ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2003, 06:48 PM   #1
heatlill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PGH, PA
Posts: 78
Winbond 3500 bh-5 ?

Can I get 2 x 512MB standalone Windbond 3500 bh-5 sticks and expect them to run well on a P4P800?

At Stock?

OCed?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
Intel P4C 3.0 800FSB 512Kb Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB
1024MB Winbond PC3500 DDR
2 x 60GB 7200RPM Maxtor SATA Hard Drives (RAID0)
ENERMAX 430W PS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 09-16-2003, 11:31 PM   #2
REVAN_abx
Next year!
 
REVAN_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 447
Re: Winbond 3500 bh-5 ?

Quote:
Originally posted by heatlill
Can I get 2 x 512MB standalone Windbond 3500 bh-5 sticks and expect them to run well on a P4P800?

At Stock?

OCed?

Thanks in advance.
I've got two PC3500 Winbond 512 meg sticks from Hardcorecooling.com for just under $200. I think the price has gone up a little. At 1:1 I have gone up to 223 fsb before errors, thats only 446 mhz for 434 rated memory. My timings are at 2.5-4-3-5
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 11:43 PM   #3
heatlill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PGH, PA
Posts: 78
Thanx for the response Revan.

Did u buy your ram as a pair or just 2 individual sticks?
__________________

ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
Intel P4C 3.0 800FSB 512Kb Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB
1024MB Winbond PC3500 DDR
2 x 60GB 7200RPM Maxtor SATA Hard Drives (RAID0)
ENERMAX 430W PS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2003, 12:26 AM   #4
traveler
Where to next?
 
traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 19,784
Test your sticks one at a time. And together. Set all your memory settings manually. Go for 3 hours and 32 passes in Memtest86 with no errors. And 12 hours in Prime95 with no errors.



__________________

Visit and chat with the ABXBuds at the #ABxZone channel on EFnet Internet Relay Chat
If you don't have it then download mIRC from www.mIRC.com
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2003, 07:59 AM   #5
heatlill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PGH, PA
Posts: 78
Thanks trav.

I'm not being clear on what I hope to do.


I have a single stick of corsair 512MB xms. People have explained to me the whole memory debacle regarding this mobo.

I know there are only certain types of chips that will run dual channel properly on this board the Windbond BH-5's, CH-6's.

The CH-5's WILL NOT run properly on this board, or atleast have a high probablity of giving me problems. Properly meaning they will not run at a 1:1 ratio with MAM and turbo on. The other older chips BH5 and CH6 are my best bet to run with these options on.

My question is do HAVE to purchase the RAM as a set for dual channel or can I buy 2 sticks of 512MB Winbond PC3500 BH5 chips that are NOT a pair?

I'm just trying to save $40 bucks by buying 2 sticks of non paired ram.

I guess I will purchase the 2 non paired sticks and see if they run properly. If not then I will send them back and get the dual channel tested.
__________________

ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
Intel P4C 3.0 800FSB 512Kb Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB
1024MB Winbond PC3500 DDR
2 x 60GB 7200RPM Maxtor SATA Hard Drives (RAID0)
ENERMAX 430W PS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2003, 11:20 AM   #6
heatlill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PGH, PA
Posts: 78
I thinking about goinig with these for the ram on my P4P800...
Dual Channel Winbond BH-5 2 x 512MB (2.0 CAS)

Any thoughts?
__________________

ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
Intel P4C 3.0 800FSB 512Kb Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB
1024MB Winbond PC3500 DDR
2 x 60GB 7200RPM Maxtor SATA Hard Drives (RAID0)
ENERMAX 430W PS

Last edited by heatlill; 09-17-2003 at 11:33 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2003, 09:21 PM   #7
REVAN_abx
Next year!
 
REVAN_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 447
Quote:
Originally posted by heatlill
Thanx for the response Revan.

Did u buy your ram as a pair or just 2 individual sticks?
Bought them as a pair, for the price they have been great memory sticks. You can definently buy better ones, but you will pay the price.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2003, 09:25 PM   #8
REVAN_abx
Next year!
 
REVAN_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 447
Quote:
Originally posted by heatlill
I thinking about goinig with these for the ram on my P4P800...
Dual Channel Winbond BH-5 2 x 512MB (2.0 CAS)

Any thoughts?
Those are the exact ones that I use. Great memory for the price, even at $270. I got lucky and bought mine 2 days before the price increase, 199 for the pair.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 09:04 PM   #9
rjev8r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 91
The Corsair 3500's don't come as a set but they'll work just fine in dual channel
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 09:10 PM   #10
XJ.
Registered User
 
XJ.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA-NH
Posts: 8,429
Quote:
Originally posted by heatlill
I thinking about goinig with these for the ram on my P4P800...
Dual Channel Winbond BH-5 2 x 512MB (2.0 CAS)

Any thoughts?
Wow, those are good prices! Too bad I just bought some Muskin PC3500 (supposedly BH-5).
__________________
Asus P6T V2 Deluxe Ci7 970 @ 4.0GHz w/HT, Corsair H100i, 2x240GB SanDisk Extreme RAID0, 1x WD VR 150GB,
MSI GTX 680 PE @ 1110MHz, 12GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, Corair 850HX, Corsair 800D case. Win10 Pro x64. Dell U2412M.

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 05:45 AM   #11
traveler
Where to next?
 
traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 19,784
Quote:
Originally posted by heatlill
Thanks trav.

I'm not being clear on what I hope to do.


I have a single stick of corsair 512MB xms. People have explained to me the whole memory debacle regarding this mobo.

I know there are only certain types of chips that will run dual channel properly on this board the Windbond BH-5's, CH-6's.

The CH-5's WILL NOT run properly on this board, or atleast have a high probablity of giving me problems. Properly meaning they will not run at a 1:1 ratio with MAM and turbo on. The other older chips BH5 and CH6 are my best bet to run with these options on.

My question is do HAVE to purchase the RAM as a set for dual channel or can I buy 2 sticks of 512MB Winbond PC3500 BH5 chips that are NOT a pair?

I'm just trying to save $40 bucks by buying 2 sticks of non paired ram.

I guess I will purchase the 2 non paired sticks and see if they run properly. If not then I will send them back and get the dual channel tested.

No, they do not have to be bought as a "pair" ; but they do have to be the "same" for the board to use them in dual channel mode. Usually it's cheaper to buy RAM by the pair. It doesn't make sense for a vendor to sell RAM at $150 dollors per stick and then charge $325 for two of them. Something doesn't sound right. Maybe a typo or lack of an update in the price.

Just test your RAM and if it tests error free in dual channel mode then great. You got good RAM. Will it do 2-2-2-5 ?

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 08:25 AM   #12
heatlill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PGH, PA
Posts: 78
Traveler,

Quote:

...

Usually it's cheaper to buy RAM by the pair. It doesn't make sense for a vendor to sell RAM at $150 dollors per stick and then charge $325 for two of them. Something doesn't sound right. Maybe a typo or lack of an update in the price.
I think the deal is that they are branding the ram as DUAL CHANNEL tested which, for some reason, makes them think it is worth an extra premium.

Lol, I'm so bad when it comes to making hardware decisions. I'm back on the fence with what type of ram to buy now. The cost/quality ratio is SO diverse.

Here are the options I'm looking at. If you have any others I should consider please let me know. And please no " For $50 more you could have X arguments. Thanx.

Remember this is for a P4P800 that I don't plan on OCing because I want MAM-Turbo enabled. For this I absolutly NEED 1GB of ram with 2-2-2-5 timings PC3200 or above ON A BUDGET.

EDIT: This is as of 09-19-03

1. The cheapest overall, but not DC Certified and generic brand...
WinBond PC3500 512MB 433MHz - CAS 2.0 - Winbond Chips CH-5 0.13 Micron - 2-2-5-2T

2. The cheapest DC tested but a generic brand PLUS no timings posted...
WinBond PC3500 1024MB (2x512MB) 434MHz - CAS 2.0 - Winbond BH-5

3. The cheapest HIGH Performance chips, not DC Certified but that doesn't really matter. Also NewEgg has the timings posted as 2-3-3-7.
CORSAIR MEMORY XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series 512MB 32MX8 PC-3500C2 With Platinum - Silver Heat Spreader

4. The next in line HIGH Performance chips, not DC certified.
512MB PC3200 222 Promo BH build

5. The most expensive Dual Pack that can do the 2-2-2 timings.
Mushkin 1GB PC3200 Level II Dual Pack (2x512MB) Black CAS2-2-2

I have omitted the OCZ ram because although it is probably the MOST reliable OCing/performing ram out there it is just too expensive for me, if I had the mony I would definatly get the Gold PC4000 EL stuff. There is a reason why it is called GOLD, lol.
__________________

ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
Intel P4C 3.0 800FSB 512Kb Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB
1024MB Winbond PC3500 DDR
2 x 60GB 7200RPM Maxtor SATA Hard Drives (RAID0)
ENERMAX 430W PS

Last edited by heatlill; 09-19-2003 at 08:44 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 10:48 AM   #13
heatlill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PGH, PA
Posts: 78
Quote:
Just test your RAM and if it tests error free in dual channel mode then great. You got good RAM. Will it do 2-2-2-5 ?
The 512Mb stick i have is Corsair PC3200 XMS v1.1. I bought this last Febuary. I ordered a new stick (Corsair PC3200 XMS v1.2) a week ago and installed it into my Gigabyte 8SG667. My system never saw the additional 512Mb when both were in it. Tested with only the new stick and my machine wouldn't even post. I tried various ram slots and stuff, but nothing worked.

I then figured it was a bad stick and decided to RMA for a new one. But when I tried to set up my old config (with the original ram) my system STILL WOULDN'T POST. I was SOOOO mad, somehow I killed my mobo. And believe me I am always careful of static charge and component abuse.

Anyway I RMA'd the new stick for a refund and ordered my P4P800 Dlx. I need a gig of ram and I want to do Dual Channel and I figured I could get a P4C this winter and get MAM endabled.
__________________

ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
Intel P4C 3.0 800FSB 512Kb Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB
1024MB Winbond PC3500 DDR
2 x 60GB 7200RPM Maxtor SATA Hard Drives (RAID0)
ENERMAX 430W PS
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 08:25 PM   #14
REVAN_abx
Next year!
 
REVAN_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 447
Quote:
Originally posted by heatlill
Traveler,



I think the deal is that they are branding the ram as DUAL CHANNEL tested which, for some reason, makes them think it is worth an extra premium.

Lol, I'm so bad when it comes to making hardware decisions. I'm back on the fence with what type of ram to buy now. The cost/quality ratio is SO diverse.

Here are the options I'm looking at. If you have any others I should consider please let me know. And please no " For $50 more you could have X arguments. Thanx.

Remember this is for a P4P800 that I don't plan on OCing because I want MAM-Turbo enabled. For this I absolutly NEED 1GB of ram with 2-2-2-5 timings PC3200 or above ON A BUDGET.

EDIT: This is as of 09-19-03

1. The cheapest overall, but not DC Certified and generic brand...
WinBond PC3500 512MB 433MHz - CAS 2.0 - Winbond Chips CH-5 0.13 Micron - 2-2-5-2T

2. The cheapest DC tested but a generic brand PLUS no timings posted...
WinBond PC3500 1024MB (2x512MB) 434MHz - CAS 2.0 - Winbond BH-5

3. The cheapest HIGH Performance chips, not DC Certified but that doesn't really matter. Also NewEgg has the timings posted as 2-3-3-7.
CORSAIR MEMORY XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series 512MB 32MX8 PC-3500C2 With Platinum - Silver Heat Spreader

4. The next in line HIGH Performance chips, not DC certified.
512MB PC3200 222 Promo BH build

5. The most expensive Dual Pack that can do the 2-2-2 timings.
Mushkin 1GB PC3200 Level II Dual Pack (2x512MB) Black CAS2-2-2

I have omitted the OCZ ram because although it is probably the MOST reliable OCing/performing ram out there it is just too expensive for me, if I had the mony I would definatly get the Gold PC4000 EL stuff. There is a reason why it is called GOLD, lol.
If you are not going to overclock at all you're wasting the extra money buy getting anything over PC 3200. Did you know that you can overclock and have MAM, PAT and turbo all enabled with a small modification, there's a seperate thread for this mod. That's what I have done, all of those are enabled on my rig and I'm running at 222 fsb at 2.5-4-3-5. That's as fast as my Winbond PC 3500 will take me without errors. I could even go higher if I had faster memory. I'm thinking about swallowing real hard, biting the bullet and buying some PC 4000. Haven't decided yet, it's tough to justify that kind of money for memory.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 11:35 AM   #15
heatlill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PGH, PA
Posts: 78
Accidental double post.
__________________

ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
Intel P4C 3.0 800FSB 512Kb Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB
1024MB Winbond PC3500 DDR
2 x 60GB 7200RPM Maxtor SATA Hard Drives (RAID0)
ENERMAX 430W PS

Last edited by heatlill; 09-20-2003 at 11:44 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community