3-6. Changing the tRAS value from 5 to 6 seems to have taken care of the stability issues. 3dmark2001 has been running now for almost an hour without crashing which is MUCH better than it was with the tRAS set to 5. I have no idea what the DDR voltage is set to right now since my BIOS will not allow me to modify that setting.

Will it require bumping my DDR voltage up a notch before I can tRAS of 5? Thanks
__________________
Intel C2D E6850
8GB Corsair DDR2 800
Abit IP35 Pro
BFG 8800GTXOC2
Auzentech X-Plosion
WD1500ADFD
Pioneer DVR-710
PCP&C Silencer 610
TT Tsunami
Westinghouse LVM-37W3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 10:18 PM   #12
Miles
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,617
Hi Riptide,

Have you tried running memtest at those settings?
__________________
Regards,


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Miles
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

________________________________

Intel 4690k| ASUS Z97 sabertooth| 16GB Kingston DDR3|ASUS GTX 970|Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD | 1 - Seagate 2 TB Barracuda ES | Seasonic 650 watt Gold PSU|Fractal Design Arc Midi rev 2| Windows 7 64-bit Professional | Eizo CX-241
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 10:21 PM   #13
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Riptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 1,324
No sir, not yet. I don't have my floppy installed at the moment so I've been kinda holding off on that. Instead I've been using 3dmark2001 to test stability with and so far it seems to have worked OK. If there's a problem it generally has crashed on me within moments. Setting that tRAS to 6 has made things much better so far.

I'm just not sure what to think about that... Does that mean that my OCZ is defective or my motherboard is defective? Or is my experience to be expected IF my DDR voltage is @ 2.5? I noticed that the OCZ website lists the memory spec'd at 2.6v.
__________________
Intel C2D E6850
8GB Corsair DDR2 800
Abit IP35 Pro
BFG 8800GTXOC2
Auzentech X-Plosion
WD1500ADFD
Pioneer DVR-710
PCP&C Silencer 610
TT Tsunami
Westinghouse LVM-37W3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 11:29 PM   #14
CurlySue
God Fearing, A+, MCSE
 
CurlySue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Billings Montana
Posts: 348
Hey Owen.....

never mind this I just read where you said you cant up the voltage. I missed it.
__________________
P4 3.0c
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Zalman CNPS7000-Cu HSF
Abit IC7 BIOS 2.6
1GB OCZ PC3200EL Platinum,
Dual Chanel, @ 2-2-2-5
ATI Radeon 9800XT (R)
IBM 61GB 7200 HDD
Windows XP Pro SP2
20.1" Dell 2000FP(Digital)
Creative Sound Blaster Live
HP CD-Writer 9700 Series
Mitsumi FX54 CD
Lian-Li 61-USB
Logitech MX518 Mouse
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Logitech Elite Keyboard
Antec True 480w PSU

Last edited by CurlySue; 07-12-2003 at 12:02 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 11:34 PM   #15
TeeDeck
Registered User
 
TeeDeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Collingwood, Ontario
Posts: 817
I'd be interested in knowing what this RAM is suppose to be able to do. I have the identical RAM in a P4P800 and can only do 2,2,3,6. Anything tighter won't work...can't boot at a slight O/C (2.4C @ 2.89GHz). Prime95 runs for 15 minutes on anything higher. I haven't tried 3dmark because I don't value that benchmark.

I'm currently running 2x256, in A1 and B1 slots, BIOS 1008.004
__________________
"If the government hasn't taxed it, licensed it, or regulated it, it probably isn't worth much"
Murphy's Laws on Justice
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community