ABXZone Computer  Forums



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2001, 11:57 AM   #1
steveg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 16
Will an old Celeron run in a CUSL2-C?

I was trying to get an old machine running (which had a dead mobo) with a spare CUSL2-C. The cpu is an old Celeron - I think a 300.
Would you expect it to work? As it is, I don't even get any bios beeps and as I know the mobo works I can only assume it doesn't like the cpu.
Am I right? If so, whats the cheapest current Celeron which will go in this board?
733?

Thanks

Steve
(Offline)   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]
Old 09-09-2001, 01:00 PM   #2
JeffMD
Otaku
 
JeffMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 739
I recall the cusl2-c dosnt work with any celerons at all.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 01:28 PM   #3
Rebellion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 34
Iīm runnin my CUSL2 with an 800MHz celeron just fine.. i even got it to 1333 and it didnīt make any trouble at all so the new celerons will work at least.

//Rebellion
__________________
Celeron 800 @ 1333 MHz @ 2.2v (wiretricked), Watercooled
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Asus CUSL2
384 Mb Mosel Vitelic PC133 cas2 memory @ 166 MHz cas3
Asus v7700 Geforce2 GTS Deluxe
IBM Deskstar 22GPX 18Gb 7200 rpm
Pioneer DVD-103
Enermax EG351P-V 330W
www.gavle.to/rebellion/puter.html
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 02:12 PM   #4
Miles
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,617
Hi Rebellion,

The CUSl2-C only supports FC PGA Celerons...it will not support any other architecture...
__________________
Regards,


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Miles
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

________________________________

Intel 4690k| ASUS Z97 sabertooth| 16GB Kingston DDR3|ASUS GTX 970|Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD | 1 - Seagate 2 TB Barracuda ES | Seasonic 650 watt Gold PSU|Fractal Design Arc Midi rev 2| Windows 7 64-bit Professional | Eizo CX-241
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 02:28 PM   #5
steveg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 16
Miles...
I'm not an expert on this!
The Celeron I've got fits in the socket - does this mean it's an FC PGA?

S
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 03:02 PM   #6
Rebellion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 34
Yeah.. I thought so too.. but wasnīt completely sure as i have never tried with the old celeron so i decided not to write about it (-:

//Rebellion
__________________
Celeron 800 @ 1333 MHz @ 2.2v (wiretricked), Watercooled
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Asus CUSL2
384 Mb Mosel Vitelic PC133 cas2 memory @ 166 MHz cas3
Asus v7700 Geforce2 GTS Deluxe
IBM Deskstar 22GPX 18Gb 7200 rpm
Pioneer DVD-103
Enermax EG351P-V 330W
www.gavle.to/rebellion/puter.html
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 10:10 PM   #7
dddibley
Time well wasted
 
dddibley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,276
Same number of pins on the PPGA and FC-PGA, although the pin-outs are apparently different. CUSL2 will run PPGA (<=533) and FC-PGA.. CUSL2-C is FC-PGA only. I believe it has to do with power requirements.

The Celeron (PPGA) and Celeron II (FC-PGA) both come in 533 Mhz versions. Make sure you get the right one.

ddd
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2001, 02:36 AM   #8
steveg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 16
Thanks ddd,
I guess the one I've got is PPGA not FC PGA which probably accounts for why nothing happens.
S
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2001, 06:47 PM   #9
dddibley
Time well wasted
 
dddibley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,276
Know how you feel. Was going to plop the old 400 in this one after I upgrade.. but for the price of a low end Celeron II (US$45).. why bother. Maybe I can find a good LX board cheap somewhere?

ddd
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2001, 08:54 AM   #10
Tranced_abx
Who, me?
 
Tranced_abx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: N51°34'01.5" E5°03'54.9"
Posts: 1,631
My Celeron 500 PPGA SL3LQ ran fine @600 on my CUSL2

Don't know the difference (except for the onboard video) between a 815-E (CUSL2) or a 815-EP (CUSL2-C) I got them both overhere... both o PIII Coppermine @ this moment

Intel S-Spec
__________________
Laptop:
P4 3.2/800 HT
1Gb DDR400
60gb 7200rpm

Server:
Asus S-Presso
P4 2.8/800 HT
512MB DDR400
250GB SATA
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com

© 2006 - 2016 ABXZone Forums | About ABX Zone Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community