ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2004, 11:39 AM   #31
trader88
PC Lover
 
trader88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Somewhere quite
Posts: 196
Re: 14 and/or 15 x multiplier ????

Quote:
Originally posted by BowTie
Viewing your screenshots... does the 3.0 Ghz Prescott allows you to run 14 or 15x FSB ?

And what about the 2.8 and 3.2 ?

Im a little confused would be nice to be able to run the 3.2 at 16, 15 and 14 X
My choice are 14 and 15, I wish I have 16. Thats a 3E, 3.2 will have all 3. All ES can select lower multi, not upper .
__________________
Rig 1: (Watercooling by Swifttech: MCW5002, MCW50, MCW20, MCP600)
IC7MAX3, P4 3.2EE @ 3.6GHz, Kingston HyperX PC3500 (BH5), ATIX800Pro.
BiosBT15, 225x16 (1:1), 2-2-2-5, GAT: SR/S/4/E/D, 567/570


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 02-16-2004, 03:14 PM   #32
chainbolt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally posted by trader88
Yes, your board is a 865PE and PAT is not enabled. Some board figured a way to enable PAT on 865, like the Asus P4P800 and Abit IS7. I'm not sure if the Gigabyte has such feature.
don't forget to metion that PAT runs only in 1:1
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 05:04 AM   #33
chainbolt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
Here are a few results with the aircooled 2.8 Prescott running at 3.8 GHz.

With a 9800XT at default speed and defults settings I get something like 21,500. Not impressive for the ORB, but is shows that this 2.8E is stable at 3.8 GHz.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7550664

(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 05:09 AM   #34
chainbolt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
here is SuperPi at 2800@3822


Last edited by chainbolt; 02-18-2004 at 07:05 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 05:11 AM   #35
trader88
PC Lover
 
trader88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Somewhere quite
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally posted by chainbolt
Here are a few results with the aircooled 2.8 Prescott running at 3.8 GHz.

With a 9800XT at default speed and defults settings I get something like 21,500. Not impressive for the ORB, but is shows that this 2.8E is stable at 3.8 GHz.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7550664

Nice work there

Whats your Vcore at 3.8?
__________________
Rig 1: (Watercooling by Swifttech: MCW5002, MCW50, MCW20, MCP600)
IC7MAX3, P4 3.2EE @ 3.6GHz, Kingston HyperX PC3500 (BH5), ATIX800Pro.
BiosBT15, 225x16 (1:1), 2-2-2-5, GAT: SR/S/4/E/D, 567/570


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 06:04 AM   #36
chainbolt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally posted by trader88
Nice work there

Whats your Vcore at 3.8?
thanx, around 1.50 volt. This Prescott 2.8 sample I'm currently using is EXTREMELY well responding to voltage - clearly better than all of the many Northwoods "C" I have used so far. I actually don't recall any CPU scaling up so well with additional voltage.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 07:06 AM   #37
chainbolt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
Here is SuperPi 2M with Prescott 2.8GHz aircooled running at 3.8GHz:


(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 11:37 AM   #38
giga_dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally posted by filter
Hi,On CPU-Z, under memory section, it shows 'performance mode enabled'.
How do I enable it, mines said disabled......is that because its not a i865PE chipset and not i875? or something?
My pc dertails are on my signature.
Dunno if you have this option on your 865 chipset or not but in bios make sure that Fast Chip Select is enabled.

If you don't have that option then I'd try the other forum posts on how to circumvetn that issue.


(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 10:24 PM   #39
Ace-a-Rue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 643
Well done Chainbolt and Trader88!

It is nice to see the high o/c's but like others I wouldn't buy one unless the new stepping that will come out later will make less heat. I have the SP-94 with a 92 mm but I don't like whirling that baby at full rpm ALL the time.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 12:09 AM   #40
chainbolt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally posted by Ace-a-Rue
Well done Chainbolt and Trader88!

It is nice to see the high o/c's but like others I wouldn't buy one unless the new stepping that will come out later will make less heat. I have the SP-94 with a 92 mm but I don't like whirling that baby at full rpm ALL the time.
Hi ACE, you are of course right, a 92mm (I have the 4,000 rpm dual blade DELTA) fan at full speed is only something for a short period of time.

INTEL is coming with a new stepping for Prescott in May, probably the heat dissipation will go down then.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 05:15 AM   #41
chainbolt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
Max 3
Prescott 2.8@3.8
2 x 512 MB DDR 500 in 1:1
9800XT at default frequency


(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 10:12 AM   #42
Ace-a-Rue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally posted by chainbolt
Max 3
Prescott 2.8@3.8
2 x 512 MB DDR 500 in 1:1
9800XT at default frequency


Interestingly, my 3d2003 (w/3.2EE@3.685) does not show my L3 since I am using a beta Abit bios for my MAX3, but I believe my score would be the same if the L3 was recognized by 3d2003.
Attached Images
File Type: gif 230fsb_2.5-2-2-5_l3 enabled.gif (28.7 KB, 21 views)
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 10:27 AM   #43
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
Quote:
Originally posted by Ace-a-Rue
Interestingly, my 3d2003 (w/3.2EE@3.685) does not show my L3 since I am using a beta Abit bios for my MAX3, but I believe my score would be the same if the L3 was recognized by 3d2003.
1.68 vcore? Is that default vcore on the 3.2 EE procs?

What is your temps in relation to the oc'ed Prescotts? Since you are using an Abit which is known for inflated temp readings it might provide a nice comparsion for others that are using Abit boards with the Prescott. I'm doing a very mild oc on my Prescott (just 2.8 to 3.0) and it is running about the same as my oc'ed 2.6c (3.25) for the temps. However, I have heard from others that my board is known to underestimate the temps. Sure makes for a hard comparsion. One thing I have noticed is that my 2.8e oc'ed to 3.0 is about 2C hotter than the P4 3.0c (not oc'ed) that was in this system before.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 02:30 PM   #44
JoeBar
Bite me if u can...
 
JoeBar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athens
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally posted by pointreyes
One thing I have noticed is that my 2.8e oc'ed to 3.0 is about 2C hotter than the P4 3.0c (not oc'ed) that was in this system before.
This is normal cause u're running your prescott @ 215mhz.
__________________
Asus P5WDG2 Premium rev. 1.02G
Intel Pentium D 920 SL94S Malay @ 4.31GHz cooled by Thermaltake Big Water 745
GeCube Radeon X1900XT combined with LG 1980Q (8ms) 19' TFT monitor
2 x 1GB Transcend DDR2-533 @ 770mhz
2 x 36.7GB Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 | 300GB Western Digital Caviar SE SATA
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Xtrememusic combined with Cambridge Soundworks Megaworks 550 THX
Asus E616P3 DVD | Asus 1608-P DVD-RW
Thermaltake Kandalf black super tower with 4 x 120mm and 2 x 90mm blue led fans | Chieftec 550W Triple 12V rails - 120mm fan
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 03:06 PM   #45
Ace-a-Rue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally posted by pointreyes
1.68 vcore? Is that default vcore on the 3.2 EE procs?
At the time I took the pic, the vcore was fluctuating slightly between 1.68 and 1.70. The default for my 3.2EE is 1.525v. There are multiple vids for the 3.2EE: 1.475-1.55v

Quote:
What is your temps in relation to the oc'ed Prescotts? Since you are using an Abit which is known for inflated temp readings it might provide a nice comparsion for others that are using Abit boards with the Prescott. I'm doing a very mild oc on my Prescott (just 2.8 to 3.0) and it is running about the same as my oc'ed 2.6c (3.25) for the temps. However, I have heard from others that my board is known to underestimate the temps. Sure makes for a hard comparsion. One thing I have noticed is that my 2.8e oc'ed to 3.0 is about 2C hotter than the P4 3.0c (not oc'ed) that was in this system before.
I converted over to using MBM for the MAX3. I have the Asus P4P800 and at one time the P4C800-E. When I was test benching the P4C800-E with the SP-94 and a 92 mm Tornado fan (at 3600 rpm), I was getting cpu idle temp of 4-5C BELOW the system temp. We all know that is an impossibility on air. I have low confidence in the Asus method of measuring the cpu temp.

Now, on my P4P800, the cpu idled about 2-3C ABOVE system temp. That was acceptable until I switched over to the MAX3. You know the story about the higher temps. It appears, with the same 3.2EE on all 3 boards, I am about 12-13C warmer (compared to P4P800) at idle on the MAX3. What I did was split the difference with 12-13C increase and adjusted MBM by minus 6C from the reported hardware temp. I figured that was a suitable compromise.

I agree it makes it tough to figure out where your accurate temps lie. I always used a rule of thumb that the cpu idle temp should be at least 10C higher than the system temp.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community