ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2003, 08:26 PM   #76
iMogal
Zoom Zoom...
 
iMogal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,226
Re: Re: Re: Re: I'm stumped.

Quote:
Originally posted by tamarelle
imogul I bet if you used another .bin file it would work instead of that stupid microsoft.img file........

I use the xpboot.bin file ..... would you like me to email it to you?
Yes please... See your PMs
__________________

SilverStone TJ-08
MAXIMUS VI GENE mATX
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
2x4Gb G.SKILL TridentX F3-2400C10D-8GTX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-2400 CL10
OCZ Vertex 3 - 128Gb
WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB
AMD Radeon HD 7950 GPU
Corsair HX620 Modular PSU
Dell UltraSharp 2407FPW (x2)
Monsoon MM-700 2.1 Speakers
__________________
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 09-07-2003, 08:29 PM   #77
BKA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,095
Quote:
Originally posted by tamarelle
omigosh I did all of that except for the masstorage one!
thanks !

but don't I need to leave the masstorage in for this:

[MassStorageDrivers]
"IDE CD-ROM (ATAPI 1.2)/PCI IDE Controller" = "RETAIL" ??

This supposedly allows your CD to be read when booting from CD during installtion.

Did you have that in your winnt.sif file bka4u2c?
No I didn't include a [MassStorageDrivers] section at all.
__________________
DFI LP X58 T3eH8
i7 920(@3.5) w/Nocturna SE1366
(2) Diamond 4870 1GB (XFIRE)
12GB Corsair XMS DDR3
Windows 7 x64
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 08:40 PM   #78
tamarelle
talented amateur
 
tamarelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris, France and Florida
Posts: 3,269
Quote:
Originally posted by bka4u2c
No I didn't include a [MassStorageDrivers] section at all.
bk4u2c

here is a copy of my winnt.sif file..

can you see anything amiss?

;SetupMgrTag

[Data]
AutoPartition=0
MsDosInitiated="0"
UnattendedInstall="Yes"

[Unattended]
UnattendMode=FullUnattended
OemPreinstall=Yes
UnattendedSwitch=No
TargetPath=\WINDOWS
WaitForReboot=No
Repartition=No
DriverSigningPolicy=Ignore
OemPnPDriversPath="Drivers\Catalyst3_6\2KXP_INF"
OemSkipEula=Yes

[GuiUnattended]
AdminPassword=*
EncryptedAdminPassword=NO
OEMSkipRegional=1
TimeZone=35

[Display]
BitsPerPel=32
Xresolution=1280
YResolution=1024
Vrefresh=75

[UserData]
ProductKey=REMOVED
FullName="Tamarelle Tamarelle"
OrgName=""
ComputerName=BENSBRIDEZ75

[TapiLocation]
CountryCode=1
AreaCode=386

[Branding]
BrandIEUsingUnattended=Yes

[MassStorageDrivers]
"IDE CD-ROM (ATAPI 1.2)/PCI IDE Controller" = "RETAIL"

[URL]
Home_Page=http://www.abxzone.com

[Proxy]
Proxy_Enable=0
Use_Same_Proxy=1

[Identification]
JoinWorkgroup=WORKGROUP

[Networking]
InstallDefaultComponents=Yes

[Components]
msmsgs=off
msnexplr=off
freecell=off
hearts=off
minesweeper=off
pinball=off
solitaire=off
spider=off
zonegames=off

[GuiRunOnce]
%systemdrive%\$OEM$\$1\install\tamarelle.bat
%systemdrive%\$OEM$\$1\install\Hotfixes.cmd
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 08:44 PM   #79
FB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in my mind and in your hearts
Posts: 24,919
ok, will the multiple install .cmd's auto run themselves with out me doing anything extra, i just have to run the CD?
__________________

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 08:56 PM   #80
tamarelle
talented amateur
 
tamarelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris, France and Florida
Posts: 3,269
Quote:
Originally posted by flyboy -|-+
ok, will the multiple install .cmd's auto run themselves with out me doing anything extra, i just have to run the CD?
fLYBOY did you put the command in your winnt.sif file?

[GuiRunOnce]
%systemdrive%\$OEM$\$1\install\tamarelle.bat
%systemdrive%\$OEM$\$1\install\Hotfixes.cmd


(tamarelle.bat is my own name just to be cute...)
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 08:57 PM   #81
FB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in my mind and in your hearts
Posts: 24,919
Quote:
Originally posted by tamarelle
fLYBOY did you put the command in your winnt.sif file?

[GuiRunOnce]
%systemdrive%\$OEM$\$1\install\tamarelle.bat
%systemdrive%\$OEM$\$1\install\Hotfixes.cmd


(tamarelle.bat is my own name just to be cute...)
yes i have the one for apps, one for hotfixes, and one or everything else
__________________

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 09:02 PM   #82
tamarelle
talented amateur
 
tamarelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris, France and Florida
Posts: 3,269
Quote:
Originally posted by flyboy -|-+
yes i have the one for apps, one for hotfixes, and one or everything else
then I think you are good to go

GOODLUCK!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 09:42 PM   #83
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wilmington, DE, USA
Posts: 330
I'm having some troubles with this...

I basically got it working, except, I still want to have the option of formatting the partition I chose to install to, without having to delete/recreate it.

Somehow, at one point, I did get it to allow this option, but after the next change (i forgot something), I lost that ability and I can't seem to get it back.

i.e. I want the additional drivers, etc. to get installed with XP, but I want to still be able to have the option to FORMAT the install partition without having to delete/recreate it.

Can that be done? or is it impossible?

Thanks.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 10:22 PM   #84
FB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in my mind and in your hearts
Posts: 24,919
Quote:
but I want to still be able to have the option to FORMAT the install partition without having to delete/recreate it.
even the normal windows setup wont let you do that it wont install over a previous installation
__________________

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 11:11 PM   #85
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wilmington, DE, USA
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally posted by flyboy -|-+
even the normal windows setup wont let you do that it wont install over a previous installation
Um, not sure I understand what you mean... With my original WinXP cd, when I boot it, I select an existing partition to install to and press enter. I then get a screen prompting me with the following...

---------------------

Use the UP and DOWN ARROW keys to select the file system you want, and press ENTER. If you wish to select a different partition for Windows XP, press ESC.

Format the partition using the NTFS file system (quick)
Format the partition using the FAT file system (quick)
Format the partition using the NTFS file system
Format the partition using the FAT file system
Leave the current file system intact (no changes)

---------------------

I want to get that option on the "updated" CD with the WINNT.SIF, fixes, etc...
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 11:21 PM   #86
FB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in my mind and in your hearts
Posts: 24,919
when i boot with my xp cd, when i pick a partition to install to, it makes me delete the original, recreate it, and reformat.

did you add:
AutoPartition=0

to your winnt.sif file, that lets you choose where to install to

if it =1, then it won't let you choose
__________________


Last edited by FB; 09-07-2003 at 11:58 PM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 11:57 PM   #87
FB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: in my mind and in your hearts
Posts: 24,919
Quote:
COPY "%systemdrive%\Install\Tools\deluser.exe" "%systemroot%\"
COPY "%systemdrive%\Install\Tools\psshutdown.exe" "%systemroot%\"
COPY "%systemdrive%\Install\Tools\UPTIME.exe" "%systemdrive%\Documents and Settings\%username%"
what does this do????

ALSO, can i combine all my batch files into one????
__________________


Last edited by FB; 09-08-2003 at 12:14 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 12:20 AM   #88
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wilmington, DE, USA
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally posted by flyboy -|-+
did you add:
AutoPartition=0

to your winnt.sif file, that lets you choose where to install to
Yes, I did. Still doesn't give me the option to format the partition I've selected.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 12:28 AM   #89
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wilmington, DE, USA
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark_Venture
I'm having some troubles with this...

I basically got it working, except, I still want to have the option of formatting the partition I chose to install to, without having to delete/recreate it.

Somehow, at one point, I did get it to allow this option, but after the next change (i forgot something), I lost that ability and I can't seem to get it back.

i.e. I want the additional drivers, etc. to get installed with XP, but I want to still be able to have the option to FORMAT the install partition without having to delete/recreate it.

Can that be done? or is it impossible?

Thanks.
Ok, got it.. (only tested it once so far..) added....

[Unattended]
Filesystem = *

It now asks format, or leave alone like I wanted.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 12:32 AM   #90
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wilmington, DE, USA
Posts: 330
TimeZone and telephone area code are Still not filling in..

This is what I have in my winnt.sif...

[GuiUnattended]
AdminPassword=
EncryptedAdminPassword=No
OEMSkipRegional=0
TimeZone="035"
OemSkipWelcome=1

[TapiLocation]
CountryCode=1
Dialing=Tone
AreaCode="302"


I've tried it with and without quotes around the values for AreaCode and TimeZone.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community