Joined: 4:00 PM - Jul 27, 2002

1:50 AM - May 09, 2003 #41

All that multitasking with no slowdowns is an excellent show of what the tweak does, that's for sure....:)

Has there been any difference in gaming? I guess that would be hard to tell since games use mostly ram anyway....:)
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Joined: 10:28 PM - Jul 21, 2002

2:10 AM - May 09, 2003 #42

gaming didnt exactly need improvement :winka:

Q3 Serious Sam and Serious Sam II "seem" to run smoother.
games dont use much vcache and are mostly run from system memory anyways.
(AA and AF would use alot of vcache tho if you use those)

id say any gaming improvement would come from the lack of swap file (or the lack of needing one) :look:
.....nothing that would show thru benchmarking.

:smilea:
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Joined: 10:28 PM - Jul 21, 2002

6:34 AM - May 09, 2003 #43

good news guys.....

looks like i may have found a way to benchmark vcache sizing.
ill post results as soon as im done.

i have 7 vcache sizes i wanna test and it takes about 12mins to run each test.

:smilea:
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Joined: 5:00 PM - Mar 24, 2001

6:51 AM - May 09, 2003 #44

Originally posted by ThugsRook

* note: im running 1024mb of ram ~ you guys runing 512mb will have to tell me how well this works for yas.


I tried the 512 setting TR and I got a swap file of 64Mb. I took the setting out and the swap file returned to zero.
Puzzling ain't it ?:confused:

512Mb 2-2-2 5/7 P3 800eb
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Joined: 10:28 PM - Jul 21, 2002

7:07 AM - May 09, 2003 #45

did you delete the swp file from dos?

if not the swp may just be "left over" cause the OS didnt resize/delete it for you.

is this on 98 or ME?

either way ~ how is the performance? :grina:

<EDIT> and now that you mention it ~ i should also run these same benchtests (that im running now) with the swap file active to see how that effects things.
(id personally rather not have the disk usage, but well see)
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Joined: 5:00 PM - Mar 24, 2001

7:58 AM - May 09, 2003 #46

The swap file was dated with that days date.
I didn't need to delete the previous one as it was zero bytes.
And it's 98se.

Can't comment about performance though because it feels the same. I'm not a great believer in benchmarks - I prefer my own "gut" feeling.

Maybe I don't do the kind of things that would have benefited from the change?
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Joined: 10:28 PM - Jul 21, 2002

8:05 AM - May 09, 2003 #47

do some serious multitasking to max out your memory usage while surfing.

winzip a 1400mb file while listening to mp3s.....
just start clicking on stuff, or surf the web, etc.

like you said, its a gut feeling :smilea:
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Joined: 10:28 PM - Jul 21, 2002

11:23 AM - May 09, 2003 #48

interestingly enough....

some of my tests are actually showing its better to use the swap file :look:

conservative = 3:34
normal = 3:27

i guess we may as well not even bother with that part, so i removed it from the instructions. ill continue to test tho.


you know what i think this is gonna come down to?
the age old question ~ is 1024mb better then 512mb? ;)
(of course we need to limit the vcache for 1024mb)

im gonna finish up these tests using 1024mb and then redo all of the tests using my 2x256mb sticks :grina:
(normally and vcache tweaked)
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Joined: 5:00 PM - Mar 24, 2001

4:00 PM - May 09, 2003 #49

Originally posted by ThugsRook
do some serious multitasking to max out your memory usage while surfing.

winzip a 1400mb file while listening to mp3s.....
just start clicking on stuff, or surf the web, etc.

like you said, its a gut feeling :smilea:


But, doing that is not representative of my useage, so it would not be of benefit. :cool:

I have a lot of memory so that I can manipulate photos and video in memory. I don't really go in for multi-tasking. Also, memory is a cost effective way of inproving performance.

Saying that reminds me of one a one time piece of multi-tasking I did. It was formatting a floppy whilst playing Solitaire. Now, that really is the way to get a high score in minimum time !! :D :D
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Joined: 10:28 PM - Jul 21, 2002

7:30 PM - May 09, 2003 #50

Originally posted by Monkey Hanger
But, doing that is not representative of my useage, so it would not be of benefit. :cool:
thats the same problem i was having ~ just trying to find a way to even show a difference isnt easy.

youll need to figure your own test based on how you use the computer.

tweaking this vcache setting is mostly for better large file handling, and to keep the vcache from taking over all your ram.

:)
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share