ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2001, 05:14 PM   #1
jaytone
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 18
Will the CUSL2-C support the new P3 1.2mhz

I see that Intel has a Pentium 3 1.2mhz cpu. I checked Asus site for my Cusl2-c and it does not say if it will support a cpu that high.
Does anyone know ?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 09-08-2001, 05:17 PM   #2
k0NG0
Remembering TQ
 
k0NG0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13,749
No, the 1.2GHz is based on the Tualatin-core (0.13micron) and that uses different voltages for the bus, that the voltage-regulators on the CUSL2-C can't produce. It has also got a new VID-pin to facilitate the new lower core voltage, that isn't supported on the CUSL2-C.

You will have to get the TUSL2-C to use the Tualatin core PIII's.

-kONGO
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2001, 05:47 PM   #3
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
Kongo, I disagree with your. There are FOUR new PIII processors on the market now:


1. Intel P-III 1133, FCPGA,133MHz 256kb,1.65v,8.5x133MHz
2. Intel P-III 1200, FCPGA,133MHz 256kb,1.65v,9.0x133MHz
3. Intel P-III 1133, FCPGA2,Tualatin 512kb,1.75v,8.5x133MHz
4. Intel P-III 1266, FCPGA2,Tualatin 512kb,1.75v,9.5x133MHz

# 1 and #2 can in my opinion be put on the CUSL series.

# 3 and # 4 are Tualatin processors and CANNOT be put on the CUSL series.

Jaytone is in my opinion referring to # 2.

Correct?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2001, 06:52 PM   #4
Butcher
chop, chop, yummy, yum
 
Butcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Columbia, Maryland
Posts: 1,226
Hey Dutch: How does one actually find those cpus (your 1 and 2)? So far, I have been unable to find a vendor selling them.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2001, 07:00 PM   #5
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
Here in Switzerland! http://www.stegcomputer.ch/shop.asp has nine pieces of #1 on stock, #2 will be on stock soon.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2001, 07:02 PM   #6
Yoda_abx
MODERATOR
 
Yoda_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States of America
Posts: 4,183
Double Posts not allowed. Your other one will be closed.
__________________
Sincerely,

Yoda
AKA: Usa_re8e1 (when gaming)

Show your support for this site by visting our advertisers...
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2001, 07:07 PM   #7
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
Double posts?????????Who, what, where?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2001, 07:47 PM   #8
Butcher
chop, chop, yummy, yum
 
Butcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Columbia, Maryland
Posts: 1,226
Thank you Dutch for that link. I suppose I'll have to research the exchange rate to understand the prices.
happy computering to ya
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2001, 08:19 PM   #9
Rebellion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 34
The 1 and 2 are the new Coppermine-T cpu´s and not Tualatins... therefore they may work...

//Rebellion
__________________
Celeron 800 @ 1333 MHz @ 2.2v (wiretricked), Watercooled
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Asus CUSL2
384 Mb Mosel Vitelic PC133 cas2 memory @ 166 MHz cas3
Asus v7700 Geforce2 GTS Deluxe
IBM Deskstar 22GPX 18Gb 7200 rpm
Pioneer DVD-103
Enermax EG351P-V 330W
www.gavle.to/rebellion/puter.html
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2001, 08:31 PM   #10
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
I think the #1 and #2 are the "replacements" for the PIII > 1Ghz, which Intel had to withdraw from the market some time late last year! I recall that was an INTEL marketing nightmare.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 03:04 AM   #11
k0NG0
Remembering TQ
 
k0NG0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13,749
I stand corrected. I didn't think of the Coppermine-T's. They are the coppermine core at 0.13micron with a heatspreader or something, right?

-kONGO
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 05:15 AM   #12
samlwl
Folding@Home Team ABXZone
 
samlwl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: the Fold!
Posts: 2,122
Take a look at this:
Pentium® III Processor s-Spec Information

Take a good look at the last column(Notes).

I'm not sure if its the most updated. But in my opinion(according to the table), the cpus' above 1.1GHz with tA1 steppings are tuallatin and it won't work in cusl2 mobo series.

The highest MHz CPU which can work in cusl2 series are 1.1GHz which is a cDo stepping cpu( but it works with 100 MHz fsb only)
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 05:17 AM   #13
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
Thomas Papst of http://www4.tomshardware.com/cpu/01q2/010612/ wrote an editorial issues on June 12the last. He refers to Coppermine-T, but interestingly he states that for these new PIII processors the i815 EP B stepping chipset is required.

But that was in June........

Now it's September and my info is that the Coppermine-T is running on boards with all flavors of i815 chipsets.

Who knows more about it? I need to know for sure, because I already ordered in advance the PIII which will come with 1200 Mhz! This is planned to replace my current PIII at 1000 Mhz.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 05:33 AM   #14
samlwl
Folding@Home Team ABXZone
 
samlwl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: the Fold!
Posts: 2,122
Hold on your order, Dutch.

Take a look at this:
Pentium® III Processor s-Spec Information

Pay attention on the last column(Notes) and the specifications on it, at the end of the page.

I'm not sure if it's the most updated, but according to it, the cpus' above 1.1GHz are tA1 stepping cpu, which is tualatin and not coppermine-t cpu. Here are some of it's specs:

-Vcc Core Voltage - 1.45 V
-This processor is in the FC-PGA2 form factor with an Integrated Heat Spreader.
-This processor is a die shrink to .13 micron process technology.
- Vcc Core Voltage - 1.475 V


I think the highest MHz cpus'(refering to the table) which can work in CUSL2 series mobo is 1.1GHz(cDo stepping, 0.18, fc-pga) but it works with 100 FSB only.

I can't confirm this, but I think tA1 stepping cpus' refers to tuallatin and cDo refers to coppermine-t.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 06:02 AM   #15
switch_abx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,741
samlwl, have a look to the summary of new PII processors. mentioned in an earlier posting of me.

The #1 and #2 are both Vcc 1.65 Volts and FC-PGA, exactly the same as my current PIII @ 1000 Mhz. Source of the information is the online supplier here in Switzerland! Very big and reputable supplier, where I buy all my stuff now for many years.

I read the Intel article you were referring to, which contradicts with the information I have.

For me this is a mystery.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community