ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2004, 04:10 PM   #46
BBThumper
Happy, Joyous and Free
 
BBThumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philly
Posts: 2,024
Quote:
Originally posted by Ace-a-Rue

What I did was split the difference with 12-13C increase and adjusted MBM by minus 6C from the reported hardware temp. I figured that was a suitable compromise.

I agree it makes it tough to figure out where your accurate temps lie. I always used a rule of thumb that the cpu idle temp should be at least 10C higher than the system temp.
..........thats was a good idea Ace. Never thought of adjusting MBM like that.............
__________________
ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe
AMD Phenom 9600
XP-90c w/ a T.T. 92mm fan
2 x 2gig pc26400
Nvidia 8400
2 x Raptors in Raid 0

......My City's moto: Welcome to Philly, now get the heck out!!!!!!!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 02-19-2004, 04:40 PM   #47
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
Quote:
Originally posted by JoeBar
This is normal cause u're running your prescott @ 215mhz.
I know. That's why I'm so far rather happy with my Prescott.

Quote:
Originally posted by Ace-A-Rue
I always used a rule of thumb that the cpu idle temp should be at least 10C higher than the system temp.
Thanks, Ace. That's what I do as well. In the past, I have done the same thing you are doing with MBM. It is frustrating how mobo manufacturers cannot have a consistent method of measuring the temp as a standard. I thought the procs were switching to reading the proc's die temp but guess that's not the case?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 05:46 PM   #48
Ace-a-Rue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally posted by pointreyes
Thanks, Ace. That's what I do as well. In the past, I have done the same thing you are doing with MBM. It is frustrating how mobo manufacturers cannot have a consistent method of measuring the temp as a standard. I thought the procs were switching to reading the proc's die temp but guess that's not the case?
Over at the Abit forum their expert addressed this problem in a very large thread. He said it was up to each m/b maker to use a corresponding IC chip with preprogram software to interpret the cpu die temp. Abit was basically saying they have it right and everyone else was off base!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 07:34 PM   #49
chainbolt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally posted by Ace-a-Rue
Over at the Abit forum their expert addressed this problem in a very large thread. He said it was up to each m/b maker to use a corresponding IC chip with preprogram software to interpret the cpu die temp. Abit was basically saying they have it right and everyone else was off base!
To the great "dismay" of many the ABIT also said bluntly that the CPU temperature is "calculated" and not measured. That really shocked a few people.

In the same way as ABIT temps on recent boards are rather "high" calculated, ASUS is going the different way. My 2.6 GHz "C" was at 30C in idle on the my P4P800 and at 28C on my P4S800D-E, that's around 6~8C above ambient and of course nonsense. I call ASUS temps since then "marketing" temps .

Bottom line is, that it does not make sense at all to compare temperatures between boards nor should anybody thing he gets the "real" temperature. BIOS temperature readings are only good for "relative" comparisons, for example to compare a Prescott 2.8 with a Northwood 2.8 running on a Max 3.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 09:59 PM   #50
Ace-a-Rue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally posted by chainbolt
To the great "dismay" of many the ABIT also said bluntly that the CPU temperature is "calculated" and not measured. That really shocked a few people.

Aren't all m/b's really calculated via some winbond or some other IC chip which is programed to calculate the temp?! I doubt you could hook up a direct line to a digital readout and actually read the temp!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:09 AM   #51
chainbolt
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally posted by Ace-a-Rue
I doubt you could hook up a direct line to a digital readout and actually read the temp!

me 2 but

(a) obviously some ppl still believe that somehow the BIOS temperature reading is actually "measured"
(b) it's of course a big difference whether you calculate like ABIT on the Max 3 the idle temperature of a 3.2 Ghz at 200 Mhz and stock voltage at 38~40C (depending on the ambiente) or like Asus on the P4C800-E at 30~32C
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:57 AM   #52
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
What about the AMD and Intel server procs? Are the temps more actual on them?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 10:26 AM   #53
Ace-a-Rue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally posted by pointreyes
What about the AMD and Intel server procs? Are the temps more actual on them?
There you go, cpu temp about 10-12C warmer than your System temp.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 11:18 AM   #54
pointreyes
The race for quality has no finish line- so technically, it's more like a death march.
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 18,159
Quote:
Originally posted by Ace-a-Rue
There you go, cpu temp about 10-12C warmer than your System temp.
Exactly what I look for.

I'm never concerned about these temps because I have never had a server-classed proc burn up on me. I remember one hot summer day last year when the temps in my house was 95F+ and my 'puters were folding. Most of my computers I turned off due to the very hot temps they were running but I left my dual Athlon MP2400 proc on and continue to fold. I figured that if the temps got past 70C that the server would shutdown but it never did. BTW: The shutdown feature does work, I discovered that in the fall when the silly thing was shutting down for no known reason. i.e. It was unknown until I looked at the HSFs-covered with a layer of dust on the HS so thick that you could not see the fins on the HS.

Oh yeah, got an air conditioner the week after that heat wave attacked us.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 11:36 AM   #55
Ace-a-Rue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally posted by pointreyes
the HSFs-covered with a layer of dust on the HS so thick that you could not see the fins on the HS.
Yeah, it doesn't take to long for that to happen!

Quote:
Oh yeah, got an air conditioner the week after that heat wave attacked us.
Ahhh, man of action!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:06 PM   #56
Keri
Waiting for HL2 Ep:3
 
Keri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,996
Running my 2.8E on air with a Thermalright SP-94 & a Vantec Tornado 80MM fan. Idles around 42C & max load is 52C. Thats running at 3.575 or almost 3.6GHz! 1GB OCZ EL4200 RAM at 1:1 Dual Channel 2.5,4,3,7.

One sweet running system if you ask me and not much warmer than my 3.2EE was under a Swiftech MCX4000 with a Thermaltake Smartfan II.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6550
Monsoon II TEC CPU Cooling System
Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus
2X1GB Gskill DDR2 800
Lian-Li PC-V2000B
OCZ 520W Modstream
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA Dual Layer DVD Burner
1 X Western Digital 320G SATA II
2 X Maxtor 250G SATA I
1 X Western Digital 250G External USB 2.0
MSI NX8600GTS 256MB PCI-E
Samsung Syncmaster 20" 205BW Widescreen TFT
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition 32bit
2GB Cruzer Flash Drive (Ready Boost)
Logitech X-540 5.1 Surround System
Logitech Cordless Keyboard
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:12 PM   #57
JoeBar
Bite me if u can...
 
JoeBar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athens
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally posted by Keri
Running my 2.8E on air with a Thermalright SP-94 & a Vantec Tornado 80MM fan. Idles around 42C & max load is 52C. Thats running at 3.575 or almost 3.6GHz! 1GB OCZ EL4200 RAM at 1:1 Dual Channel 2.5,4,3,7.

One sweet running system if you ask me and not much warmer than my 3.2EE was under a Swiftech MCX4000 with a Thermaltake Smartfan II.
What's your room temp?
__________________
Asus P5WDG2 Premium rev. 1.02G
Intel Pentium D 920 SL94S Malay @ 4.31GHz cooled by Thermaltake Big Water 745
GeCube Radeon X1900XT combined with LG 1980Q (8ms) 19' TFT monitor
2 x 1GB Transcend DDR2-533 @ 770mhz
2 x 36.7GB Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 | 300GB Western Digital Caviar SE SATA
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Xtrememusic combined with Cambridge Soundworks Megaworks 550 THX
Asus E616P3 DVD | Asus 1608-P DVD-RW
Thermaltake Kandalf black super tower with 4 x 120mm and 2 x 90mm blue led fans | Chieftec 550W Triple 12V rails - 120mm fan
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:19 PM   #58
Keri
Waiting for HL2 Ep:3
 
Keri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,996
Quote:
Originally posted by JoeBar
What's your room temp?
At the moment....About 75F
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6550
Monsoon II TEC CPU Cooling System
Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus
2X1GB Gskill DDR2 800
Lian-Li PC-V2000B
OCZ 520W Modstream
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA Dual Layer DVD Burner
1 X Western Digital 320G SATA II
2 X Maxtor 250G SATA I
1 X Western Digital 250G External USB 2.0
MSI NX8600GTS 256MB PCI-E
Samsung Syncmaster 20" 205BW Widescreen TFT
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition 32bit
2GB Cruzer Flash Drive (Ready Boost)
Logitech X-540 5.1 Surround System
Logitech Cordless Keyboard
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:30 PM   #59
JoeBar
Bite me if u can...
 
JoeBar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athens
Posts: 5,889
Very nice temps then.
__________________
Asus P5WDG2 Premium rev. 1.02G
Intel Pentium D 920 SL94S Malay @ 4.31GHz cooled by Thermaltake Big Water 745
GeCube Radeon X1900XT combined with LG 1980Q (8ms) 19' TFT monitor
2 x 1GB Transcend DDR2-533 @ 770mhz
2 x 36.7GB Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 | 300GB Western Digital Caviar SE SATA
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Xtrememusic combined with Cambridge Soundworks Megaworks 550 THX
Asus E616P3 DVD | Asus 1608-P DVD-RW
Thermaltake Kandalf black super tower with 4 x 120mm and 2 x 90mm blue led fans | Chieftec 550W Triple 12V rails - 120mm fan
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 02:28 PM   #60
trader88
PC Lover
 
trader88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Somewhere quite
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally posted by Keri
Running my 2.8E on air with a Thermalright SP-94 & a Vantec Tornado 80MM fan. Idles around 42C & max load is 52C. Thats running at 3.575 or almost 3.6GHz! 1GB OCZ EL4200 RAM at 1:1 Dual Channel 2.5,4,3,7.

One sweet running system if you ask me and not much warmer than my 3.2EE was under a Swiftech MCX4000 with a Thermaltake Smartfan II.
Nice clock there, what's your vcore at 3.6? Can you get to 3.8? My ES can do 3.8 with 1.58, but not stable, its just too HOT for air. I think with water, 4GHz is doable. I'm waiting for my water setup now, its on order.
__________________
Rig 1: (Watercooling by Swifttech: MCW5002, MCW50, MCW20, MCP600)
IC7MAX3, P4 3.2EE @ 3.6GHz, Kingston HyperX PC3500 (BH5), ATIX800Pro.
BiosBT15, 225x16 (1:1), 2-2-2-5, GAT: SR/S/4/E/D, 567/570


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community