ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2004, 06:11 PM   #31
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
PCBruiser, excellent find! That makes a big difference in speed (Power).

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCBruiser
"Firefox has a couple of hidden network settings. With this extension, you can tweak these settings, and you might be able to speed up the loading of web pages. You can also increase the maximum number of simultaneous downloads from a site (the default is only four). Instead of changing each setting, you can also choose one of two profiles. The Power profile increases the maximum number of connections and turns on pipelining. The Default profile will reset the settings to the save, default values.

The Tweak Network Settings extension is tested in Firefox 0.9 and 1.0 Preview Release."


I tested it, it works with v1.


Download here: http://www.bitstorm.org/extensions/tweak.xpi
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 11-10-2004, 07:08 PM   #32
BlendNo27
Last of the Northwood's!
 
BlendNo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sea-town
Posts: 638
Is there anyway to make ff remember font sizes on different tabs? I'm currently using res 1600x1200 and the fonts on new tabs are always set to default which is too small and I have to manually adjust them.
__________________
New Hotness
P5K-E/Wifi-AP | C2D E6750 @ 3.2 | 4GB CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-8500C5D | Diamond HD4870 1GB and ASUS EAH2900XT | 2x36.7G WD Raptors Raid0 | Audigy2ZS | Vista 64 Ultimate


Old and Busted
P4C800-ED rev 1.02 | P4 3.4C @ 3.8 1:1 Ratio D1 | GEIL Golden Dragon PC3500 2x512 | Visiontek X1950Pro | 160G/80G WD Caviar | Swiftech H20-8501 | XP Pro SP3
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 07:18 PM   #33
PCBruiser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13,497
Yes, there is a very nice way to do this, and add a lot of other features at the same time. The extension, Mouse Gestures does this neatly. Install the extension then choose your right/center/left mouse buttons to activate gestures (I use my left one). A quick diagonal sweep from upper left to lower right increases the font size, the opposite sweep decreases it. And, there are a lot of other excellent handy controls that this extension brings to mouse navigation.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 11:10 PM   #34
Unit44
Go Speedracer go!
 
Unit44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southwest VA
Posts: 668
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unit44
Little problem.... whenever I try to paste a link into a post I get a popup window from firefox which says... "you need to edit your mozillia config file to allow this action" I cant find this option in the Firefox tools tab or anywhere else... anyone else have this problem??
Bump...
__________________
Unit44

ASUS A7N8XE-D - BIOS 1011 - XP3200 - 1.5GB Corsair 3200 - BFG GeForce 6800OC
3 X WD 80GIG Special Ed - OS = XPPRO WSP2 - Plextor 708A & Lite On CDR @ 52X



(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:20 AM   #35
fischyfinger
Spoooooooooon!
 
fischyfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unit44
Little problem.... whenever I try to paste a link into a post I get a popup window from firefox which says... "you need to edit your mozillia config file to allow this action" I cant find this option in the Firefox tools tab or anywhere else... anyone else have this problem??
Do you mean that when you try to do a simple copy and paste into the WYSIWYG editor you get that message?

Wow...nevermind...I just tried that and got the same thing. I usually don't use the WYSIWYG editor but I switched to try this out. Now that makes two of us.

BTW, if you don't use the WYSIWYG editor you won't have that problem.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:29 AM   #36
Unit44
Go Speedracer go!
 
Unit44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southwest VA
Posts: 668
Thumbs up

Yea, I just switched back to the standard editor and copy - paste works fine.... I'll just stick with it. Thanks for the help!!
__________________
Unit44

ASUS A7N8XE-D - BIOS 1011 - XP3200 - 1.5GB Corsair 3200 - BFG GeForce 6800OC
3 X WD 80GIG Special Ed - OS = XPPRO WSP2 - Plextor 708A & Lite On CDR @ 52X



(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:31 AM   #37
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
I am rediscovering Firefox, after I had deleted it when it still was in beta (I think I had version 0.7 at the time). It's very stable and I very much like the tab browsing.

I'm going to have the Luna theme now installed. There is a version for the Firefox 1.0 Final version available for download.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:33 AM   #38
Unit44
Go Speedracer go!
 
Unit44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southwest VA
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by switch
I am rediscovering Firefox, after I had deleted it when it still was in beta (I think I had version 0.7 at the time). It's very stable and I very much like the tab browsing.

I'm going to have the Luna theme now installed. There is a version for the Firefox 1.0 Final version available for download.
A little link action please??
__________________
Unit44

ASUS A7N8XE-D - BIOS 1011 - XP3200 - 1.5GB Corsair 3200 - BFG GeForce 6800OC
3 X WD 80GIG Special Ed - OS = XPPRO WSP2 - Plextor 708A & Lite On CDR @ 52X



(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:35 AM   #39
Unit44
Go Speedracer go!
 
Unit44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Southwest VA
Posts: 668
Smile

Nevermind here it is.... http://www.intraplanar.net/project/luna/
__________________
Unit44

ASUS A7N8XE-D - BIOS 1011 - XP3200 - 1.5GB Corsair 3200 - BFG GeForce 6800OC
3 X WD 80GIG Special Ed - OS = XPPRO WSP2 - Plextor 708A & Lite On CDR @ 52X



(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:42 AM   #40
c_white_wolf
What's an eXpert?
 
c_white_wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,265
Confused now, the paste link and pasting links works fine for me in WYSIWIG. How are my settings different then your settings?

Do you have this in your user.js file?

// ----------------------------------
// Mozilla Rich Text Editing
// ----------------------------------
user_pref("capability.policy.policynames", "allowclipboard");
user_pref("capability.policy.allowclipboard.sites", "http://www.abxzone.com");
user_pref("capability.policy.allowclipboard.Clipboard.cutcopy", "allAccess");
user_pref("capability.policy.allowclipboard.Clipboard.paste", "allAccess");
__________________
Link to my pictures:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Updated: 2006-04-10
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:46 AM   #41
BlendNo27
Last of the Northwood's!
 
BlendNo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sea-town
Posts: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCBruiser
Yes, there is a very nice way to do this, and add a lot of other features at the same time. The extension, Mouse Gestures does this neatly. Install the extension then choose your right/center/left mouse buttons to activate gestures (I use my left one). A quick diagonal sweep from upper left to lower right increases the font size, the opposite sweep decreases it. And, there are a lot of other excellent handy controls that this extension brings to mouse navigation.
I already installed that extension. I just wish that setting the font size in the tools/options menu is more global. Well, I finally found something that I don't like about ff, a minor thing but its something. And how the hell do you make the search bar longer???
__________________
New Hotness
P5K-E/Wifi-AP | C2D E6750 @ 3.2 | 4GB CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-8500C5D | Diamond HD4870 1GB and ASUS EAH2900XT | 2x36.7G WD Raptors Raid0 | Audigy2ZS | Vista 64 Ultimate


Old and Busted
P4C800-ED rev 1.02 | P4 3.4C @ 3.8 1:1 Ratio D1 | GEIL Golden Dragon PC3500 2x512 | Visiontek X1950Pro | 160G/80G WD Caviar | Swiftech H20-8501 | XP Pro SP3

Last edited by BlendNo27; 11-11-2004 at 12:55 AM..
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:47 AM   #42
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
But before you install the Luna Theme, I advise you to install the ChromEdit extension first. This will allow you to easier edit the userChrom.css file with the @import lines as indicated on the homepage of Luna.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unit44
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:48 AM   #43
fischyfinger
Spoooooooooon!
 
fischyfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by c_white_wolf
Confused now, the paste link and pasting links works fine for me in WYSIWIG. How are my settings different then your settings?

Do you have this in your user.js file?

// ----------------------------------
// Mozilla Rich Text Editing
// ----------------------------------
user_pref("capability.policy.policynames", "allowclipboard");
user_pref("capability.policy.allowclipboard.sites", "http://www.abxzone.com");
user_pref("capability.policy.allowclipboard.Clipboard.cutcopy", "allAccess");
user_pref("capability.policy.allowclipboard.Clipboard.paste", "allAccess");
Nope, I don't see that... Here is my user.js file:

Quote:
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 100);
// disable target="_blank" (open in same window):
user_pref("browser.block.target_new_window", true);
// Find As You Type Configuration:
// Set this pref to false to disable Find As You Type:
user_pref("accessibility.typeaheadfind", true);
// If you set this pret to true, typing can automatically start Find As You Type.
// If false (default), you must hit / (find text) or ' (find links) before your search.
user_pref("accessibility.typeaheadfind.autostart", true);
// Set this pref to false if you want Find As You Type to search normal text too:
user_pref("accessibility.typeaheadfind.linksonly", true);
// Set this pref to true if you require that the link starts with the entered text:
user_pref("accessibility.typeaheadfind.startlinksonly", false);
// This is the time in milliseconds for the Find As You Type to stop watching for keystrokes:
user_pref("accessibility.typeaheadfind.timeout", 3000);
// More DOM/JavaScript options
// Make sure all pop-up windows are resizable:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.resizable", true);
// Make sure all pop-up windows are minimizable:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.minimizable", true);
// Always display the menu in pop-up windows:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.menubar", true);
// Always display the Navigation Toolbar in pop-up windows:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.location", true);
// Always display the scrollbar in pop-up windows:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.scrollbars", true);
// This one makes a huge difference. Last value in milliseconds (default is 250)
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);
// Force frames to be resizable
user_pref("layout.frames.force_resizability", true);
// Stop reusing active windows:
user_pref("advanced.system.supportDDEExec", false);
// disable target="_blank" (open in same window):
user_pref("browser.block.target_new_window", true);
Is there anywhere in particular that I should put that?

(To tell you the truth I don't prefer the WYSIWYG editor, I would like to figure this out though)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:53 AM   #44
c_white_wolf
What's an eXpert?
 
c_white_wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,265
No place in particular. I've included a copy of my user.js file so you can check it out.

Quote:
// disable target="_blank" (open in same window):
user_pref("browser.block.target_new_window", true);

// Instead of annoying error dialog messages, display pages:
user_pref("browser.xul.error_pages.enabled", true);

// Put an end to blinking text!
user_pref("browser.blink_allowed", false);

// Instead of download progress windows, use the Sidebar:
user_pref("browser.download.openSidebar", true);
user_pref("browser.download.useProgressDialogs", false);

// Force frames to be resizable
user_pref("layout.frames.force_resizability", false);
// ------------------------------
// Find As You Type Configuration:
// ------------------------------
// Set this pref to false to disable Find As You Type:
user_pref("accessibility.typeaheadfind", true);

// If you set this pret to true, typing can automatically start Find As You Type.
// If false (default), you must hit / (find text) or ' (find links) before your search.
user_pref("accessibility.typeaheadfind.autostart", true);

// Set this pref to false if you want Find As You Type to search normal text too:
user_pref("accessibility.typeaheadfind.linksonly", true);

// Set this pref to true if you require that the link starts with the entered text:
user_pref("accessibility.typeaheadfind.startlinksonly", false);

// This is the time in milliseconds for the Find As You Type to stop watching for keystrokes:
user_pref("accessibility.typeaheadfind.timeout", 3000);
// ------------------------------
// More DOM/JavaScript options
// ------------------------------
// Make sure all pop-up windows are resizable:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.resizable", true);

// Make sure all pop-up windows are minimizable:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.minimizable", true);

// Always display the menu in pop-up windows:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.menubar", true);

// Always display the Navigation Toolbar in pop-up windows:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.location", true);

// Always display the scrollbar in pop-up windows:
user_pref("dom.disable_window_open_feature.scrollbars", true);
// ------------------------------
// Specify the amount of memory cache:
// ------------------------------
// -1 = determine dynamically (default), 0 = none, n = memory capacity in kilobytes (4096)
user_pref("browser.cache.memory.capacity", -1);
// Disable memory cache:
// user_pref("browser.cache.memory.enable", false);
// ------------------------------------------
// Update browser page
// ------------------------------------------
// 0 = once per session, 1 = each time, 2 = never, 3 = when appropriate/automatically
user_pref("browser.cache.check_doc_frequency", 1);
// ----------------------------------
// Mozilla Rich Text Editing
// ----------------------------------
user_pref("capability.policy.policynames", "allowclipboard");
user_pref("capability.policy.allowclipboard.sites", "http://www.abxzone.com");
user_pref("capability.policy.allowclipboard.Clipboard.cutcopy", "allAccess");
user_pref("capability.policy.allowclipboard.Clipboard.paste", "allAccess");
// ----------------------------------
// Pipelining
// ----------------------------------
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 100);
__________________
Link to my pictures:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Updated: 2006-04-10
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 01:07 AM   #45
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
Did you edit all text manually in your user.js fiile? Or is this done automatically at time when an extension is added?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c_white_wolf
No place in particular. I've included a copy of my user.js file so you can check it out.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community